Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity logo

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity

Public charity · Grantmaker Caldwell, ID EIN: 82-0457658 Website

The Foundation was created for the purpose of the promotion, assistance, improvement and extension of public education for the students, graduating students, teachers, administrators and pre-school children residents of Caldwell School District No. 132.

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity at a glance

In short: Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity gave $29K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $29K), mostly in Idaho. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$29,246
+71.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$29,246
+71.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$29,246
Total assets
$3,095,173
+14.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Idaho (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity

Who Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Caldwell School District: $29KCaldwell School District$29K

The largest 2025 recipient was Caldwell School District ($29K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Caldwell

How Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity gives

  • Giving grew 287% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $8K (2022) to $29K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $29K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Caldwell School District Caldwell, IDStudent publications travel etc$29,246
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$3,095,173$554,983$171,317$29,2461$183,479
2024$2,711,557$286,038$126,660$17,0261$136,470
2023$2,552,104$372,816$109,813$16,3581$126,372
2022$2,289,101$336,614$99,427$7,5571$98,850
2021$2,051,914$445,374$90,362$16,0351$77,838
2020$1,696,902$239,637$77,827$10,8761$64,671

About Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity

Based on IRS filings

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity is a public charity, based in Caldwell, ID. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $3.1M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $29K. Net investment income was $183K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity is led by William F Gigray, President on every filing since 2020; 1 of 16 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • William F Gigray

    President

    On filings since 2020

    2.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anita Wilson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Baughman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chuck Stout

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karl P Baughman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ted Colwell

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marisela Pesina

    Executive Officio Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerid Hammer

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kyle Collins

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matt McDaniel

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rich Augustus

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Nelms

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shalene French

    Executive Officio Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erin Sullivan Smith

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    5.6 hrs/week

    $4K (2025)

  • John P Dean

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    9.6 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Josh Engler

    Vice President

    Director → Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (11)
  • Former: Chuck Randolph (2020–2024) — Secretary
  • Former: Joan Van Schoiack (2020–2024) — Vice President
  • Former: DrShalene French (2021–2024) — Executive Officio Director
  • Former: Anne OHagan -Whitwood (2024) — Director
  • Former: Steve Maughan (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Will Gigray (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Betsy Hunsicker (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Arnold Hernandez (2020) — Director
  • Former: Bill Buckendorf (2020) — Director
  • Former: Greg Allington (2020) — Director
  • Former: Kerry Pagenkoph (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Erin Sullivan Smith — Secretary: $4KErin Sullivan SmithSecretary$4K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $4K, to Erin Sullivan Smith (Secretary).

Frequently asked questions about Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity

How much does Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity give each year?

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity gave $29K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $17K across 1 grant.

How large is Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity?

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity reported $3.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $555K.

Where does Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity operate?

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity has awarded grants in Idaho.

What is Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity's EIN?

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-0457658. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 28, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS September 4, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 20, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 16, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 20, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS September 21, 2025)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Idaho

Idaho Community Foundation Inc

Boise, ID

The Idaho Community Foundation funds Idaho nonprofits, community organizations, and public entities in areas including health, housing, education, arts and culture, the environment, and community benefit. Its 2024 grants had a median of $14,082; its regional program typically awards $3,000–$8,000, with requests capped at $25,000. It accepts applications through specific programs and its online portal, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$260.6M

Grants

348

Total Given

$12.8M

Blue Cross of Idaho Foundation

Meridian, ID

The Blue Cross of Idaho Foundation for Health funds Idaho programs addressing root causes of health, with a focus on community, education, and healthcare. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $300,000, with a median of $1,000, and its work reaches all 44 Idaho counties. It generally funds preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$80.7M

Grants

282

Total Given

$4.1M

Simplot Company Foundation Inc

Boise, ID

The Simplot Company Foundation supports arts, education, youth, community, health and human services, and food and agriculture programs, with most recent funding going to Idaho organizations. Its 2026 grants ranged from $500 to $494,613, with a median of $2,000. Although its website invites proposals for quarterly review, its 2025 filing says it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$147.9M

Grants

134

Total Given

$3.8M

Idaho Power Foundation Inc

Boise, ID

The foundation funds health and human services, arts and culture, and civic and community needs in Southern Idaho, Eastern Oregon, and Northern Nevada. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $100,000, with a median of $2,500. It does not limit giving to preselected organizations; applications are available by request.

Assets

$5.4M

Grants

110

Total Given

$679K

St Luke's Health System Ltd

Boise, ID

St. Luke’s Health System funds nonprofit programs and community-focused events that improve health, with priority for needs identified in its community health assessments and social factors such as housing, behavioral health, and access to care. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,682 to $3.1 million, with a median of $14,576; funding supports communities across Idaho, including the Magic Valley. It provides an online application route for grant and sponsorship requests, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.6B

Grants

96

Total Given

$6.7M

The Gibney Family Foundation Inc

Meridian, ID

The Gibney Family Foundation primarily funds programs promoting independence, employment, and quality of life for people who are blind or visually impaired, while also supporting family and community needs and disability programs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $68,825, with a median of $5,500; it funds organizations in communities where family members live across the U.S. It does not accept unsolicited requests: a family grant sponsor must contact the organization and collaborate on a potential project.

Assets

$35.3M

Grants

87

Total Given

$1.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Idaho

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Caldwell Foundation for Educational Opportunity down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?