Beaverdale Foundation
Beaverdale Foundation is a private foundation based in Chicago, Illinois. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations in areas including food assistance, conservation, public media, the arts, humanitarian relief, and other services.
Beaverdale Foundation at a glance
In short: Beaverdale Foundation gave $365K across 26 grants in 2025 (avg $14K), top state Minnesota. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $365,000
- +12.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 26
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $14,038
- +12.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $12,500
- Total assets
- $8,425,243
- +10.2% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 0% first-time grantees (0 of 26, 2025)
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (32% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Beaverdale Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
- Contact
Mailing address: 910 South Michigan Avenue 1703, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone: (312) 550-5831
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Beaverdale Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was The Conservation Fund ($45K). Together the top 10 received $220K.
Grant Size Distribution
129 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 126 grants of 129 (98%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 grants went to organizations in multiple states and Washington, DC. By share of grant dollars, Minnesota received 32%, DC 18%, Virginia 16%, Massachusetts 14%, and Illinois 11%.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 26 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Beaverdale Foundation open to new grantees?
0%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 0 of 26 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. How we count
- 96% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+12%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 95% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $265K (2020) to $365K (2025). In 2025 it made 26 grants totaling $365K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Conservation Fund Arlington, VA | General Operations | $45,000 |
| Capital Area Food Bank Washington, DC | General Operations | $25,000 |
| Greater Boston Food Bank Boston, MA | General Operations | $25,000 |
| Greater Chicago Food Depository Chicago, IL | General Operations | $25,000 |
| Second Harvest Heartland Brooklyn Park, MN | General Operations | $25,000 |
| Doctors Without Borders New York, NY | General Operations | $15,000 |
| Minnesota Orchestra Minneapolis, MN | General Operations | $15,000 |
| Nature Conservancy - MN ND & SD Minneapolis, MN | General Operations | $15,000 |
| Twin Cities Public TV St. Paul, MN | General Operations | $15,000 |
| Weta (DC Public Television) Arlington, VA | General Operations | $15,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Beaverdale Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $8,425,243 | $571,168 | $448,548 | $365,000 | 26 | $367,148 | $496,668 | $386,727 |
| 2024 | $7,643,898 | $449,100 | $403,000 | $325,000 | 26 | $327,003 | $377,940 | $364,968 |
| 2023 | $7,047,099 | $335,925 | $386,388 | $320,000 | 26 | $321,702 | $267,426 | $323,155 |
| 2022 | $6,199,268 | $253,399 | $409,173 | $325,000 | 26 | $326,675 | $186,145 | $327,564 |
| 2021 | $8,125,803 | $713,783 | $358,877 | $285,000 | 25 | $286,200 | $644,904 | $337,617 |
| 2020 | $6,401,133 | $251,484 | $324,693 | $265,000 | 24 | — | $193,715 | $270,532 |
| 2019 | $5,865,817 | $137,802 | $330,232 | $270,000 | 24 | — | $79,446 | $268,224 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Beaverdale Foundation reported a distributable amount of $387K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for food banks, conservation, public media, an orchestra, humanitarian relief, home repair, children’s legal services, and reproductive health care.
Several grantees describe their own work as addressing food access and hunger: Capital Area Food Bank says its mission is to help neighbors thrive through more equitable access to food and opportunity; Second Harvest Heartland says its mission is to end hunger together; and the Greater Chicago Food Depository says its mission is to end hunger. World Central Kitchen describes its work as providing meals in response to humanitarian, climate, and community crises. These are the grantees’ descriptions of their missions, not statements of the foundation’s mission.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 26 grants totaling $365,000. Grant amounts ranged from $5,000 to $45,000, with a median of $12,500. Its largest reported grants included $45,000 to The Conservation Fund and $25,000 each to Capital Area Food Bank, Greater Boston Food Bank, Greater Chicago Food Depository, and Second Harvest Heartland. Other notable grants were $15,000 each to Doctors Without Borders, Minnesota Orchestra, Nature Conservancy - MN ND & SD, Twin Cities Public TV, WETA, WGBH, and World Central Kitchen.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists seven directors: C Hadlai Hull, John Dalrymple Hull, Thomas Stoddard Hull, Clifton Grinnell Hull, Kathryn Hull Meek, Chase Dalrymple Hull, and Andrea Stuart Hall.
Beaverdale Foundation's 2025 filing lists 7 officers; none of the 7 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Chase Dalrymple Hull
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Clifton Grinnell Hull
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Dalrymple Hull
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kathryn Hull Meek
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Stoddard Hull
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrea Stuart Hall
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
C. Hadlai Hull
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Charles Hadlai Hull (2019) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Beaverdale Foundation
How much does Beaverdale Foundation give each year?
Beaverdale Foundation gave $365K across 26 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $325K across 26 grants.
What is Beaverdale Foundation's typical grant size?
Beaverdale Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $12,500, and its average grant was $14,038, across 26 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Beaverdale Foundation give grants?
Beaverdale Foundation's top state is Minnesota, with 32% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were District of Columbia (18%) and Virginia (16%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (5 grants), Minneapolis, MN (5 grants), Boston, MA (3 grants) and Arlington, VA (2 grants).
Does Beaverdale Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 92% of Beaverdale Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (24 of 26) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Beaverdale Foundation's largest grantees?
Beaverdale Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include The Conservation Fund ($45,000), Capital Area Food Bank ($25,000) and Greater Boston Food Bank ($25,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 26% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Beaverdale Foundation?
Beaverdale Foundation reported $8.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $367K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $387K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Beaverdale Foundation fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for food banks, conservation, public media, an orchestra, humanitarian relief, home repair, children’s legal services, and reproductive health care. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Beaverdale Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Beaverdale Foundation's EIN?
Beaverdale Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-7073398. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does Beaverdale Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 7, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 24, 2026)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 29, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 26, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 2, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 27, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 12, 2024)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Beaverdale Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Gannett Foundation Inc
New York, NY
Gannett Foundation’s 2025 grants supported a range of organizations, with listed awards generally between $1,500 and $2,500, though the available figures do not establish a typical grant size or geographic focus. The foundation has wound down: its 2026 filing reports no grants or assets, and no current application process or acceptance of unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
—
Grants
32
Total Given
$65K
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
The foundation funds community needs, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with a Twin Cities program focused on hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000; its Twin Cities program focuses on Minneapolis–St. Paul, while grants also went to organizations elsewhere. The Strategic Industry program is invitation-only, while the Twin Cities program has an application process.
Assets
$18.2M
Grants
87
Total Given
$4.0M
AbbVie Foundation
North Chicago, IL
The AbbVie Foundation funds health equity, access to care, cancer care, community health, and related community-led programs through partnerships and employee initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,000 to $15 million, with a median of $25,000; it supports work worldwide, with the largest share of recent grants going to Illinois. It makes grants only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$265.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$47.1M
United Way Worldwide
Alexandria, VA
United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$68.0M
Grants
209
Total Given
$11.4M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Beaverdale Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 15, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/beaverdale-foundation-morg_8737772bd88540a18306c35099b5f16f
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_527073398_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Beaverdale Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/beaverdale-foundation-morg_8737772bd88540a18306c35099b5f16f},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-15. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Beaverdale Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Beaverdale Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?