Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
MOCA supports those impacted by ovarian cancer, funds research, educates the public and health care community and raises awareness.
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc at a glance
In short: Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc gave $689K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $86K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $688,621
- -11.5% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 8
- +14.3% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $86,078
- -22.6% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $28,250
- Total assets
- $1,738,621
- +3.8% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (62% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
How to apply to Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
Open Grants
4 open opportunities from Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
Colleen Anderson Excellence in Cancer Care Award Grant
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
Amount
US $2,500
Deadline
Deadline not published
Lubov Arnold Conference Scholarship Grant
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
Amount
US $1,000 - US $5,000
Deadline
Deadline not published
National Early Detection of Ovarian Cancer Research Awards Grant
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
Amount
US $50,000 - US $100,000
Deadline
Deadline not published
Who Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Mayo Clinic ($230K). Together the top 8 received $689K.
Grant Size Distribution
32 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 15 grants of 32 (47%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
Cities
How Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc gives
- Giving fell 31% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $400K (2020) to $999K (2022). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $689K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN | Research | $229,621 |
| University of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN | Research | $200,000 |
| MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, TX | Research | $165,000 |
| University of Chicago Chicago, IL | Research | $35,000 |
| University of Washington Seattle, WA | Research | $21,500 |
| Dana Farber Cancer Institute Boston, MA | Research | $15,000 |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering New York, NY | Research | $14,500 |
| University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA | Research | $8,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,738,621 | $1,717,552 | $1,596,478 | $688,621 | 8 | $25,434 |
| 2024 | $1,674,193 | $1,505,940 | $1,542,826 | $778,500 | 7 | $31,996 |
| 2023 | $1,567,673 | $1,615,215 | $1,389,394 | $659,646 | 7 | $27,344 |
| 2022 | $1,565,170 | $1,205,194 | $1,681,157 | $999,246 | 3 | $7,409 |
| 2021 | $2,046,561 | $1,504,957 | $1,371,667 | $725,000 | 7 | $6,995 |
| 2020 | $1,659,686 | $1,261,726 | $1,068,822 | $400,000 | 2 | $25,205 |
About Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
Based on IRS filings
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc is a public charity focused on Medical Research, based in Minneapolis, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.7M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $689K. Net investment income was $25K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc is led by Kathleen Gavin, Executive Director on every filing since 2021; 3 of 15 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kathleen Gavin
Executive Director
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$127K (2021) → $69K (2025)
Julie Bluhm
Interim Executive Director
New on the 2025 filing
15 hrs/week
$15K (2025)
Mary Uran
Executive Director
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$52K (2025)
Mary Adamski
Chair
Director → Secretary, 2023
Secretary → Chair, 2025
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mark Urista
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Megan Buron Gavin
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nancy Libbey
Director
Vice President → Prior Vice Chair, 2022
Prior Vice Chair → Director, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Carolyn Jahr
Director
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Melissa Cook
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kathryn Hunt
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kristine Greer
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Deb Runkle
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Wetzel
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Patricia Bartholomew
Vice Chair
Director → Vice Chair, 2022
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Eileen O'Byrne
Treasurer
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (29)
- Former: Carol Pederson (2021–2024) — Chair
- Former: Corinne Florin (2022–2024) — Director
- Former: Larry Anderson (2022–2024) — Director
- Former: Megan Flynn (2022–2024) — Treasurer
- Former: Becky Drexler (2024) — Director
- Former: Joe Cade (2024) — Honorary Member
- Former: Susan Kushner (2024) — Honorary Member
- Former: Kris Greer (2021–2023) — Outgoing Chair
- Former: Rebecca Drexler (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Samia Miller (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Kate Hunt (2022–2023) — Director
- Former: Judy Kessel (2023) — Director
- Former: Tara Wain (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Corrine Florin (2021) — Director
- Former: Adamski Mary (2020) — Director
- Former: Drexler Rebecca (2020) — Director
- Former: Florin Corrine (2020) — Director
- Former: Gavin Kathleen (2020) — Executive Director
- Former: Gehant David (2020) — Director
- Former: Greer Kris (2020) — President
- Former: Kleinbaum Ellen (2020) — Director
- Former: Libbey Nancy (2020) — Director
- Former: Pederson Carol (2020) — Secretary
- Former: Trevarthen Marcia (2020) — Director
- Former: Urista Mark (2020) — Director
- Former: Wain Tara (2020) — Director
- Former: Wetzel John (2020) — Director
- Former: Wilhelmi Ginger (2020) — Treasurer
- Former: Woodhull Teri (2020) — Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $69K, to Kathleen Gavin (Executive Director (until May)). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc
How much does Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc give each year?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc gave $689K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $779K across 7 grants.
