American Warrior Association logo

American Warrior Association

Public charity · Grantmaker Fort Worth, TX EIN: 82-4397332 Website

The association's mission is to honor the military, veterans, first responders and their families in mind, body, and soul. The awa uses a holistic approach to healing by strengthening the mind, body, and soul so that each warrior can live a healthy and full life.

Key facts about American Warrior Association

In short: American Warrior Association gave $665K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $166K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
82-4397332
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$665,000
Grants made (2025)
4
Average grant
$166,250
Median grant
$12,500
Total assets
$1,076,229
Primary geography
Texas (95% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$1.1M

+81.9% YoY

Annual Giving

$665K

+1464.7% YoY

Grant Count

4

+33.3% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$166K

+1073.5% YoY

How American Warrior Association gives

  • Giving grew 1008% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About American Warrior Association

Based on IRS filings

American Warrior Association is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Fort Worth, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.1M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $665K. Net investment income was $11K.

Focus Areas

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with American Warrior Association?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

7states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

Cities

CambridgeFort WorthAnn ArborBostonCharlottesvilleFort CollinsHanoverLos Angeles

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K1 grant2020 Total only2021 1 grant2022 2 grants2023 3 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $4K (2021) to $665K (2025). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $665K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2025

Respond Restore Resolve: $630KRespond Restore Resolve$630KUniversity of Michigan: $15KUniversity of Michigan$15KMassachusetts Institute of Technology: $10KMassachusetts Institute ofTechnology$10KUniversity of Virginia: $10KUniversity of Virginia$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was Respond Restore Resolve ($630K). Together the top 4 received $665K.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

8<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 8 grants of 10 (80%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Respond Restore Resolve Fort Worth, TXGeneral Grant$630,000
University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MIScholarship$15,000
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MAScholarship$10,000
University of Virginia Charlottesville, VAScholarship$10,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$2M$4M$6M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,076,229$591,771$1,068,780
Revenue$4,099,073$2,072,063$1,207,594
Expenses$3,694,381$2,540,279$1,552,855
Net Investment Income$11,449$26,163$5,561

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 21, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 18, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 12, 2025)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 18, 2022)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 15, 2024)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 27, 2026)

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

American Warrior Association is led by Anna Heil, Executive Director on the 2025 filing; 3 of 12 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Anna Heil

    Executive Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    50 hrs/week

    $150K (2025)

  • John Michael Fierer

    Co-Chairman of the Board

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Robert Fierer

    Co-Chairman of the Board

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rattana Mao Partial Year

    Director of Program Development

    New on the 2025 filing

    45 hrs/week

    $98K (2025)

  • Andy Morrison

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Emanuel Citron

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jameson McIlvain

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jb Horton

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mac Miles

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Neil Noakes

    Chief of Strategic Advancement

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $102K (2025)

  • Clay Mazur

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ryan Haggerty

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (7)
  • Former: Rattana Mao (2024) — Director of Program Development
  • Former: William Spencer (2020–2023) — President & Chief Executive
  • Former: Jr Holland (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Dandy Bridges (2020–2021) — Faith-Based Program Director
  • Former: Adam Waldeck Partial Year (2021) — Treasurer
  • Former: Adam Waldeck (2020) — Treasurer
  • Former: Angel Ward (2020) — Manager of Development

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Anna Heil — Executive Director: $150KAnna HeilExecutive Director$150KNeil Noakes — Chief of Strategic Advancement: $102KNeil NoakesChief of Strategic Advancement$102KRattana Mao Partial Year — Director of Program Develo: $98KRattana Mao Partial YearDirector of Program Develo$98K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $150K, to Anna Heil (Executive Director). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about American Warrior Association

How much does American Warrior Association give each year?

American Warrior Association gave $665K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $43K across 3 grants.

What is American Warrior Association's typical grant size?

American Warrior Association's median grant in 2025 was $12,500, and its average grant was $166,250, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does American Warrior Association give grants?

American Warrior Association gives mostly in Texas: 95% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there.

Does American Warrior Association give general operating support?

Yes: 25% of American Warrior Association's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (3 grants).

How large is American Warrior Association?

American Warrior Association reported $1.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $4.1M.

What is American Warrior Association?

American Warrior Association is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Fort Worth, TX. It holds $1.1M in total assets as of 2025.

What is American Warrior Association's EIN?

