Ecog Research & Education
Ecog Research & Education is a private foundation, based in Philadelphia, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $88.7M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $43K. Net investment income was $2.9M.
Ecog Research & Education at a glance
In short: Ecog Research & Education gave $43K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $11K), mostly in New York. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $43,000
- -9.5% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- +33.3% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $10,750
- -32.1% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $8,750
- Total assets
- $88,739,125
- +1.3% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- New York (58% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Ecog Research & Education funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 3 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Icahn School of Medicine ($25K). Together the top 3 received $36K.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($7,500), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
15 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 15 grants of 15 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Ecog Research & Education gives
- Giving fell 25% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 426% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2019) to $58K (2022). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $43K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Icahn School of Medicine New York, NY | Young Investigator Award | $25,000 |
| Research America Arlington, VA | General Donation | $10,000 |
| 1 grant to individuals Recipients not named | — | $7,500 |
| Highland Park Families Manchester, CT | General Donation | $500 |
Ready to take the next step with Ecog Research & Education?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $88,739,125 | $24,696,161 | $26,350,150 | $43,000 | 4 | $19,371,954 | $2,894,855 | $4,549,604 |
| 2024 | $87,623,267 | $15,655,570 | $18,529,583 | $47,500 | 3 | $17,352,156 | $3,503,050 | $4,261,883 |
| 2023 | $91,466,374 | $19,208,795 | $20,206,191 | $42,500 | 3 | $23,825,400 | $2,708,151 | $4,539,625 |
| 2022 | $97,301,756 | $17,530,439 | $18,419,265 | $57,500 | 3 | $19,206,310 | $372,951 | $5,035,515 |
| 2021 | $102,166,634 | $32,879,017 | $32,295,721 | $32,000 | 2 | — | $269,024 | $4,826,182 |
| 2020 | $91,029,873 | $32,300,208 | $31,931,060 | — | — | — | $615,281 | $4,012,441 |
| 2019 | $79,361,908 | $33,766,477 | $33,483,520 | $10,000 | 1 | — | $607,422 | $3,876,576 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ecog Research & Education reported a distributable amount of $4.5M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Ecog Research & Education is led by Peter J. O'Dwyer MD, President & Chair on every filing since 2019; none of the 10 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Peter J. O'Dwyer MD
President & Chair
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Al Bowen Benson Iii Md Facp
Director & Manager
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Kirkwood MD
Director
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Gray PhD
Director
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Habermann MD
Director
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Bruce Giantonio MD
Manager
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Donna Marinucci
Secretary, Treasurer & Manager
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Joseph Sparano MD
Manager
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Pj Flynn
Manager
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Suresh S. Ramalingam MD
Manager
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Janice Dutcher MD (2019) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Ecog Research & Education
How much does Ecog Research & Education give each year?
Ecog Research & Education gave $43K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $48K across 3 grants.
What is Ecog Research & Education's typical grant size?
Ecog Research & Education's median grant in 2025 was $8,750, and its average grant was $10,750, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Ecog Research & Education give grants?
Ecog Research & Education gives mostly in New York: 58% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Virginia (23%) and Wisconsin (17%).
Does Ecog Research & Education give general operating support?
Yes: 50% of Ecog Research & Education's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (2 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
How large is Ecog Research & Education?
Ecog Research & Education reported $88.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $19.4M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $4.5M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Ecog Research & Education's EIN?
Ecog Research & Education's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 39-1723095. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(8)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 12, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024
Other open foundation grants in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Ecog Research & Education's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Intuitive Foundation
Sunnyvale, CA
The Intuitive Foundation funds medical and technology research, robotic-surgery training, and STEM and healthcare pathways, supporting eligible nonprofits in the United States and worldwide. Giving varies widely: 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $2.8 million, with a median of about $52,000; clinical research grants offer up to $75,000 per project. It accepts unsolicited online requests, reviewed quarterly.
Assets
$122.7M
Grants
104
Total Given
$12.6M
PKD Foundation
Kansas City, MO
The PKD Foundation funds PKD-related research, care-team services, education, and patient support, primarily through grants to U.S. universities, medical centers, and research institutes; it also gives special consideration to some research partnerships in Canada and Australia. Recent grants typically had a median award of $70,000, while research grants are structured at $120,000 per year for two years; applicants may submit a pre-application, but only invited applicants can submit a full research application.
Assets
$37.0M
Grants
38
Total Given
$2.6M
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$5.0B
Grants
624
Total Given
$189.6M
Ernst & Young Foundation
New York, NY
Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$47.6M
Grants
637
Total Given
$16.7M
President and Fellows of Harvard College
Cambridge, MA
Harvard’s grantmaking primarily supports research and education, including research awards and sub-awards to universities, hospitals, and research institutes. In 2025, it reported 352 grants ranging from $5,002 to $27.4 million, with a median of $123,018; recipients were concentrated in Massachusetts, which received 64% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Harvard accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$79.9B
Grants
352
Total Given
$273.3M
The Taylor Foundation
McDonough, GA
The Taylor Foundation funds nonprofits focused on Christian faith, family values, children, senior care, healthcare, education, and American heritage, with grants across multiple states, especially Maine and Georgia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $400,526, with a median of $2,750. It says requests must be submitted in writing.
Assets
$9.2M
Grants
84
Total Given
$1.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Pennsylvania
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Ecog Research & Education's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Ecog Research & Education down — hundreds of funders to go?