Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center

Public charity · Grantmaker Winston-Salem, NC EIN: 51-0190238

See schedule owake forest university baptist medical center (at times also referred to as the "medical center or "wfubmc or "the filing organization") is an integral part of atrium health wake forest baptist (at times also referred to as "ahwfb"), a preeminent learning health system and academic medical center of the highest quality with balanced excellence in patient care, research and education that promotes better health for all through collaboration, excellence and innovation. Ahwfb's mission is to improve health, elevate hope and advance healing - for all and its vision is to be the first and best choice for care.

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center at a glance

In short: Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center gave $20.0M across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $20.0M), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$20,000,000
Grants made (2024)
1
Average grant
$20,000,000
Median grant
$20,000,000
Total assets
$648,834,754
+14.0% vs 2023
Primary geography
North Carolina (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2024

Wake Forest University Health Sciences: $20.0MWake Forest University HealthSciences$20.0M

The largest 2024 recipient was Wake Forest University Health Sciences ($20.0M).

Grant Size Distribution

4 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M1$1–5M3$5M+

The most common grant size was $5M or more: 3 grants of 4 (75%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

Winston-Salem

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5M$10M$15M$20M1 grant2020 1 grant2021* Covers 18 months (fiscal year-end changed)1 grant2022 0 grants2023 1 grant2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1.5M (2020) to $20.0M (2024). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $20.0M.

*2021: Covers 18 months (fiscal year-end changed).

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Wake Forest University Health Sciences Winston-Salem, NCSupport Mission and Operations of Wfuhs$20,000,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$648,834,754$172,627,029$230,304,142$20,000,0001$10,910,733
2023$569,235,159$163,386,699$197,909,707——$6,523,895
2022$507,015,665$169,430,781$184,950,341$10,000,0001$592,962
2021*$570,543,990$276,993,877$250,475,609$10,000,0001$2,171,846
2020$318,317,044$135,588,853$152,452,854$1,527,8511$3,446,489

*2021: Covers 18 months (fiscal year-end changed).

About Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center

Based on IRS filings

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center is a public charity focused on Health, based in Winston-Salem, NC. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $648.8M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $20.0M. Net investment income was $10.9M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center is led by Eugene A. Woods, CEO Advocate Health on every filing since 2023; 11 of 34 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Eugene A. Woods

    CEO Advocate Health

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    $16.5M (2023) → $22.9M (2024)

  • Julie Ann Freischlag MD

    CEO of Ahwfb

    Director, CEO & Dean → CEO & Dean, 2022

    CEO & Dean → CEO of Ahwfb, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cathleen Wheatley Dnp

    President Wfbmc & Senior Vice President Cno

    President Wfbmc & Senior Vice President Ch Nurs of → President Wfbmc & Senior Vice President Cno, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $762K (2020) → $1.2M (2024)

  • David W. Zaas MD

    President & Health System

    On filings since 2023

    20 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William C. Warden Jr.

    Chair

    Chair → Vice Chair, 2022

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    15 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • A. Lee Herring

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Arthur A. Gibel

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Donna A. Boswell PhD

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John M. Vann

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sheree B. Watson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Felicia Allen

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew A. King

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard L. Shackelford

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen L. Robertson

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan R. Wente PhD

    Director

    Director → Direcotr, 2023

    Direcotr → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    5.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • A. Dale Jenkins

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian A. White

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leon Lee Jones MD

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nita Ahuja MD

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Frank Thomas

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark E. Reed

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bradley A. Clark

    Executive Vice President & Treasurer

    Executive Vice President, CFO & Treasurer → Executive Vice President & Treasurer, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    $947K (2020) → $2.5M (2024)

  • J. McLain Wallace Jr.

    Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary

    Senior Vice President, General Cnsl & Secretary → Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $788K (2020) → $1.7M (2024)

  • Lisa M. Marshall

    Vice President & Chief Phil Officer

    Vice President & Ch Phil Officer → Vice President & Ch Phil of, 2023

    Vice President & Ch Phil of → Vice President & Chief Phil Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    20 hrs/week

    $476K (2021) → $974K (2024)

  • Michael T. Waid

    Senior Vice President & Health System Ops

    Senior Vice President & Hlth Sys Ops → Senior Vice President & Health System Ops, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $626K (2020) → $837K (2024)

  • Terry G. Williams

    Former Officer

    Executive Vice President & Ch Strategy Officer → Executive Vice President & Ch Str Officer, 2022

    Executive Vice President & Ch Str Officer → Former Officer, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    $889K (2020) → $2.2M (2024)

  • Todd M. Bankhead

    Senior Vice President Clinical Ops & COO

    Senior Vice President & Clin Ops → Senior Vice President Clin Ops & COO, 2023

    Senior Vice President Clin Ops & COO → Senior Vice President Clinical Ops & COO, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $567K (2020) → $862K (2024)

  • Rami Badreddine MD

    Physician

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $948K (2021) → $886K (2024)

  • Stephan L. Lillie

    Senior Vice President & CFO

    On filings since 2021

    10 hrs/week

    $355K (2021) → $667K (2024)