American Warrior Association's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-4397332. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching American Warrior Association by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in American Warrior Association's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Universities Research Association Inc

Washington, DC

URA primarily supports university research, research facilities, education, and STEM workforce development, with 2025 grants going to universities in multiple U.S. states. Its typical grant was about $15,000 (2025 median; awards ranged from $5,059 to $39,243), and it also offers a visiting scholars program with awards up to $50,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$23.0M

Grants

21

Total Given

$361K

Grantham Foundation for the Protection

Boston, MA

The Grantham Foundation for the Protection funds climate and environmental research, advocacy, and solutions, including clean energy, regenerative agriculture, toxicity, and carbon removal. Its 2024 grants ranged from $11,000 to $4.5 million, with a median of $500,000, and went to organizations in multiple locations, including Washington, DC, New York, Massachusetts, and California. It accepts proposals by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$613.2M

Grants

83

Total Given

$67.0M

National Academy of Sciences

Washington, DC

The National Academy of Sciences funds research and related scientific work, with 2024 grants going mainly to universities and research institutions across the United States. Its typical grant was about $132,000, though awards ranged from about $15,000 to $5.2 million. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.6B

Grants

98

Total Given

$32.1M

The G Harold & Leila Y Mathers

Rye Brook, NY

The G. Harold & Leila Y. Mathers Foundation funds bold basic life-sciences research with potential to improve human health, including areas such as immunology, cancer biology, genetics, and neuroscience. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $277,200, with a median of $225,000; eligible institutions and research teams must be based in the United States. It accepts applications through an online two-step process, with institutional nomination required before submitting a letter of inquiry.

Assets

$107.9M

Grants

103

Total Given

$17.3M

The Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research

New York, NY

The Michael J. Fox Foundation funds basic, translational, and clinical Parkinson’s research and drug development, supporting researchers at universities, companies, and nonprofit research institutions in the U.S. and internationally. Its 2025 grants had a median award of about $426,000, with amounts ranging from $5,850 to $16.6 million. It does not accept unsolicited proposals generally; applicants should apply to a relevant open funding program.

Assets

$639.2M

Grants

149

Total Given

$201.5M

William T Grant Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The William T. Grant Foundation funds social-science research to reduce inequality in young people’s outcomes and improve the use of research evidence, as well as capacity-building for youth-serving nonprofits in New York City. Recent grants ranged from $3,660 to $497,580, with a median of $79,025; specific programs offer $25,000–$50,000, $100,000–$1 million, or $60,000 over three years. Research grants go to organizations in multiple states, while youth-service grants are limited to New York City’s five boroughs; applications are submitted through its online system, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$420.0M

Grants

159

Total Given

$17.7M

Alzheimer's Disease Research Foundation

Wellesley Hills, MA

The fund supports research aimed at preventing, slowing, or reversing Alzheimer’s disease, including work on genetics, biomarkers, amyloid, tau, and the immune system. Typical 2026 grants are $201,250 per year for one to two years, supporting institutions across the United States. It does not accept unsolicited proposals, but welcomes letters of inquiry from tenure-track professors at accredited institutions.

Medical Research

Assets

$43.2M

Grants

161

Total Given

$33.8M

Research Corporation dba Research

Tucson, AZ

Research Corporation for Science Advancement funds innovative basic research, primarily in the physical sciences, and supports academic scientists and science education at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Its 2024 grants ranged from $74 to $193,142, with a median of $55,000. Applicants may apply through specific grant programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$241.5M

Grants

165

Total Given

$8.0M

Wellcome Leap Inc

San Diego, CA

Wellcome Leap funds time-limited, large-scale research programs focused on breakthroughs in human health, including infectious disease, maternal and infant health, mental health, and healthy aging, with projects spanning the U.S. and other countries. In 2025, grants had a median of about $687,000 and ranged from $907 to $5.6 million. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests, though it accepts program-specific submissions.

Medical Research

Assets

$731.9M

Grants

171

Total Given

$145.9M

Northeastern University

Boston, MA

Northeastern University’s reported grants largely support research and related projects through subawards to universities, research organizations, and nonprofits. In 2025, its 183 grants ranged from $5,114 to $6.84 million, with a median of $75,296; recipients were concentrated in Massachusetts, Washington, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Alabama. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$6.8B

Grants

183

Total Given

$46.1M

The George Washington University

Ashburn, VA

The George Washington University’s reported grants are primarily subaw awards supporting education, scholarly research, research support, and community-engaged scholarship, with recipients including universities, research organizations, and community organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $3.42 million, with a median of about $131,000; Nashman Faculty Development awards are generally $2,000–$5,000. Funding went mainly to recipients in Washington, D.C., and several other states, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$5.5B

Grants

191

Total Given

$54.1M

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY

Cornell funds education, research—especially research grants—medical services, and public-service activities, with grants concentrated in New York and also reaching recipients across the U.S. In 2025, its grants ranged from $5,043 to $5.66 million, with a median of about $96,000. The profile does not state whether Cornell accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$19.8B

Grants

338

Total Given

$126.7M

More Funders in Texas

American Warrior Association down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?