The Center for Community Solutions logo

The Center for Community Solutions

Public charity · Grantmaker Cleveland, OH EIN: 34-0714723 Website

The Center for Community Solutions provides various support services to individuals and organizations throughout northeast Ohio. The organization provides strategic leadership to improve targeted health, social and economic conditions. The organization's major sources of revenues are grants from foundations, contracts with public and private entities and contributions.

The Center for Community Solutions at a glance

In short: The Center for Community Solutions gave $15K across 3 grants in 2024 (avg $5K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$15,000
-95.6% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
3
-76.9% vs 2023
Average grant
$5,000
-80.8% vs 2023
Median grant
$5,000
Total assets
$33,659,323
+6.2% vs 2023
Primary geography
Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Center for Community Solutions

Who The Center for Community Solutions funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2024

The City Club of Cleveland: $5KThe City Club of Cleveland$5KCleveland International Film Festival: $5KCleveland International FilmFestival$5KThe Ohio Poverty Law Center: $5KThe Ohio Poverty Law Center$5K

The largest 2024 recipient was The City Club of Cleveland ($5K). Together the top 3 received $15K.

Grant Size Distribution

77 grants across all recorded years

66<$50K8$50–100K3$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 66 grants of 77 (86%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

Cities

ClevelandColumbusAkronCincinnatiShaker HeightsWashingtonAthensBedford HeightsBerkleyChagrin FallsDaytonMaple HeightsMilfordWestlakeYoungstown

How The Center for Community Solutions gives

  • Giving fell 98% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K23 grants2020 26 grants2021 12 grants2022 13 grants2023 3 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $15K (2024) to $799K (2021). In 2024 it made 3 grants totaling $15K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The City Club of Cleveland Cleveland, OHGeneral Operating Support$5,000
Cleveland International Film Festival Cleveland, OHGeneral Operating Support$5,000
The Ohio Poverty Law Center Columbus, OHGeneral Operating Support$5,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Center for Community Solutions?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$33,659,323$3,173,926$3,417,717$15,0003$1,289,383
2023$31,687,728$2,595,717$4,016,140$339,05313$586,812
2022$30,243,674$4,122,014$3,481,955$222,80812$918,081
2021$34,921,879$4,957,759$3,002,274$798,91626$1,315,669
2020$31,273,411$3,016,710$2,639,937$588,05823$339,593

About The Center for Community Solutions

Based on IRS filings

The Center for Community Solutions is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Cleveland, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $33.7M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 3 grants totaling $15K. Net investment income was $1.3M.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Center for Community Solutions is led by Emily Campbell, President & CEO since 2024 (on filings since 2020); 4 of 25 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Emily Campbell

    President & CEO

    Chief Operating Officer → CEO See Sch O, 2023

    CEO See Sch O → President & CEO, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $105K (2020) → $179K (2024)

  • Kyle D. Miller

    Chair

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2021

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tara Britton

    Director of Public Policy

    Director of Public Policy & Advocacy → Director of Public Policy, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    45 hrs/week

    $103K (2023) → $110K (2024)

  • Emily Muttillo

    Director of Research

    New on the 2024 filing

    45 hrs/week

    $106K (2024)

  • Zulma Zabala

    Senior Fellow

    Past Chair → Senior Fellow, Community & Racial Equality, 2023

    Senior Fellow, Community & Racial Equality → Senior Fellow, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    32 hrs/week

    $108K (2023) → $110K (2024)

  • David B. Miller PhD

    Board Member

    Chair → Past Chair, 2023

    Past Chair → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Genesis O. Brown

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Heather Stoll

    Treasurer

    Board Member → Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Vail

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jenice Contreras

    Secretary

    Board Member → Secretary, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kevin McDaniel

