Carilion Giles Community Hospital

Public charity · Grantmaker Roanoke, VA EIN: 54-0549603

Our mission is to improve the health of the communities we serve through our commitment to a common purpose of better patient care, better community health, and lower cost.

Carilion Giles Community Hospital at a glance

In short: Carilion Giles Community Hospital gave $78K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $19K), mostly in Virginia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$77,758
+13.3% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
4
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$19,440
+13.3% vs 2024
Median grant
$11,250
Total assets
$71,176,882
+41.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Virginia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Carilion Giles Community Hospital funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2025

Free Clinic of the New River Valley: $49KFree Clinic of the New RiverValley$49KGiles Co Christian Service Mission: $15KGiles Co Christian ServiceMission$15KGiles Health and Family Center: $8KGiles Health and Family Center$8KTown of Narrows: $6KTown of Narrows$6K

The largest 2025 recipient was Free Clinic of the New River Valley ($49K). Together the top 4 received $78K.

Grant Size Distribution

15 grants across all recorded years

15<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 15 grants of 15 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

States

Cities

PearisburgChristiansburgNarrows

How Carilion Giles Community Hospital gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+20%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K$80K2 grants2019 2 grants2020 1 grant2021 3 grants2022 3 grants2023 4 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $44K (2021) to $78K (2025). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $78K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Free Clinic of the New River Valley Christiansburg, VAFacility Use$49,258
Giles Co Christian Service Mission Pearisburg, VAHealthy Food Access$15,000
Giles Health and Family Center Pearisburg, VAMedical Transportation$7,500
Town of Narrows Narrows, VAEvent Sponsorship$6,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Carilion Giles Community Hospital?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$71,176,882$136,582,151$111,815,145$77,7584$926,283
2024$50,438,018$100,000,623$101,325,456$68,6144$779,523
2023$51,744,714$97,569,672$98,740,788$69,9423$218,569
2022$54,545,788$84,948,316$89,856,606$64,8453$472,589
2021$58,560,580$73,409,699$77,145,586$43,5391$1,376,022
2020$49,015,367$42,506,341$41,160,869$50,6852$389,656
2019$40,889,029$36,289,651$36,056,965$49,3482$192,434

About Carilion Giles Community Hospital

Based on IRS filings

Carilion Giles Community Hospital is a public charity focused on Health, based in Roanoke, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $71.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $78K. Net investment income was $926K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Carilion Giles Community Hospital is led by Richard McCoy, Director & Chair since 2024 (on filings since 2019); 7 of 29 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Richard McCoy

    Director & Chair

    Director & Vice Chair → Director, Chair & Vice Chair, 2023

    Director, Chair & Vice Chair → Director & Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kristie Williams

    Director & Hospital Vice President

    On filings since 2019

    37.5 hrs/week

    $172K (2019) → $283K (2025)

  • Veronica Stump

    Director

    Nursing Director → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    $114K (2019) → $0 (2025)

  • Christina Salazar

    Nursing Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    50 hrs/week

    $161K (2025)

  • Jennifer Bailey

    Senior Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    50 hrs/week

    $147K (2025)

  • Andrew Wagner

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris McKlarney

    Director & Vice Chair

    Director → Director & Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Hartley

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Melissa Stump

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael A. McMahon MD

    Director

    Director & Vice Chair → Director & Chair, 2020

    Director & Chair → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Priscilla Morris

    Director

    Director & Chair → Director, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Jennell

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Flattery

    Director, Secretary, Treasurer & Vice President

    Director, Secretary & Treasurer → Director, Secretary, Treasurer & Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christopher Hansen Od

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Timothy Meredith

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jose Rivero MD

    Director & Physician

    Director → Director & Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Bailey DO

    Director & Physician

    Director → Director & Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Mills Jr.

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Senthil Marimuthu

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1.2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy Westmoreland

    Pharmacy Manager

    On filings since 2019

    50 hrs/week

    $164K (2019) → $194K (2025)

  • Clarence Pearson MD

    Physician

    On filings since 2022

    50 hrs/week

    $217K (2022) → $460K (2025)

  • Sarah Kurstedt

    Physician Assistant

    On filings since 2022

    50 hrs/week

    $126K (2022) → $147K (2025)

  • Danielle Ogle

    Nurse Practitioner

    On filings since 2024

    50 hrs/week

    $136K (2024) → $153K (2025)

  • Donald Halliwill

    Assistant Treasurer, Executive Vice President & CFO

    Assistant Treasurer → Assistant Treasurer, Executive Vice President & CFO, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • G. Robert Vaughan Jr.

