The Campbell Institute
Children's institute's mission is to leverage research, practice, policy, and advocacy to shift systems toward justice for families so that all of Oregon's children, prenatal to grade 5, have access to opportunity.
The Campbell Institute at a glance
In short: The Campbell Institute gave $320K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $40K), mostly in Oregon. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $320,000
- -6.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 8
- -20.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $40,000
- +17.1% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $40,000
- Total assets
- $11,459,920
- -16.4% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Oregon (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Campbell Institute funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was St Helens School District ($75K). Together the top 8 received $320K.
Grant Size Distribution
32 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 15 grants of 32 (47%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How The Campbell Institute gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−5%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $259K (2020) to $490K (2023). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $320K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| St Helens School District St Helens, OR | School District in Early School Success Program | $75,000 |
| Kairospdx Portland, OR | Early Childhood Equity Collaborative Member Stipend | $45,000 |
| Irco Portland, OR | Early Childhood Equity Collaborative Member Stipend | $40,000 |
| Latino Network Portland, OR | Early Childhood Equity Collaborative Member Stipend | $40,000 |
| Black Parent Initiative Portland, OR | Early Childhood Equity Collaborative Member Stipend | $40,000 |
| Native American Youth and Family Center Portland, OR | Early Childhood Equity Collaborative Member Stipend | $40,000 |
| Beaverton School District Beaverton, OR | School District in Early School Success Program | $20,000 |
| Forest Grove School District Beaverton, OR | School District in Early School Success Program | $20,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Campbell Institute?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $11,459,920 | $2,849,412 | $4,732,230 | $320,000 | 8 | $468,145 |
| 2024 | $13,707,320 | $3,731,079 | $4,909,732 | $341,576 | 10 | $240,781 |
| 2023 | $14,333,541 | $12,514,609 | $4,328,070 | $489,793 | 4 | $267,691 |
| 2022 | $5,950,049 | $2,426,199 | $4,087,084 | $335,642 | 5 | $53,495 |
| 2021 | $7,724,323 | $1,471,004 | $3,506,494 | $323,618 | 5 | $67,075 |
| 2020 | $9,963,172 | $3,654,373 | $3,576,423 | $258,789 | 3 | $50,644 |
About The Campbell Institute
Based on IRS filings
The Campbell Institute is a public charity, based in Portland, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $11.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $320K. Net investment income was $468K.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Campbell Institute is led by Kali Thorne Ladd, Chief Executive Officer since 2023 (on filings since 2022); 8 of 24 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kali Thorne Ladd
Chief Executive Officer
CEO → Chief Executive Officer, 2023
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$211K (2022) → $252K (2025)
Marissa Kaiser
Chair
Board Member → Vice Chair, 2022
Vice Chair → Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dana Hepper
Director of Policy & Advocacy
Director of Policy & Advisor → Director of Policy & Advocacy, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$130K (2020) → $150K (2025)
Marina Merrill
Director of Research & S
Director of Research & S → Director of Research & Strategy, 2021
Director of Research & Strategy → Director of Research & S, 2025
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$109K (2020) → $147K (2025)
Eli O'Brate
Director of Finance
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$101K (2025)
Erica Mullen
Chief Resource & Innovation Officer
Director of Development → Chief Resource & Innovation Officer, 2025
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$101K (2022) → $157K (2025)
Erin Lolich
Early Literacy Specialist
Director of School Based Initiatives → Early Literacy Specialist, 2025
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$101K (2023) → $127K (2025)
Emily Gilliland
Chief Operating Officer
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$193K (2025)
Talisa Timms
Equity Manager
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$103K (2025)
Bob Harding
Past Chair
Board Member → Chair, 2022
Chair → Past Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Bruml
Board Member
On filings since 2021
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sara Kerr
Board Member
On filings since 2021
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Frank Reppenhagen
Treasurer
On filings since 2022
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Maddie O'Neill Andrews
Board Member
On filings since 2022
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Su Embree
Board Member
On filings since 2022
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Becky Tymchuck
Board Member
On filings since 2023
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Joth Ricci
Vice Chair
Board Member → Vice Chair, 2024
On filings since 2023
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Miriam Calderon
Board Member
On filings since 2023
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Peter Buckley
Board Member
On filings since 2023
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Alicia Chapman
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Cory Carman Starting
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jean Back Starting
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Naito
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Marc Monaghan Starting
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (27)
- Former: Amy Dowd (2022–2025) — Secretary · Filing note: Through 122025
