Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital
Virginia Biotechnology Research Park is a public charity based in Richmond, Virginia, formed in 1992. Its 2024 filing describes it as an anchor for the knowledge-based community and says it provides leadership and vision to the Richmond regional innovation ecosystem.
Key facts about Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital
- EIN
- 54-1640716
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Total assets
- $1,249,291
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$1.2M
-48.1% YoY
Revenue
$1.5M
+5.0% YoY
Net Investment Income
$32K
-34.4% YoY
Expenses
$1.3M
-17.3% YoY
Is Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital open to new grantees?
100%
first-time grantees, 2022
In 2022, 15 of 15 grantees (100%) were first-time recipients. With only 15 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 7 points. First grants averaged $21K. How we count
- 0% of 2022 grantees were also funded in 2021. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2022). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The organization states that it aims to provide leadership and vision to the Richmond regional innovation ecosystem, with a willingness to invent, take and manage risks, and share credit for success. Its 2024 filing describes support for the Lighthouse Labs regional acceleration program and hosting the SCOREboard Business Model Competition.
Grantmaking
The provided filing data lists zero grants in each of 2023, 2024, and 2025. It does not provide grant recipients, award amounts, application instructions, or a deadline.
Ready to take the next step with Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2022, annual grant giving ranged from $224K (2020) to $373K (2021). In 2022 it made 15 grants totaling $315K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
33 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 33 grants of 33 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
No grants recorded for 2025.
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,249,291 | $1,526,377 | $1,309,343 | 0 |
| 2024 | $2,408,437 | $1,454,208 | $1,583,864 | 0 |
| 2023 | $2,628,517 | $1,323,136 | $1,780,360 | 0 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,249,291 | $2,408,437 | $2,628,517 |
| Revenue | $1,526,377 | $1,454,208 | $1,323,136 |
| Expenses | $1,309,343 | $1,583,864 | $1,780,360 |
| Net Investment Income | $31,607 | $48,153 | $5,268 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 17, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 15, 2023)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
Officers and directors listed on the 2025 filing are Chandra Briggman, CEO; Robert Klein, director; Michael Rao, chair; Jennifer Finn, vice-chair; John A Vithoulkas, secretary; Karen Booth Adams, director; Brian Anderson, director; the Hon Caren Merrick, director; John Budesky, director; and Dr Josheph P Casey, director.
Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital is led by Chandra Briggman, CEO on every filing since 2021; none of the 18 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Chandra Briggman
CEO
On filings since 2021
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Erin Powell
Director & Executive Director
Director → Director & Executive Director, 2022
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$140K (2022) → $0 (2025)
Michael Rao
Chair
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brian Anderson
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Creamer
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Garret Westlake
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Budesky
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Josheph P. Casey
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Karen Booth Adams
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Sims
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
P. Srirama Rao
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
The Hon Levar Stoney
Director
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Richard Wintsch
Director
On filings since 2022
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Klein
Director
On filings since 2022
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
The Hon Caren Merrick
Director
On filings since 2022
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Finn
Vice Chair
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John A. Vithoulkas
Secretary
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Paul Nolde
Treasurer
Director → Treasurer, 2021
On filings since 2020
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (8)
- Former: Bryan Bostic (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Anthony Romanello (2022) — Director
- Former: Carrie Roth (2020–2021) — COO
- Former: George Karles (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Joseph Tannery (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Joy P. Edgett (2020–2021) — Former Treasurer
- Former: Sara Maddox (2020–2021) — Assistant Secretary
- Former: The Hon Brian Ball (2020–2021) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2022 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2022 filing was $140K, to Erin Powell (Director / Executive Director).
Contact
Mailing address: 800 East Leigh Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 828-0963
Website: https://vabiotech.com
Frequently asked questions about Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital
How large is Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital?
Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital reported $1.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.5M.
What does Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital fund?
The organization states that it aims to provide leadership and vision to the Richmond regional innovation ecosystem, with a willingness to invent, take and manage risks, and share credit for success. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital?
Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check vabiotech.com for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital's EIN?
Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-1640716. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia
Virginia Innovation Partnership Corporation
Herndon, VA
VIPC funds Virginia-based technology commercialization, early-stage startups, university research, and innovation ecosystems, with support for areas such as life sciences, energy, and information technology. Its 2025 grants ranged from $20,000 to $990,000, with a median of $50,000; the Commonwealth Commercialization Fund offers awards of up to $100,000. The fund accepts applications from university research partners and entrepreneurial startups for Virginia-based projects.
Assets
$92.5M
Grants
62
Total Given
$5.3M
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
Lansdowne, VA
The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.
Assets
$940.1M
Grants
1,419
Total Given
$25.1M
Donors Trust Inc
Alexandria, VA
Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
919
Total Given
$282.1M
The Community Foundation Inc
Richmond, VA
The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$852.4M
Grants
917
Total Given
$61.8M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.
Assets
$2.3M
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
The Nature Conservancy
Arlington, VA
The Nature Conservancy funds conservation work, including land and easement acquisition, research, planning, organizational capacity, and sustainable agriculture, across the United States and internationally. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $31,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $2.1 million; some regional programs offer grants of up to $100,000.
Assets
$10.1B
Grants
671
Total Given
$67.8M
Foster Foundation
Brookneal, VA
Assets
$18.6M
Grants
686
Total Given
$1.3M
Charlottesville Area Community Foundation
Charlottesville, VA
The Charlottesville Area Community Foundation funds nonprofits and community organizations working on needs such as housing, food access, health, youth development, arts, environmental stewardship, and equity in Charlottesville and surrounding counties. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of $20,100; the foundation describes application-based grant programs, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$292.3M
Grants
437
Total Given
$27.9M
JT-Minnie Maude Charitable Trust
Danville, VA
The J.T.–Minnie Maude Charitable Trust funds tax-exempt organizations and government agencies for a wide range of projects that improve quality of life for residents of Danville and/or Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,000 and ranged from $500 to $220,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application, with an annual August 1 deadline.
Assets
$51.2M
Grants
678
Total Given
$2.3M
NRA Foundation Inc
Fairfax, VA
The NRA Foundation funds firearm and hunting safety, marksmanship and shooting sports, firearms education, conservation, and related training and community programs at local, state, and national levels, with grants across multiple states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $8,181 (ranging from $5,002 to $7,219,321); a 2027 state grant application is listed as open, though the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$212.2M
Grants
510
Total Given
$13.9M
More Funders in Virginia
Virginia Biotechnology Research Park Activation Capital down — hundreds of funders to go?