Children's Heart Foundation logo

Children's Heart Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Northbrook, IL EIN: 36-4077528 Website

The mission of the Children's Heart Foundation (CHF) is to advance the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of congenital heart defects (CHDS) by funding the most promising research.

Children's Heart Foundation at a glance

In short: Children's Heart Foundation gave $1.8M across 9 grants in 2024 (avg $198K), top state Pennsylvania. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$1,780,000
+24.0% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
9
+28.6% vs 2023
Average grant
$197,778
-3.5% vs 2023
Median grant
$200,000
Total assets
$3,173,238
-0.8% vs 2023
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (22% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to Children's Heart Foundation

Who Children's Heart Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 8 recipients in 2024

American Heart Association: $300KAmerican Heart Association$300KGeoriga Tech Corporation: $300KGeoriga Tech Corporation$300KPerelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania: $200KPerelman School of Medicine atthe University of Pennsylvania$200KChildren's Hospital of Philadelphia: $200KChildren's Hospital ofPhiladelphia$200KColumbia University Irving Medical Center: $160KColumbia University IrvingMedical Center$160KUniversity of Michigan Heart Center: $143KUniversity of Michigan HeartCenter$143KCincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center: $143KCincinnati Children's HospitalMedical Center$143KAmerican Academy of Pediatrics: $35KAmerican Academy of Pediatrics$35K

The largest 2024 recipient was American Heart Association ($300K). Together the top 8 received $1.5M.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($300,000), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

30 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K$50–100K15$100–250K10$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 15 grants of 30 (50%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

Ann ArborDallasItascaAtlantaBostonNew YorkPhiladelphiaBaltimoreBloomingtonCincinnatiLos AngelesMilwaukeeSan FranciscoMinneapolis

How Children's Heart Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 136% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M4 grants2020 4 grants2021 6 grants2022 7 grants2023 9 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $734K (2020) to $1.8M (2024). In 2024 it made 9 grants totaling $1.8M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
American Heart Association Dallas, TXCongenital Heart Disease Research$300,000
1 grant to individuals Recipients not named —$300,000
Georiga Tech Corporation Atlanta, GADr. Thangam natarajan was given a 2 year grant.$300,000
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PADr. Yuli kim was given a 2 year grant funded in partnership with mend a heart foundation.$200,000
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Philadelphia, PADr. Benjamin smood was given a 2 year grant.$200,000
Columbia University Irving Medical Center New York, NYDr. Yun zhang was given a 2 year grant.$160,000
University of Michigan Heart Center Ann Arbor, MICardiac Networks United Grant$142,500
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center Cincinnati, OHCardiac Netorks United Grant$142,500
American Academy of Pediatrics Itasca, ILCardiology and Cardiac Surgery Research Fellowship Award$35,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Children's Heart Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$3,173,238$3,610,008$3,880,946$1,780,0009$75,268
2023$3,197,751$3,378,951$3,133,076$1,435,0007$14,549
2022$3,615,825$3,888,384$3,018,754$1,421,7136$4,020
2021$2,685,601$2,829,307$2,550,795$754,1534$188
2020$1,986,794$2,304,515$2,388,463$734,3264$1,037

About Children's Heart Foundation

Based on IRS filings

Children's Heart Foundation is a public charity, based in Northbrook, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $3.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 9 grants totaling $1.8M. Net investment income was $75K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Children's Heart Foundation is led by Abigail Roddie-Hamlin, President & CEO on every filing since 2021; 2 of 17 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Abigail Roddie-Hamlin

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $102K (2021) → $184K (2024)

  • Jeff Franco

    Interim CEO

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $60K (2024)

  • Tamara Thomas

    Board Chair

    Immediate Past Board Chair → Member, 2022

    Member → Board Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Danielle Pradas

    Member

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Bolotin

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Costello

    Member

    Medical Advisory Council in Trng → Medical Advisory Council I, 2021

    Medical Advisory Council I → Member, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathryn Osteen

