Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation
The Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation is a private foundation based in Honolulu, Hawaii. Its 2025 filing reports grants to educational institutions, including grants designated for scholarships and a grant for “Jetta Zimmerman Nursing.”
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation at a glance
In short: Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation gave $778K across 85 grants in 2025 (avg $9K), mostly in Hawaii. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $777,983
- +22.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 85
- -11.5% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $9,153
- +37.9% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $6,000
- Total assets
- $13,356,893
- +12.3% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Hawaii (71% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026.
How to apply to Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation
- How to Apply
-
Contact the Hawaii Community Foundation. The filing lists application materials and award restrictions as “see footnote,” and deadlines as “N/A.”
- Contact
Application contact: Hawaii Community Foundation
Mailing address: 827 Fort Street Mall, Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 566-5570
Email: scholarshpis@hcf-hawaii.org
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Hawaii Foundation ($241K).
Organizations only. It also paid 84 grants to individuals ($536,930), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
272 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 268 grants of 272 (99%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, Hawaii recipients received 71% of grant dollars. Other leading recipient states were Washington (8%), California (6%), Oregon (3%), and Connecticut (2%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 85 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−7%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 96% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $619K (2020) to $838K (2022). In 2025 it made 85 grants totaling $778K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Hawaii Foundation Honolulu, HI | Jetta Zimmerman Nursing | $241,053 |
| 49 grants to individuals Recipients not named | — | $346,530 |
Ready to take the next step with Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
The foundation’s filing reports the following financials:
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $13,356,893 | $2,480,385 | $1,026,735 | $777,983 | 85 | $873,996 | $2,372,079 | $907,903 |
| 2024 | $11,891,590 | $1,418,221 | $840,767 | $637,250 | 96 | $726,597 | $1,309,424 | $836,831 |
| 2023 | $11,298,153 | $638,928 | $978,524 | $784,671 | 89 | $870,620 | $535,334 | $755,328 |
| 2022 | $11,634,045 | $658,854 | $1,042,179 | $838,203 | 1 | $931,915 | $561,538 | $752,607 |
| 2021 | $12,003,655 | $1,086,272 | $953,917 | $733,424 | 1 | $830,726 | $973,732 | $882,400 |
| 2020 | $11,846,590 | $984,036 | $819,105 | $619,045 | 205 | — | $892,429 | $801,112 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation reported a distributable amount of $908K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The available information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants include scholarship support for universities and colleges. The University of Hawaii Foundation, which received the foundation’s largest reported 2025 grant, describes its own mission as raising philanthropic support and managing investments to benefit the University of Hawaii, the people of Hawaii, and future generations. Chaminade University of Honolulu, another 2025 recipient, describes its own mission as providing an education in a collaborative learning environment that prepares students for life, work, and service.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 85 grants totaling $777,983. Grants ranged from $2,500 to $241,053, with a median of $6,000. The largest grant was $241,053 to the University of Hawaii Foundation for “Jetta Zimmerman Nursing.” Other notable grants included $10,000 to the University of Hawaii at Manoa for a scholarship and $9,500 to Chaminade University of Honolulu for a scholarship.
The foundation’s 2025 filing states that it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. It lists the Hawaii Community Foundation as the contact for application inquiries. The filing refers to a footnote for application materials and award restrictions; those details are not provided here.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's only listed officer is Bank Of Hawaii, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
Bank Of Hawaii
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$130K (2020) → $109K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $109K, to Bank of Hawaii (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation
How much does Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation give each year?
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation gave $778K across 85 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $637K across 96 grants.
What is Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's typical grant size?
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $6,000, and its average grant was $9,153, across 85 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation give grants?
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation gives mostly in Hawaii: 71% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Washington (8%) and California (6%).
Does Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 85 grants with a stated purpose on Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (82 grants).
How large is Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation?
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation reported $13.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $874K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $908K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation fund?
The available information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants include scholarship support for universities and colleges. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation?
Contact the Hawaii Community Foundation. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's EIN?
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 99-6006669. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 8, 2026)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 16, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 1, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 7, 2022)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
Arlington, VA
AACP supports pharmacy education and research, including scholarships for pharmacy students and educational research by AACP members. Its 2025 grants were typically $20,000 (ranging from $10,000 to $40,000) and went to pharmacy schools and related institutions across the U.S. and Puerto Rico. Unsolicited requests are not addressed in the profile.
Assets
$13.7M
Grants
19
Total Given
$430K
WF & Blanche E West Educational & Coffman JF
Chehalis, WA
The foundation primarily funds scholarships at colleges and universities, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in Washington and smaller amounts to organizations in other states. It awarded $179,667 across 44 grants in 2025; grants ranged from $667 to $41,000, with a median of $1,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$3.3M
Grants
44
Total Given
$180K
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Deloitte Foundation
Stamford, CT
The Deloitte Foundation funds U.S. education initiatives, including scholarships, curriculum and faculty support, mentoring, and grants to education nonprofits and universities, particularly through local programs in about 30 selected locations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and it does not accept unsolicited requests for its Local Impact Grant Program.
Assets
$51.4M
Grants
121
Total Given
$32.5M
More similar funders
More Funders in Hawaii
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 15, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/hans-and-clara-zimmerman-foundation-morg_3e7c41238ca34749b9fa7253e97d19b7
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_996006669_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/hans-and-clara-zimmerman-foundation-morg_3e7c41238ca34749b9fa7253e97d19b7},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-15. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Hans and Clara Zimmerman Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?