What is Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's typical grant size?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's median grant in 2025 was $28,250, and its average grant was $86,078, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc give grants?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc gives mostly in Minnesota: 62% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were Texas (24%) and Illinois (5%).
Does Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 8 grants with a stated purpose on Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Research" (8 grants).
Who are Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's largest grantees?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Mayo Clinic ($229,621), University of Minnesota ($200,000) and MD Anderson Cancer Center ($165,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 86% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc reported $1.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.7M.
What is Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc is a public charity focused on Medical Research, based in Minneapolis, MN. It holds $1.7M in total assets as of 2025.
What is Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's EIN?
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-1960449. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 30, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 2, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 8, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 1, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 19, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Ovarian Cancer Research Fund Inc
New York, NY
Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance funds research on ovarian and related gynecologic cancers, including early detection, treatment, recurrence, and health equity, through grants to eligible nonprofit research institutions. Its 2024 grants ranged from $75,000 to $900,000, with a median of about $325,000; LOIs are open to researchers worldwide, though funding is limited to specified nonprofit institutions. It accepts requests through grant programs with an LOI and peer-review process, with full proposals by invitation.
Assets
$38.1M
Grants
14
Total Given
$5.7M
Gabrielle's Angel Foundation for Cancer Research Inc
New York, NY
Gabrielle’s Angel Foundation funds innovative clinical and basic research into leukemia, lymphoma, and related blood cancers, with some support for select pediatric oncology, music therapy, and international projects. Its 2024 grants ranged from $15,000 to $225,000 (median $75,000), with a national U.S. focus; it does not accept unsolicited requests and awards are by invitation.
Assets
$6.0M
Grants
20
Total Given
$2.2M
Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology
Alexandria, VA
Conquer Cancer funds cancer research, professional education, and quality-care initiatives, with awards to universities, hospitals, and cancer centers in the U.S. and through international programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50,000 to $7.68 million, with a median of $100,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$120.7M
Grants
39
Total Given
$17.4M
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Chevy Chase, MD
HHMI funds basic biomedical research, science education, fellowships, and public engagement, primarily through programs for researchers and support to universities and other organizations. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $10,000 to $3,062,953, with a median of $20,000; its research programs serve U.S. institutions, and listed grants were concentrated in California, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Virginia, and North Carolina. HHMI does not accept unsolicited requests; most competitions use formal invitation and review processes.
Assets
$29.5B
Grants
31
Total Given
$8.8M
The Susan G Komen Breast Cancer Foundation Inc
Dallas, TX
The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation funds breast cancer research and programs supporting education, patient navigation, financial assistance, and access to care. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,681 to $945,992, with a median of $158,660, and it funds work in the United States and 24 other countries. Research applications require an LOI, and full applications are by invitation; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$178.9M
Grants
61
Total Given
$16.1M
The Broad Institute Inc
Cambridge, MA
The Broad Institute funds biomedical research, especially work on disease causes, treatments, cancer, and research technologies, primarily through grants to universities, hospitals, and research centers. In 2025, grants ranged from $8,419 to $15.75 million, with a median of about $301,000; most funding went to Massachusetts organizations. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.5B
Grants
77
Total Given
$86.0M
More similar funders
More Funders in Minnesota
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?