Afghan Learning Academy

Private foundation · Grantmaker Alexandria, VA EIN: 83-4310106

Afghan Learning Academy is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Alexandria, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $82K.

Afghan Learning Academy at a glance

In short: Afghan Learning Academy gave $82K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $82K), mostly in Virginia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$82,262
+91.3% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$82,262
+91.3% vs 2024
Median grant
$82,262
Primary geography
Virginia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Afghan Learning Academy funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

KRD: $82KKRD$82K

The largest 2025 recipient was KRD ($82K).

Grant Size Distribution

3 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K1$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 3 (33%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Alexandria

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K0 grants2020 1 grant2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $43K (2024) to $153K (2021). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $82K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
KRD Alexandria, VAEducational support$82,262
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Afghan Learning Academy?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrants
2025—$79,537$1,515$82,2621
2024$14,692$37,674$43,000$43,0001
2023—$64,905$85,200——
2022—$28,090$36,855——
2021$53,677$185,794$154,020$152,5001
2020—$99,711$104,331——

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Afghan Learning Academy is led by Abdullah Ayazi, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 9 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Abdullah Ayazi

    President

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Asghar Ayazi

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hamayoon Ayubi

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Najib Sharifi

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ahmadzia Ayubi

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shahmahmood Yousofi

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mariam Ayubi

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Qudsia Ayubi

    Vice President

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Zeeya Pashtoon

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Afghan Learning Academy

How much does Afghan Learning Academy give each year?

Afghan Learning Academy gave $82K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $43K across 1 grant.

What is Afghan Learning Academy?

Afghan Learning Academy is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Alexandria, VA.

Where does Afghan Learning Academy operate?

Afghan Learning Academy has awarded grants in Virginia.

What is Afghan Learning Academy's EIN?

Afghan Learning Academy's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 83-4310106. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 6, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 5, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 12, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 16, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 25, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 28, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Afghan Learning Academy's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Virginia

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

The Nature Conservancy

Arlington, VA

The Nature Conservancy funds conservation work, including land and easement acquisition, research, planning, organizational capacity, and sustainable agriculture, across the United States and internationally. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $31,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $2.1 million; some regional programs offer grants of up to $100,000.

Assets

$10.1B

Grants

671

Total Given

$67.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Virginia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Afghan Learning Academy's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Afghan Learning Academy down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?