Wound Healing Society
Wound Healing Society (WHS)is the premier scientific organization focused on wound healing. WHS mission is to improve wound healing outcomes through science, professional education and communication.
Key facts about Wound Healing Society
In short: Wound Healing Society gave $25K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $25K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 54-1543698
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $25,000
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- Average grant
- $25,000
- Median grant
- $25,000
- Total assets
- $1,353,645
- Primary geography
- Illinois (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$1.4M
+5.4% YoY
Annual Giving
$25K
+0.0% YoY
Grant Count
1
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$25K
+0.0% YoY
How Wound Healing Society gives
- Giving grew 108% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Wound Healing Society
Based on IRS filings
Wound Healing Society is a public charity, based in Beverly, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $25K. Net investment income was $60K.
Ready to take the next step with Wound Healing Society?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $12K (2021) to $31K (2022). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $25K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was University of Illinois - Board of Trustees ($25K).
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Illinois - Board of Trustees Urbana, IL | Research | $25,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,353,645 | $1,284,480 | $1,184,165 |
| Revenue | $566,532 | $510,808 | $510,240 |
| Expenses | $543,285 | $486,475 | $443,913 |
| Net Investment Income | $60,326 | $29,263 | $44,600 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 7, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 13, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Wound Healing Society is led by Sundeep Keswani, President since 2024 (on filings since 2022); none of the 17 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Sundeep Keswani
President
Vice President → President-El, 2023
President-El → President, 2024
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Irena Pastar
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kyle Quinn
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rummana Aslam
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
William Marston
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Carlos Zgheib
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Daria Narmoneva
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dorothy Supp
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Piul Rabbani
Director
Board Member → Director, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Swathi Balaji
Director
New on the 2024 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brian Eliceiri
Secretary
Board Member → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Herbert B. Slade
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert S. Kirsner
Vice President
Board Member → Member at La, 2022
Member at La → Vice President, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Traci Wilgus
Past President
President-El → President, 2023
President → Past President, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chandan Sen
Member-At-Large
Board Member → Member-At-Large, 2024
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Susan Volk
President Elect
Board Member → Vice President, 2023
Vice President → President Elect, 2024
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Adrian Barbul
Member-At-Large
Member at La → Member-At-Large, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (15)
- Former: Alan Wells (2020–2023) — Past President
- Former: Kenneth Liechty MD (2020–2023) — Past President & President
- Former: Lisa Gould (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Praveen Arany (2020–2023) — Secretary
- Former: Timothy King (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Geoffrey C. Gurtner (2020–2022) — Past President
- Former: Kath Bogie (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Rivkah Isseroff (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Vickie Rae Driver (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Dennis P. Orgill (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Elizabeth A. Grice (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Sashwati Roy (2020–2021) — Past President
- Former: Howard Levinson (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Jeffrey M. Davidson (2020) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Laura Ks Parnell (2020) — Ex-Officio
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Wound Healing Society
How much does Wound Healing Society give each year?
Wound Healing Society gave $25K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $25K across 1 grant.
How large is Wound Healing Society?
Wound Healing Society reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $567K.
Where does Wound Healing Society operate?
Wound Healing Society has awarded grants in California, Florida, Illinois, Massachusetts.
What is Wound Healing Society's EIN?
Wound Healing Society's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-1543698. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Wound Healing Society by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Wound Healing Society's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Massachusetts
The Fashek Family Foundation
San Antonio, TX
Assets
$287K
Grants
4
Total Given
$40K
Integra Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
INTEGRA FOUNDATION INC funds organizations working in health, education, humanitarian aid, and community services, with 2024 grants to recipients across multiple states, especially Illinois, California, and New Jersey. Its 110 grants ranged from $400 to $25,000, with a median of $5,000. The foundation says giving is not restricted to preselected organizations and lists application materials on its website; applications are due yearly.
Assets
$278K
Grants
60
Total Given
$375K
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Barr Foundation
Boston, MA
Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and related initiatives, primarily supporting organizations and leaders in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. It welcomes inquiries through program pages and occasionally issues open requests for proposals; most grants go to returning partners.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
903
Total Given
$123.2M
Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.
Assets
$46.1M
Grants
706
Total Given
$50.6M
Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)
Woburn, MA
The foundation supports nonprofits focused on human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and environmental causes, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts, with limited support for Rwanda’s recovery. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal for its local grant program.
Assets
$258.2M
Grants
658
Total Given
$38.2M
American Tower Corporation Foundation
Boston, MA
Assets
$15.4M
Grants
632
Total Given
$1.7M
Eastern Bank Foundation
Wakefield, MA
Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.
Assets
$266.7M
Grants
1,786
Total Given
$19.0M
Good Sports Inc
Braintree, MA
Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.
Assets
$13.8M
Grants
619
Total Given
$11.2M
The Stephen Phillips Memorial Scholarship Fund Inc
Boston, MA
The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$41.6M
Grants
520
Total Given
$5.1M
Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc
Pittsfield, MA
Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.
Assets
$17.1M
Grants
478
Total Given
$2.0M
More Funders in Massachusetts
Wound Healing Society down — hundreds of funders to go?