- Former: Cedric Berry (2021–2024) — Board Member
- Former: Ronda Fritz (2021–2024) — Board Member · Filing note: Through 062024
- Former: Rafael Otto (2022–2024) — Director of Communications
- Former: Carole Shellhartthrough (2024) — Chief Financial Officer & COO
- Former: Emily Gillilandstarting (2024) — Chief Operating Officer
- Former: Lisa Naito Starting (2024) — Board Member
- Former: Carole Shellhart (2020–2023) — Chief Financial Officer & Chief Operating Officer
- Former: John Tapogna (2020–2023) — Immediate Past Chair
- Former: Matthew Chapman (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Mignon Mazique (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Najia Hyder (2021–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Diana Cruz (2020–2022) — Treasurer
- Former: George Russell (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Julie Young (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Karen Twain (2020–2022) — Director of Programs
- Former: Julie Mancini (2021–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Kelsey Mueller Wendy (2022) — Board Member
- Former: Chris Tebben (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Nan Waller (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Natalie Vega O'Neil (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Swati Adarkar (2020–2021) — Former President & CEO
- Former: Isaac Regenstreif (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Ken Thrasher (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Lyn Hennion (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Margaret Kirkpatrick (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Susan Walsh (2020) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $252K, to Kali Thorne Ladd (Chief Executive Officer). 8 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about The Campbell Institute
How much does The Campbell Institute give each year?
The Campbell Institute gave $320K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $342K across 10 grants.
What is The Campbell Institute's typical grant size?
The Campbell Institute's median grant in 2025 was $40,000, and its average grant was $40,000, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does The Campbell Institute give grants?
The Campbell Institute gives mostly in Oregon: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Portland, OR (5 grants) and Beaverton, OR (2 grants).
Does The Campbell Institute give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 8 grants with a stated purpose on The Campbell Institute's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Early Childhood Equity Collaborative Member Stipend" (5 grants) and "School District in Early School Success Program" (3 grants).
Who are The Campbell Institute's largest grantees?
The Campbell Institute's largest 2025 grantees include St Helens School District ($75,000), Kairospdx ($45,000) and Irco ($40,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 50% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Campbell Institute?
The Campbell Institute reported $11.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.8M.
What is The Campbell Institute's EIN?
The Campbell Institute's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 93-1095351. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 2, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 28, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS June 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS July 11, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 26, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 17, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Oregon
Oregon Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Campbell Institute's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Collins Foundation
Portland, OR
The Collins Foundation funds Oregon organizations working on equity and community well-being, including efforts in education, health, arts and culture, environmental protection, and child development. Its 2024 grants had a median of $40,000; single-year GO Grants are typically $25,000–$100,000, averaging $75,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$234.9M
Grants
209
Total Given
$10.8M
Meyer Memorial Trust
Portland, OR
Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.
Assets
$901.2M
Grants
388
Total Given
$45.2M
The Oregon Community Foundation
Portland, OR
The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
2,149
Total Given
$171.4M
Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation
Wilsonville, OR
The Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation supports Oregon nonprofits working in education, community, arts and creativity, health, and well-being, often through unrestricted operating grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; it also has a Washington Fund for organizations serving Washington and/or Oregon. Its primary grant programs open in January and June; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$374.9M
Grants
663
Total Given
$20.5M
United Way of the Columbia-Willamette
Portland, OR
United Way of the Columbia-Willamette funds early learning, housing stability, disaster resilience, volunteerism, and civic engagement, with a focus on equity and community needs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,168 to $1,565,638, with a median of $27,326, and primarily supported work in Oregon; its service area also includes parts of Washington and Central Oregon. The 2024–2026 Civic Engagement & Advocacy Fund accepted applications, but that application period is closed; no general unsolicited-request policy is stated.
Assets
$43.1M
Grants
133
Total Given
$15.6M
OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation
Portland, OR
The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$637.5M
Grants
531
Total Given
$23.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Oregon
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Campbell Institute's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Campbell Institute down — hundreds of funders to go?