Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation
The Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation is a private foundation based in Spotsylvania, Virginia. Its 2025 grants supported organizations in the arts, history, education, humanitarian response, food assistance, and religious and community services.
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation at a glance
In short: Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation gave $49K across 30 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), top state New York. 23% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $49,000
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 30
- +20.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $1,633
- -16.7% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,000
- Total assets
- $225,082
- -14.6% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 23% first-time grantees (7 of 30, 2025)
- Primary geography
- New York (18% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests; it states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations.
- Contact
Mailing address: 5913 West Copper Mountain Dr, Spotsylvania, VA 22553
Phone: (540) 710-1124
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Metropolitan Opera ($8K). Together the top 10 received $29K.
Grant Size Distribution
111 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 111 grants of 111 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, the largest shares of grant dollars by recipient state went to New York (18%), Washington (16%), Virginia (16%), California (12%), and the District of Columbia (10%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 30 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation open to new grantees?
23%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 7 of 30 grantees (23%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $1K; repeat grants $2K. How we count
Medians: $1K first-time, $1K repeat.
- 73% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 104% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 188% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $24K (2022) to $49K (2025). In 2025 it made 30 grants totaling $49K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Metropolitan Opera New York, NY | General Fund | $8,000 |
| San Francisco Opera San Francisco, CA | General Fund | $3,000 |
| Seattle Opera Seattle, WA | General Fund | $3,000 |
| Washington State Historical Society Tacoma, WA | General Fund | $3,000 |
| Tulsa Opera Tulsa, OK | General Fund | $3,000 |
| City of Hopeorg Duarte, CA | General Fund | $2,000 |
| Tavon Learning Center Issaquah, WA | General Fund | $2,000 |
| Stew Pot Community Services Jackson, MS | General Fund | $2,000 |
| World Central Kitchen Washington, DC | GAZA | $2,000 |
| St Mary of the Annunication Church Ladysmith, VA | General Fund | $1,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $225,082 | $13,542 | $52,097 | $49,000 | 30 | $49,000 | $13,542 | $26,107 |
| 2024 | $263,637 | $59,109 | $51,981 | $49,000 | 25 | $49,000 | $59,109 | $23,864 |
| 2023 | $256,509 | $-3,370 | $26,831 | $25,000 | 17 | $25,000 | $4,729 | $20,976 |
| 2022 | $286,710 | $4,046 | $26,751 | $24,000 | 17 | $24,000 | $4,046 | $21,247 |
| 2021 | $309,415 | $36,043 | $48,023 | $45,000 | 22 | $45,000 | $36,043 | $26,907 |
| 2020 | $320,795 | $8,062 | $27,462 | $24,500 | 15 | — | $8,046 | $18,524 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation reported a distributable amount of $26K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its grants include support for opera companies, a historical society, a college, food banks, and other charitable organizations. The grantees describe their work in varied terms: Seattle Opera says its mission is to “thrill, inspire and educate” through opera, while Tulsa Opera says it furthers public appreciation of music, particularly opera, and conducts educational programs. World Central Kitchen describes its work as providing meals in response to humanitarian, climate, and community crises. Fredericksburg Regional Food Bank says it works to feed the hungry through a community-wide partner network and engage the community in ending hunger.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation awarded $49,000 across 30 grants. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $8,000, with a median of $1,000. It also awarded $49,000 across 25 grants in 2024 and $25,000 across 17 grants in 2023.
The largest 2025 grant listed was $8,000 to the Metropolitan Opera for its general fund. Other listed awards included $3,000 each to San Francisco Opera, Seattle Opera, Washington State Historical Society, and Tulsa Opera; and $2,000 each to City of Hope Org, Tavon Learning Center, Stew Pot Community Services, and World Central Kitchen. World Central Kitchen’s grant was designated for Gaza. The foundation also awarded $1,000 to organizations including St. Mary of the Annunciation Church, Fredericksburg Regional Food Bank, and Thomas Aquinas College.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Mike Wise, Julia Lord, and Allison Wise as trustees.
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Allison Wise
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Julia Lord
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Mike Wise
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation
How much does Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation give each year?
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation gave $49K across 30 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $49K across 25 grants.
What is Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's typical grant size?
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,633, across 30 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation that year got $1K on average.
Where does Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation give grants?
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's top state is New York, with 18% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Washington (16%) and Virginia (16%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (4 grants), Richmond, VA (3 grants) and New York, NY (2 grants).
Does Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 93% of Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (28 of 30) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's largest grantees?
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Metropolitan Opera ($8,000), San Francisco Opera ($3,000) and Seattle Opera ($3,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 29% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation?
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation reported $225K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $49K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $26K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its grants include support for opera companies, a historical society, a college, food banks, and other charitable organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests; it states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's EIN?
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 91-1746644. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 3, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 13, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 4, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 8, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
Live grants for the work Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
Lansdowne, VA
The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.
Assets
$940.1M
Grants
1,419
Total Given
$25.1M
Donors Trust Inc
Alexandria, VA
Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
919
Total Given
$282.1M
The Community Foundation Inc
Richmond, VA
The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$852.4M
Grants
917
Total Given
$61.8M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.
Assets
$2.3M
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
Foster Foundation
Brookneal, VA
Assets
$18.6M
Grants
686
Total Given
$1.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Virginia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Richard B & Barbara B Odlin Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?