Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation logo

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Crazy Horse, SD EIN: 46-0220678 Website

The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the cultures, traditions, and living heritage of the North American indians. Crazy horse memorial remains committed to the promise sculptor korczak ziolkowski made to chief henry standing bear and other native elders in response to their invitation to carve and maintain a monument celebrating native American culture. Today, crazy horse memorial stands as a beacon to the world with hundreds of thousands of people visiting each year. The iconic monument raises interest and welcomes all to visit, learn, and be inspired by the culture, traditions, and wisdom of native americans. Since its founding in 1948, Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation has demonstrated its commitment to fulfilling the mission through four major projects - the world's largest sculpture in progress of lakota leader crazy horse, the indian museum of North America, the native American and educational cultural center, and crazy horse memorial university

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation at a glance

In short: Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation gave $90K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $18K), mostly in South Dakota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$90,440
-2.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
5
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$18,088
-2.2% vs 2024
Median grant
$10,000
Total assets
$141,501,841
+3.3% vs 2024
Primary geography
South Dakota (89% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2025

Oglala Lakota College: $30KOglala Lakota College$30KWestern Dakota Vo-Tech: $10KWestern Dakota Vo-Tech$10KSitting Bull College: $10KSitting Bull College$10KUniversity of South Dakota: $9KUniversity of South Dakota$9K

The largest 2025 recipient was Oglala Lakota College ($30K). Together the top 4 received $59K.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($31,440), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

26 grants across all recorded years

26<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 26 grants of 26 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

Ft YatesKyleVermillionRapid CityPierreBrookingsSpearfish

How Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−10%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K5 grants2019 6 grants2020 4 grants2021 6 grants2022 6 grants2023 5 grants2024 5 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $90K (2021) to $101K (2020). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $90K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
1 individual scholarship Recipients not named —$31,440
Oglala Lakota College Kyle, SDScholarship$30,000
Western Dakota Vo-Tech Rapid City, SDScholarship$10,000
Sitting Bull College Ft Yates, NDScholarship$10,000
University of South Dakota Vermillion, SDScholarship$9,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$141,501,841$13,225,546$10,021,209$90,4405$2,041,598
2024$136,942,010$13,596,839$8,892,445$92,5205$1,802,339
2023$130,434,828$14,310,887$8,338,706$99,2406$1,157,108
2022$122,222,924$29,766,686$7,304,602$100,0406$908,080
2021$104,826,168$13,100,330$6,445,271$89,7204$974,861
2020$99,392,674$20,566,367$6,267,744$101,4906$849,331
2019$86,667,068$9,690,226$6,799,284$100,5605$442,696

About Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation

Based on IRS filings

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is a public charity focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Crazy Horse, SD. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $141.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $90K. Net investment income was $2.0M.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is led by Whitney Rencountre II, CEO since 2023 (on filings since 2022); 11 of 34 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Whitney Rencountre II

    CEO

    CEO Starting → CEO, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    50 hrs/week

    $134K (2023) → $231K (2025)

  • Kay Jorgensen

    Chairman

    Director → Chairman, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Olson

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Don Montileaux

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • F. Joseph Dubray

    Director

    Director → Vice Chairman, 2021

    Vice Chairman → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Roger Broer

    Director

    Director → Secretary, 2021

    Secretary → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wes Shelton

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alexander Zane Zephier III

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Della Burns

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeremy Patterson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Hutchings

    Director

    Director → Treasurer, 2022

    Treasurer → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Barry Tice

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bob Leech

    Director

    Director → Vice Chairman, 2023

    Vice Chairman → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kay Schallenkamp

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jay D. Vogt

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Urla Marcus

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hank Fridell

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerad Higman

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen Mortimer

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lloyd Lacroix

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sid Goss

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph Konkol

    CFO

    Vice President Finance & Interim → CFO & Interim, 2022

    CFO & Interim → CFO, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    55 hrs/week

    $83K (2019) → $195K (2025)

  • Monique Ziolkowski

    Artisticadvi

    CEO & Mntn Director → Director, 2023

    Director → Artisticadvi, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $200K (2019) → $120K (2025)

  • Vaughn Ziolkowski

    Mtn Supervis

    Director → Mtn Supervis, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $89K (2019) → $109K (2025)

  • Caleb Ziolkowski

    Chiefmtnoffi

    Director → Chiefmtnoffi, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    50 hrs/week

    $52K (2021) → $185K (2025)

  • Thurston Pond

    Senior Maint for

    Hce → Senior Maint for, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    50 hrs/week

    $103K (2023) → $123K (2025)

  • Amanda Allcock

    Sales, Mktg & T

    On filings since 2024

    50 hrs/week

    $101K (2024) → $105K (2025)

  • Mary Murtala

    Chief Development

    On filings since 2024

    50 hrs/week

    $33K (2024) → $178K (2025)

  • Jesse Wheeler

    Mtn Operations

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $104K (2025)

  • Jordan Konkol

    Controller

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $102K (2025)

  • Thomas Castelan

    Mtn Shop Manager

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $102K (2025)

  • Jade Herman

    Vice Chairman

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    Secretary → Vice Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Gibson