    Chair Elect

    Member → Chair Elect, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kelly Wittich

    Member

    Advocacy Chair → Member, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kevin Slawin

    Immediate Past Board Chair

    Director → Board Chair, 2021

    Board Chair → Immediate Past Board Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lori Jones

    Secretary

    Secretary in Training → Secretary, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sally Powers

    Member

    Secretary → Member, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Roach

    Member

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Young

    Member

    On filings since 2023

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew Schoenholtz

    Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Ghanayem

    Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tawanna Williams

    Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Lyman

    Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Martha Hauber (2020–2023) — Immediate Past Board Chair
  • Former: Tawanna Nishibayahsi (2022–2023) — Member
  • Former: Tierra Lemon (2022–2023) — Senior Director of Finance & Operations
  • Former: Farrah Watson (2020–2021) — Director of Finance
  • Former: Jennifer Romano (2020–2021) — Medical Advisory Council L
  • Former: Melissa Alexander (2020–2021) — Member
  • Former: John Gilardi (2021) — Director of Finance
  • Former: Barbara Newhouse (2020) — Chief Executive Officer

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Abigail Roddie-Hamlin — President & CEO Through 9/30/2024: $184KAbigail Roddie-HamlinPresident & CEO Through…$184KJeff Franco — Interim CEO Began 10/1/2024: $60KJeff FrancoInterim CEO Began 10/1/2024$60K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $184K, to Abigail Roddie-Hamlin (President & CEO Through 9/30/2024). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Children's Heart Foundation

How much does Children's Heart Foundation give each year?

Children's Heart Foundation gave $1.8M across 9 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $1.4M across 7 grants.

What is Children's Heart Foundation's typical grant size?

Children's Heart Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $200,000, and its average grant was $197,778, across 9 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Children's Heart Foundation give grants?

Children's Heart Foundation's top state is Pennsylvania, with 22% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Texas (17%) and Minnesota (17%). The most frequent recipient cities were Philadelphia, PA (2 grants).

Does Children's Heart Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on Children's Heart Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

Who are Children's Heart Foundation's largest grantees?

Children's Heart Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include American Heart Association ($300,000), Georiga Tech Corporation ($300,000) and Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania ($200,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($300,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 45% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Children's Heart Foundation?

Children's Heart Foundation reported $3.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.6M.

What is Children's Heart Foundation's EIN?

Children's Heart Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-4077528. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 29, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 11, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 20, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Children's Heart Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Seattle Children's Hospital

Seattle, WA

Seattle Children’s funds pediatric medical research, education, healthcare access, mental health and children’s health initiatives; its external Crossett Fund supports projects benefiting children and youth in Southeast Alaska. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,326 to $15.3 million, with a median of $57,582, while Crossett awards are capped at $10,000. The Crossett Fund accepts applications year-round; other unsolicited requests are not described.

Assets

$6.0B

Grants

181

Total Given

$56.3M

Yale University

New Haven, CT

Yale University funds sponsored research, education and institutional programs, student aid, and charitable or community support, with 2025 grants ranging from $3,000 to $14.3 million and a median of about $136,000. Grants went to recipients in multiple states, with the largest shares in Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania. The information does not state whether Yale accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$58.9B

Grants

364

Total Given

$168.2M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA

CHOP primarily funds pediatric research at universities, hospitals, and research organizations, and also supports employee-led health projects in communities served by CHOP and its Care Network in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. In 2025, it awarded 138 grants totaling about $50.3 million; the median grant was about $115,000, with awards ranging from about $5,800 to $14 million. The profile does not state whether CHOP accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$9.1B

Grants

138

Total Given

$50.3M

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Inc

Charlestown, MA

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center funds patient care, medical research, and health care education, with grants also supporting related community needs and infrastructure. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $132,000, though awards ranged widely; 79% of grant dollars went to Massachusetts recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$4.8B

Grants

148

Total Given

$91.2M

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Children's Heart Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Children's Heart Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?