    Assistant Treasurer & Senior Vice President

    Assistant Treasurer → Assistant Treasurer & Senior Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicholas Conte

    Secretary, Executive Vice President & Clo

    Assistant Secretary → Secretary, Executive Vice President & Clo, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Smith-Hamilton

    Assistant Secretary

    On filings since 2022

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • J. Harrison Lapuasa

    Assistant Treasurer

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Roger Roper

    Vice President

    New on the 2025 filing

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (23)
  • Former: David Hagadorn (2019–2024) — Former Officer
  • Former: India Thomas (2023–2024) — Regional Practice Director
  • Former: C Anthony Needham II (2019–2023) — Director & Chair
  • Former: Nancy Howell Agee (2019–2023) — CEO & Carilion Clinic
  • Former: Shannon Lucas (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Steven Arner (2019–2023) — COO & Carilion Clinic
  • Former: Elizabeth Clark (2022–2023) — Rn Team Lead
  • Former: Tim Auwarter (2023) — Vice President Diagnostics & Therapeutics
  • Former: Michael Helvey DO (2020–2022) — Physician
  • Former: Edward Bradley (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Jennifer Bennett Grube MD (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Angela Lilly (2020–2021) — Nurse Practitioner
  • Former: Anne Campbell (2021) — Physician Assistant
  • Former: Jocelyn Gibson (2021) — Physician Assistant
  • Former: Susan Lucas (2021) — Assistant Secretary
  • Former: Kenneth Walker MD (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: George McGuire (2020) — Director
  • Former: Shirley Petreye (2020) — Nurse Practitioner
  • Former: Jeffrey Goode MD (2019) — Director
  • Former: John Tamminen MD (2019) — Director
  • Former: Lauren Schantz (2019) — Assistant Secretary
  • Former: Sandra K. Hayes (2019) — Nurse Practitioner
  • Former: Winston Faust (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Clarence Pearson MD — Physician: $460KClarence Pearson MDPhysician$460KKristie Williams — Director/Hospital VP: $283KKristie WilliamsDirector/Hospital VP$283KAmy Westmoreland — Pharmacy Manager: $194KAmy WestmorelandPharmacy Manager$194KChristina Salazar — Nursing Director: $161KChristina SalazarNursing Director$161KDanielle Ogle — Nurse Practitioner: $153KDanielle OgleNurse Practitioner$153KJennifer Bailey — Senior Director: $147KJennifer BaileySenior Director$147KSarah Kurstedt — Physician Assistant: $147KSarah KurstedtPhysician Assistant$147K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $460K, to Clarence Pearson MD (Physician). 7 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Carilion Giles Community Hospital

How much does Carilion Giles Community Hospital give each year?

Carilion Giles Community Hospital gave $78K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $69K across 4 grants.

What is Carilion Giles Community Hospital's typical grant size?

Carilion Giles Community Hospital's median grant in 2025 was $11,250, and its average grant was $19,440, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Carilion Giles Community Hospital give grants?

Carilion Giles Community Hospital gives mostly in Virginia: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Pearisburg, VA (2 grants).

Does Carilion Giles Community Hospital give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Carilion Giles Community Hospital's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

How large is Carilion Giles Community Hospital?

Carilion Giles Community Hospital reported $71.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $136.6M.

What is Carilion Giles Community Hospital?

Carilion Giles Community Hospital is a public charity focused on Health, based in Roanoke, VA. It holds $71.2M in total assets as of 2025.

What is Carilion Giles Community Hospital's EIN?

Carilion Giles Community Hospital's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-0549603. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 15, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 18, 2026)
  3. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 16, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 16, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 15, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 15, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 15, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Carilion Giles Community Hospital's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Virginia

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

The Nature Conservancy

Arlington, VA

The Nature Conservancy funds conservation work, including land and easement acquisition, research, planning, organizational capacity, and sustainable agriculture, across the United States and internationally. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $31,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $2.1 million; some regional programs offer grants of up to $100,000.

Assets

$10.1B

Grants

671

Total Given

$67.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Virginia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Carilion Giles Community Hospital's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Carilion Giles Community Hospital down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?