West Virginia University Medical Corporation
To support the West Virginia University School of Medicine in the furtherance of its charitable, scientific, and educational purposes by serving as its faculty practice plan and providing a full range of business management services to its faculty in support of their clinical practices.
West Virginia University Medical Corporation at a glance
In short: West Virginia University Medical Corporation gave $23.6M across 2 grants in 2024 (avg $11.8M), mostly in West Virginia. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $23,559,990
- +7.6% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 2
- +100.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $11,779,995
- -46.2% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $11,779,995
- Total assets
- $285,214,951
- +14.3% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- West Virginia (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who West Virginia University Medical Corporation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was West Virginia University ($23.6M). Together the top 2 received $23.6M.
Grant Size Distribution
7 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was $5M or more: 5 grants of 7 (71%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How West Virginia University Medical Corporation gives
- Giving fell 30% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $21.9M (2023) to $33.6M (2021). In 2024 it made 2 grants totaling $23.6M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| West Virginia University Morgantown, WV | Support | $23,550,490 |
| WV Chapter American College of Emergency Physicians Wheeling, WV | Sponsorship | $9,500 |
Ready to take the next step with West Virginia University Medical Corporation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $285,214,951 | $954,634,085 | $948,595,207 | $23,559,990 | 2 | $2,186,863 |
| 2023 | $249,482,310 | $769,572,060 | $763,360,292 | $21,891,972 | 1 | $3,190,502 |
| 2022 | $248,561,218 | $691,155,457 | $683,095,738 | $24,379,251 | 1 | $2,513,286 |
| 2021 | $234,685,147 | $655,420,491 | $644,938,229 | $33,646,858 | 2 | $4,791,460 |
| 2020 | $212,648,584 | $571,153,959 | $567,301,002 | $22,624,576 | 1 | $741,748 |
About West Virginia University Medical Corporation
Based on IRS filings
West Virginia University Medical Corporation is a public charity focused on Health, based in Morgantown, WV. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $285.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 2 grants totaling $23.6M. Net investment income was $2.2M.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
West Virginia University Medical Corporation is led by Kathryn Moffett-Bradford MD, Director & Chair - Pediatric Infectious Diseases since 2023 (on filings since 2020); 27 of 28 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Kathryn Moffett-Bradford MD
Director & Chair - Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Director → Director & Chair - Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$171K (2020) → $227K (2024)
Vinay Badhwar MD
Executive Chair Heart Vascular Institute
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$2.5M (2020) → $3.4M (2024)
Hannah Hazard MD
Director - Executive Chair Director Wvu Cancer Institute
Director → Director - Executive Chair Director Wvu Cancer Institute, 2023
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$534K (2021) → $740K (2024)
Christopher Goode MD
Director & Secretary - Chairman Emergency Medicine
Director → Director - Chairman Emergency Medicine, 2023
Director - Chairman Emergency Medicine → Director & Secretary - Chairman Emergency Medicine, 2024
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$475K (2022) → $492K (2024)
Michael Ang-Rabanes
Director Starting - Chairperson Som Eastern Division Behavioral Medicine & Psychiatry
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$469K (2024)
Arif Sarwari MD
Director - Infectious Diseases
Director → Director - Infectious Diseases, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$363K (2020) → $269K (2024)
Jessica Hott DO
Director
Director → Director - Ob & Gyn, 2023
Director - Ob & Gyn → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$423K (2020) → $714K (2024)
William Lewis MD
Director
Director → Director - Family Medicine, 2023
Director - Family Medicine → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$289K (2020) → $356K (2024)
Nathan Lerfald MD
Director - Internal Medicine
Director → Director & Secretary - Internal Medicine, 2023
Director & Secretary - Internal Medicine → Director - Internal Medicine, 2024
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$357K (2021) → $520K (2024)
Jeffrey Lancaster MD
Director - Section Chief & Pedicatrics
Director → Director - Section Chief & Pedicatrics, 2023
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$221K (2022) → $298K (2024)
Matthew Dietz MD
Director - Orthopaedic Surgery
Director Starting - Orthopaedic Surgery → Director - Orthopaedic Surgery, 2024
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$722K (2023) → $846K (2024)
Ali Rezai MD
Physician
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$1.4M (2020) → $2.2M (2024)
Darin Rogers
Vice President Provider Network Services
Chief Ambulatory Operations Officer & Vice President Provider Network Services → Vice President Provider Network Services, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$225K (2020) → $238K (2024)
John Caruso MD
Physician
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$1.3M (2020) → $1.6M (2024)
Kevin Halbritter MD
Vice President Population Health
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$481K (2020) → $505K (2024)
Mathis Frick MD
Physician - Former Key Employee
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$658K (2020) → $745K (2024)
Michael Edmond MD
CMO
Director - Non Voting & CMO → CMO, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$44K (2020) → $521K (2024)
Ronald Pellegrino MD
Chief Operating Officer
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$550K (2020) → $571K (2024)
Stephen Hoffman MD
Vice President Clinical Programs
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$412K (2020) → $497K (2024)
