Dobbins Foundation
Dobbins Foundation is a private foundation, based in Highlands Ranch, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $532K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $27K. Net investment income was $37K.
Dobbins Foundation at a glance
In short: Dobbins Foundation gave $27K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in Colorado. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $26,583
- +343.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 8
- +100.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $3,323
- +121.5% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,525
- Total assets
- $531,649
- +2.0% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Colorado (57% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Dobbins Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Colorado Gives Foundation ($14K). Together the top 8 received $27K.
Grant Size Distribution
96 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 96 grants of 96 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
Cities
How Dobbins Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−18%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 86% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $6K (2024) to $56K (2021). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $27K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Colorado Gives Foundation Arvada, CO | Colorado Symphony and Denver Art Museum | $13,883 |
| Historic District Development Corporation Atlanta, GA | Charitable Operating Support | $4,000 |
| Pro Publica Inc New York, NY | Charitable Operating Support | $1,750 |
| Latin American Association Inc Atlanta, GA | Charitable Operating Support | $1,750 |
| Familytime Crisis Counseling Center Humble, TX | Charitable Operating Support | $1,300 |
| Humble Area Assistance Ministry (Haam) Humble, TX | Charitable Operating Support | $1,300 |
| Lord of the Streets Outreach Houston, TX | Charitable Operating Support | $1,300 |
| St John's Cathedral Denver, CO | Charitable Operating Support | $1,300 |
Ready to take the next step with Dobbins Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $531,649 | $39,606 | $31,288 | $26,583 | 8 | $28,665 | $37,383 | $33,460 |
| 2024 | $521,331 | $15,814 | $13,051 | $6,000 | 4 | $6,012 | $13,599 | $31,052 |
| 2023 | $518,568 | $40,854 | $28,657 | $28,472 | 29 | $28,482 | $40,679 | $28,197 |
| 2022 | $531,521 | $9,544 | $34,375 | $32,350 | 31 | $32,350 | $16,296 | — |
| 2021 | $531,202 | $91,458 | $57,202 | $55,500 | 24 | — | $91,458 | — |
| 2020 | $468,946 | $22,418 | $31,374 | $29,500 | 10 | — | $22,418 | $27,463 |
| 2019 | $505,704 | $91,541 | $27,575 | $24,500 | 28 | — | $90,003 | $25,139 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Dobbins Foundation reported a distributable amount of $33K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Dobbins Foundation is led by Julia E Dobbins, Treasurer & President - since 2025 (on filings since 2019); none of the 7 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Julia E Dobbins
Treasurer & President -
Treasurer → Treasurer & President -, 2025
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael A. Dobbins
President -
President → President -, 2025
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Andrea K. Badot
Trustee
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
George C. Dobbins
Trustee
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jeb A. Dobbins
Trustee
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Margaret P. Dobbins
Trustee
Trustee → Treasurer, 2020
Treasurer → Trustee, 2023
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Christopher A. Dobbins
Secretary
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Dobbins Foundation
How much does Dobbins Foundation give each year?
Dobbins Foundation gave $27K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $6K across 4 grants.
What is Dobbins Foundation's typical grant size?
Dobbins Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,525, and its average grant was $3,323, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Dobbins Foundation give grants?
Dobbins Foundation gives mostly in Colorado: 57% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Georgia (22%) and Texas (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Atlanta, GA (2 grants) and Humble, TX (2 grants).
Does Dobbins Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 88% of Dobbins Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (7 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Dobbins Foundation's largest grantees?
Dobbins Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Colorado Gives Foundation ($13,883), Historic District Development Corporation ($4,000) and Pro Publica Inc ($1,750), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 74% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Dobbins Foundation?
Dobbins Foundation reported $532K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $29K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $33K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Dobbins Foundation's EIN?
Dobbins Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-6031755. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(8)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 13, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 16, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 7, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 7, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 30, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 14, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025
Other open foundation grants in Colorado
Colorado Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Dobbins Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Prologis Foundation
Denver, CO
Prologis Foundation supports organizations addressing human welfare, education and career opportunity, food access, community needs, and disaster relief, with grants across the U.S. and the largest 2024 shares going to California, Georgia, Illinois, Colorado, and Massachusetts. In 2024, grants ranged from $153 to $455,000, with a median of $10,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$59.6M
Grants
100
Total Given
$2.7M
Mile High United Way Inc
Denver, CO
Mile High United Way funds nonprofit and community work focused on children’s development and education, basic needs, and economic opportunity, primarily in seven Metro Denver counties. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,022 to $2,001,772, with a median of $15,026. It offered a competitive Strategic Investment Grants application for the 2025–2027 cycle, but that cycle’s deadline has passed; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$80.2M
Grants
314
Total Given
$24.3M
Schlessman Foundation Inc
Denver, CO
The Schlessman Foundation funds nonprofits serving Denver Metro residents, with priorities including workforce development, education, senior care, food security, disability services, and homelessness support. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $1 million, with a median of $17,500; it supports Colorado organizations and accepts no unsolicited requests, giving only to preselected charities.
Assets
$86.4M
Grants
116
Total Given
$6.8M
The Imlay Foundation Inc
Atlanta, GA
The Imlay Foundation supports community organizations, especially smaller Atlanta charities, in areas including health, housing and homelessness, refugee services, education, and arts and heritage. It focuses mainly on Metro Atlanta; first-time grants are generally $10,000–$15,000, and its 2025 median grant was $30,000. It makes grants only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$56.6M
Grants
146
Total Given
$7.0M
United Way of Greater Atlanta Inc
Atlanta, GA
United Way of Greater Atlanta funds data-informed, community-driven work in early learning, education and career readiness, economic stability, and children’s well-being, including direct services, systems change, and nonprofit capacity building. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,630 to $4,823,453, with a median of $50,000, and it funds work only in Greater Atlanta’s 13-county service area. Nonprofits can register in its grants portal and apply for opportunities as they open; the profile does not say whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$118.6M
Grants
203
Total Given
$36.4M
Tull Charitable Foundation Inc
Atlanta, GA
The Tull Charitable Foundation supports Metro Atlanta nonprofits—especially those advancing racial equity, serving under-resourced communities, and building nonprofit capacity; its 2024 grants ranged from $400 to $200,000, with a median of $3,000. Its 2026 Rebuild Grants offer up to $100,000 to eligible nonprofits, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$88.1M
Grants
151
Total Given
$3.5M
More similar funders
More Funders in Colorado
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Dobbins Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Dobbins Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?