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Janelle Toman

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (24)
  • Former: Steven Helmers (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Steve Rasmussen (2021–2024) — Director
  • Former: Monte Lucas (2022–2024) — Director
  • Former: Amanda Scott (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Laurie Becvar (2019–2023) — COO & President to
  • Former: Kirk David (2023) — Hce
  • Former: Laurel Vermillion (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Sidney Goss (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: James McNulty (2022) — Direct Mtn T
  • Former: Dan Warren (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Lloyd Sohl (2019–2021) — Treasurer
  • Former: Mary Abu-Ghazaleh (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Mary Scull (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Richard Gowen (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Richard Tobias (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Troy Weston (2021) — Director
  • Former: Bishop Robert Gruss (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Gary Renner (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Ivan Sorbel (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Jadwiga Ziolkowski (2019–2020) — CEO, Secretary & Director
  • Former: Joe Dobbs (2019–2020) — Chairman
  • Former: Troy Watson (2020) — Director
  • Former: Gary Brown (2019) — Director
  • Former: Jeff Henderson (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Whitney Rencountre II — CEO: $231KWhitney Rencountre IICEO$231KJoseph Konkol — CFO: $195KJoseph KonkolCFO$195KCaleb Ziolkowski — Chiefmtnoffi: $185KCaleb ZiolkowskiChiefmtnoffi$185KMary Murtala — Chief Devel.: $178KMary MurtalaChief Devel.$178KThurston Pond — Sr Maint for: $123KThurston PondSr Maint for$123KMonique Ziolkowski — Artisticadvi: $120KMonique ZiolkowskiArtisticadvi$120KVaughn Ziolkowski — MTN Supervis: $109KVaughn ZiolkowskiMTN Supervis$109KAmanda Allcock — Sales/MKTG/T: $105KAmanda AllcockSales/MKTG/T$105KJesse Wheeler — MTN Operatio: $104KJesse WheelerMTN Operatio$104KJordan Konkol — Controller: $102KJordan KonkolController$102KThomas Castelan — MTN Shop MGR: $102KThomas CastelanMTN Shop MGR$102K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $231K, to Whitney Rencountre II (CEO). 11 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation

How much does Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation give each year?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation gave $90K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $93K across 5 grants.

What is Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's typical grant size?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $18,088, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation give grants?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation gives mostly in South Dakota: 89% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest state was North Dakota (11%).

Does Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (5 grants).

Who are Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's largest grantees?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Oglala Lakota College ($30,000), Western Dakota Vo-Tech ($10,000) and Sitting Bull College ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($31,440), which are not listed by name. Together they received 55% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation reported $141.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $13.2M.

What is Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is a public charity focused on Arts, Culture & Humanities, based in Crazy Horse, SD. It holds $141.5M in total assets as of 2025.

What is Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's EIN?

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-0220678. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 31, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 3, 2026)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS January 16, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 2, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 27, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS January 26, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 26, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in South Dakota

South Dakota Community Foundation

Pierre, SD

The South Dakota Community Foundation funds nonprofits and charitable projects in areas including education, health, human services, culture, and economic development, primarily benefiting South Dakota communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,562, while 2026 Beyond Idea Grants range from $5,000 to $100,000 per year. Eligible nonprofits can apply for South Dakota Fund and Beyond Idea Grants through its online portal.

Assets

$939.2M

Grants

390

Total Given

$39.7M

Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation Inc

Sioux Falls, SD

The Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation funds local charitable, educational, cultural, religious, community-development, and environmental needs, including new programs and nonprofit capacity building, primarily in the Sioux Falls area and surrounding communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; organizations may submit a Letter of Inquiry for Community Fund Grants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$390.9M

Grants

308

Total Given

$38.0M

Sanford Group Return

Sioux Falls, SD

Sanford Group Return funds health care access and outcomes, community wellbeing, workforce and education, and related community needs, including health professions education and research. In 2024, its median grant was $24,900, with awards ranging from $5,500 to $3.6 million; giving was concentrated in South Dakota, North Dakota, and Minnesota. Its Community Dividend Fund accepts online funding requests in South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wyoming; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$4.3B

Grants

171

Total Given

$45.3M

Avera Health

Sioux Falls, SD

Avera Health supports eligible nonprofits working in health and wellness, unmet community health needs, healthy lifestyles, environmental and social initiatives, and civic or community development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $850,000, with a median of $17,737; funding is focused on central and eastern South Dakota and nearby parts of Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, and Nebraska. It accepts requests through its Community Partnership/Donation Request process and asks applicants to use its form.

Assets

$2.6B

Grants

109

Total Given

$6.2M

Black Hills Area Community Foundation

Rapid City, SD

The foundation funds community needs across areas including youth and families, social services, education, basic needs, arts, animal welfare, and nonprofit capacity building in seven Black Hills counties of South Dakota. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $15,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$95.1M

Grants

120

Total Given

$5.7M

Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation

Sioux Falls, SD

The foundation funds community needs, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with a Twin Cities program focused on hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000; its Twin Cities program focuses on Minneapolis–St. Paul, while grants also went to organizations elsewhere. The Strategic Industry program is invitation-only, while the Twin Cities program has an application process.

Education

Assets

$18.2M

Grants

87

Total Given

$4.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in South Dakota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?