Christopher Mascio MD
Physician
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$1.2M (2021) → $1.9M (2024)
JonDavid Pollock MD
Physician
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$1.5M (2022) → $1.7M (2024)
Aaron Henry
Vice President & Ambulatory Operations
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$255K (2023) → $294K (2024)
Bill Underwood MD
Physician
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$1.3M (2023) → $1.7M (2024)
Colleen Beatty
Director Starting - Assistant Professor Som Dermatology
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$517K (2024)
John Orphanos
Assistant Professor Som Neurosurgery
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$1.5M (2024)
Richard Ward
Director Starting - Assistant Professor Som Eastern Division Family Medicine Ls
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$359K (2024)
Taylor Troischt
Director Starting - Assistant Professor Som Pediatrics
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$283K (2024)
Clay Marsh MD
Voting Ex-Officio, Vice President & Executive Dean Som
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (17)
- Former: Alison Wilson MD (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Judie Charlton MD (2020–2023) — CMO
- Former: Robert Marsh MD (2020–2023) — Physician
- Former: Emma Morton-Eggleston MD (2020–2022) — Director - Non Voting
- Former: Lawrence Wei MD (2020–2022) — Physician
- Former: Chris Cook MD (2020–2021) — Physician
- Former: Henry Kurban MD (2020–2021) — Director - Non Voting & CMO Eastern Division
- Former: Larry Rhodes MD (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Michael Hurst MD (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Sanford Emery MD (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Stanley Zaslau MD (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Gary Harter MD (2021) — Physician
- Former: Jerome Saul MD (2020) — Physician - Former Officer & Key Employee
- Former: Joyce Turpen (2020) — Chief Business Planning Officer
- Former: Karis Wolfe (2020) — Chief Business Planning Officer
- Former: Karyn Wallace (2020) — Vice President Neuroscience
- Former: Richard Goldberg MD (2020) — Cancer Institute Director Jan-April Physician
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $3.4M, to Vinay Badhwar MD (Executive Chair Heart Vascular Institute). 27 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about West Virginia University Medical Corporation
How much does West Virginia University Medical Corporation give each year?
West Virginia University Medical Corporation gave $23.6M across 2 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $21.9M across 1 grant.
How large is West Virginia University Medical Corporation?
West Virginia University Medical Corporation reported $285.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $954.6M.
What is West Virginia University Medical Corporation?
West Virginia University Medical Corporation is a public charity focused on Health, based in Morgantown, WV. It holds $285.2M in total assets as of 2024.
Where does West Virginia University Medical Corporation operate?
West Virginia University Medical Corporation has awarded grants in Kentucky, West Virginia.
What is West Virginia University Medical Corporation's EIN?
West Virginia University Medical Corporation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 55-0492006. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 11, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 11, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 13, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in West Virginia University Medical Corporation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in West Virginia
American Heart Association Inc
Dallas, TX
The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
833
Total Given
$198.2M
Virginia Grim Tuw
Saint Louis, MO
Virginia Grim Tuw funds scholarships for students, with recent grants ranging from $2,700 to $4,000; its 2024 filing says applicants must be residents of Winchester-Frederick or Clarke County, Virginia, and meet financial-need and GPA requirements. Recent grants went to recipients in Virginia, West Virginia, Tennessee, New York, and Ohio. The filing lists an online application, but does not explicitly state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$815K
Grants
12
Total Given
$40K
Sergeant Philip German Memorial Fdn CTW
Buffalo, NY
The Sergeant Philip German Memorial Foundation funds scholarships, with 2024 grants ranging from $2,119 to $9,150 and a median of $2,550. Recipients were mainly in Pennsylvania, with others in several states, including South Carolina, Maryland, Arizona, and North Carolina. It accepts written requests to Diane Rimer on an ongoing basis and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$1.4M
Grants
23
Total Given
$68K
Om and Saraswati Bahethi Foundation USA Inc
Vienna, VA
The foundation funds scholarships for gifted students pursuing postsecondary STEM studies and science and math education programs at qualifying institutions. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $12,192, with a median of $2,000, and went mainly to organizations in Virginia, with grants also reaching several other states. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$483K
Grants
16
Total Given
$56K
President and Fellows of Harvard College
Cambridge, MA
Harvard’s grantmaking primarily supports research and education, including research awards and sub-awards to universities, hospitals, and research institutes. In 2025, it reported 352 grants ranging from $5,002 to $27.4 million, with a median of $123,018; recipients were concentrated in Massachusetts, which received 64% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Harvard accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$79.9B
Grants
352
Total Given
$273.3M
McGarvey Orpha J Char Tr
Pittsburgh, PA
Assets
$3.0M
Grants
4
Total Given
$142K
More similar funders
More Funders in West Virginia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from West Virginia University Medical Corporation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
West Virginia University Medical Corporation down — hundreds of funders to go?