  • A. Mick Fisher

    Senior Vice President & Chro Wfb

    Senior Vice President & Chro → Senior Vice President & Chro Wfb, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    25 hrs/week

    $889K (2022) → $985K (2024)

  • Donald E. Flow

    Vice Chair

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2022

    Chair → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • J. Reid Morgan

    Assistant Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    6 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kevin P. High MD

    Former Officer

    President & Health System → Former Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • L. Ebony Boulware MD

    Dean & Wfu Som

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (19)
  • Former: Edwin L. Welch Jr. (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: William D. Showalter (2020–2023) — Former Officer
  • Former: Richard Stick Williams (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Karen H. Huey (2020–2022) — Former Officer
  • Former: Patricia L. Turner MD (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Wendy R. Hitchcock (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Adelaide A. Sink (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: George D. Renfro (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: John H. McConnell MD (2020–2021) — Former Officer
  • Former: Tri Le MD (2021) — Senior Vice President, Clin Ops & Pt Finance Svc
  • Former: Catherine D. Deangelis MD (2020) — Director
  • Former: Conrad S. Emmerich (2020) — Vice President & Business Svc
  • Former: Edward E. Cornwell III MD (2020) — Director
  • Former: Eric Tomlinson Dcs PhD (2020) — Former Officer
  • Former: James J. Marino (2020) — Director
  • Former: Lilicia Bailey (2020) — Senior Vice President & Ch People Officer
  • Former: Nathan O. Hatch PhD (2020) — Director
  • Former: Robert Gfeller (2020) — Former Officer
  • Former: Vijaya Gandla MD (2020) — Physician

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Eugene a Woods — CEO Advocate Health: $22.9MEugene a WoodsCEO Advocate Health$22.9MBradley a Clark — EVP, Treasurer: $2.5MBradley a ClarkEVP, Treasurer$2.5MTerry G Williams — Former Officer: $2.2MTerry G WilliamsFormer Officer$2.2MJ McLain Wallace Jr — SVP, Gen Counsel & Secretary: $1.7MJ McLain Wallace JrSVP, Gen Counsel & Secretary$1.7MCathleen Wheatley DNP — Pres WFBMC, SVP CNO: $1.2MCathleen Wheatley DNPPres WFBMC, SVP CNO$1.2MA Mick Fisher — SVP, Chro WFB: $985KA Mick FisherSVP, Chro WFB$985KLisa M Marshall — VP, Chief Phil Off: $974KLisa M MarshallVP, Chief Phil Off$974KRami Badreddine MD — Physician: $886KRami Badreddine MDPhysician$886KTodd Bankhead — SVP Clinical Ops, COO: $862KTodd BankheadSVP Clinical Ops, COO$862KMichael T Waid — SVP, Health System Ops: $837KMichael T WaidSVP, Health System Ops$837KStephan L Lillie — SVP & CFO: $667KStephan L LillieSVP & CFO$667K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $22.9M, to Eugene a Woods (CEO Advocate Health). 11 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center

How much does Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center give each year?

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center gave $20.0M across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990.

How large is Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center?

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center reported $648.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $172.6M.

What is Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center?

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center is a public charity focused on Health, based in Winston-Salem, NC. It holds $648.8M in total assets as of 2024.

Where does Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center operate?

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center has awarded grants in North Carolina.

What is Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center's EIN?

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 51-0190238. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(5)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
  5. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

The Barth Syndrome Foundation

Larchmont, NY

The Barth Syndrome Foundation is an engaged, global community whose mission is saving lives through education, advances in treatments, and finding a cure for barth syndrome.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$6.0M

Grants

4

Total Given

$332K

Trustees of Tufts College

Medford, MA

Trustees of Tufts College supports university instruction, research, student services, and related organizations; its 2025 grants had a median of $76,881, though many large awards were subcontract grants. Giving is concentrated in Massachusetts, and its Tufts Community Grants offer $5,000 for eligible nonprofit projects in Boston, Grafton, Medford, and Somerville; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$4.9B

Grants

149

Total Given

$38.3M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Center for Orthopaedic Trauma Advancement

Rosemont, IL

COTA funds orthopaedic trauma fellowships and postgraduate education at approved Orthopaedic Trauma Association fellowship programs in the United States. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,500 to $75,000, with a median of $25,000; applications are required from eligible fellowship programs, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$679K

Grants

20

Total Given

$520K

National Kidney Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The National Kidney Foundation is revolutionizing the fight to save lives by eliminating preventable kidney disease, accelerating innovation for the dignity of the patient experience, and dismantling structural inequities in kidney care, dialysis, and transplantation.

Assets

$51.5M

Grants

9

Total Given

$678K

Emergency Medicine Foundation

Irving, TX

The Emergency Medicine Foundation funds research and education to improve emergency medicine and patient care, including investigator-initiated, early-career, pilot, resident, and student research. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $986,839, with a median of $15,000; it funds U.S.-based institutions, with the largest shares of recent giving going to Texas and Pennsylvania. It invites applications through its listed grant opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those programs.

Assets

$10.6M

Grants

20

Total Given

$2.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in North Carolina

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?