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Timothy C. Ahrens

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tracey Strobel

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dabney Conwell

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael J. Meyer

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tana Kung Peckham

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas Lumpkin

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margie Glick

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael G. Riley

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andrea Stanard Lyons

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jill Paulsen

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michelle Rose

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Aseem Uppal

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ed Stockhausen

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ifeolorunbode Adebambo MD

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (17)
  • Former: James E. Misak MD (2020–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: John R. Corlett (2020–2023) — CEO
  • Former: Nazleen Bharmal MD (2020–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Seth A. Reimer (2020–2023) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Bridget Harrison (2022–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Chris Alvarado (2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Elizabeth L. Sislak (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Joshua Kramer (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Ra'teesha Scott (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Treye Johnson (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Carter Strang (2020–2021) — Past Chair
  • Former: Lynn M. Koster (2020–2021) — Treasurer
  • Former: Alesha Washington (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Joseph W. Mead (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Patricia A. Shlonsky (2020) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Richard Jones PhD (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: William M. Doll (2020) — Vice Chair

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Emily Campbell — President & CEO: $179KEmily CampbellPresident & CEO$179KTara Britton — Director of Public Policy: $110KTara BrittonDirector of Public Policy$110KZulma Zabala — Senior Fellow: $110KZulma ZabalaSenior Fellow$110KEmily Muttillo — Director of Research: $106KEmily MuttilloDirector of Research$106K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $179K, to Emily Campbell (President & CEO). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The Center for Community Solutions

How much does The Center for Community Solutions give each year?

The Center for Community Solutions gave $15K across 3 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $339K across 13 grants.

What is The Center for Community Solutions's typical grant size?

The Center for Community Solutions's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $5,000, across 3 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does The Center for Community Solutions give grants?

The Center for Community Solutions gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Cleveland, OH (2 grants).

Does The Center for Community Solutions give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of The Center for Community Solutions's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 3) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990.

How large is The Center for Community Solutions?

The Center for Community Solutions reported $33.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.2M.

What is The Center for Community Solutions?

The Center for Community Solutions is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Cleveland, OH. It holds $33.7M in total assets as of 2024.

What is The Center for Community Solutions's EIN?

The Center for Community Solutions's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-0714723. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS September 16, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 31, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 5, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 7, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 5, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Live grants for the work The Center for Community Solutions funds

Community Improvement & Capacity Building Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Center for Community Solutions's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Greater Cleveland Neighborhood Centers

Cleveland, OH

Greater Cleveland Neighborhood Centers supports community-based programs in education, youth development, civic engagement, justice reform, and healthier neighborhoods. Its 2024 grants averaged about $24,000, with awards ranging from $20,000 to $50,000; it is based in Cleveland, and its grantees are in Ohio and elsewhere. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$3.1M

Grants

0

Total Given

$659K

The George Gund Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The George Gund Foundation supports U.S. 501(c)(3) organizations working in climate and environmental justice, arts and culture, democracy, economic justice, public education, and family and social well-being, with a central focus on Cleveland and most 2024 grant dollars going to Ohio. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,200 to $2.75 million, with a median of $50,000. The profile describes an online application process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$555.9M

Grants

334

Total Given

$29.8M

Ohio Voice

Columbus, OH

Ohio Voice funds and supports nonprofit, nonpartisan organizations advancing year-round civic engagement with underrepresented communities, primarily in Ohio. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $225,001, with a median of $40,000. It does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited requests or describe an application process.

Public, Societal Benefit

Assets

$2.0M

Grants

27

Total Given

$1.8M

Higley Fund of the Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

Through the Cleveland Foundation, the Higley Fund supports charitable and educational work, with recent grants for health and social services, housing, literacy, hunger relief, and facility or program needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,000 to $200,000, with a median of $15,000, and 99% of funding went to Ohio recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$44.3M

Grants

89

Total Given

$2.1M

Mt Sinai Health Care Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Mt Sinai Health Care Foundation funds health and well-being in Greater Cleveland, including Jewish community health, equitable health outcomes, academic medicine and bioscience, and health policy. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000. It asks prospective applicants to contact a program officer before applying; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Health

Assets

$189.6M

Grants

69

Total Given

$7.4M

United Way of Greater Cleveland

Cleveland, OH

United Way of Greater Cleveland funds nonprofit programs that advance economic mobility and financial stability, including work on income, housing stability, and child care, primarily in Cuyahoga and Geauga counties. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100,000 to $175,000, with a median of $112,500. It accepts applications through a scheduled Community Impact grant process, beginning with an RFI; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside that process.

Assets

$41.3M

Grants

18

Total Given

$2.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Center for Community Solutions's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Center for Community Solutions down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?