West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc logo

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Elbow Lake, MN EIN: 41-0904808 Website

Empowering people while providing services and resources that impact individuals and communities.

Key facts about West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc

In short: West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc gave $246K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $27K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
41-0904808
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$246,255
Grants made (2025)
9
Average grant
$27,362
Median grant
$17,000
Total assets
$6,343,290
Primary geography
Minnesota (62% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$6.3M

-4.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$246K

-49.4% YoY

Grant Count

9

+80.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$27K

-71.9% YoY

How West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc gives

  • Giving grew 135% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc

Based on IRS filings

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Elbow Lake, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $6.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $246K. Net investment income was $79K.

Open Grants

2 open opportunities from West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

St. PaulDuluthMankatoBlaineFargoMinneapolisMoorheadWaite ParkZumbrota

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K0 grants2019 0 grants2020 0 grants2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 5 grants2024 9 grants2025

From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $105K (2022) to $487K (2024). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $246K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2025

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops: $93KUnited States Conference ofCatholic Bishops$93KMinnesota Valley Action Council: $40KMinnesota Valley ActionCouncil$40KLakes and Prairies Community Action Partnership: $34KLakes and Prairies CommunityAction Partnership$34KNeighborhood Development Alliance Inc: $24KNeighborhood DevelopmentAlliance Inc$24KTri-County Action Program Inc: $17KTri-County Action Program Inc$17KThree Rivers Community Action Inc: $14KThree Rivers Community ActionInc$14KEmerge: $11KEmerge$11KCommunity Action Duluth: $7KCommunity Action Duluth$7KMN8: $6KMN8$6K

The largest 2025 recipient was United States Conference of Catholic Bishops ($93K). Together the top 9 received $246K.

Grant Size Distribution

16 grants across all recorded years

12<$50K1$50–100K1$100–250K2$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 12 grants of 16 (75%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops Fargo, NDProgram Support$93,197
Minnesota Valley Action Council Mankato, MNFaim Coaching$40,000
Lakes and Prairies Community Action Partnership Moorhead, MNProgram Support$34,058
Neighborhood Development Alliance Inc St. Paul, MNFaim Coaching$24,000
Tri-County Action Program Inc Waite Park, MNFaim Coaching$17,000
Three Rivers Community Action Inc Zumbrota, MNFaim Coaching$14,000
Emerge Minneapolis, MNFaim Coaching$11,000
Community Action Duluth Duluth, MNFaim Coaching$7,000
MN8 St. Paul, MNFaim Coaching$6,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$5M$10M$15M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$6,343,290$6,625,033$6,807,466
Revenue$12,869,676$13,079,247$12,153,443
Expenses$12,871,817$13,363,068$12,083,607
Net Investment Income$78,770$84,037$49,134

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 2, 2023)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 30, 2024)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 4, 2025)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 4, 2026)
  5. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc is led by Michelle Becker-Cook, Chief Executive Officer on every filing since 2019; 3 of 19 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Michelle Becker-Cook

    Chief Executive Officer

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $102K (2019) → $146K (2025)

  • Ken Johnson

    Chair

    Member → Vice Chair, 2023

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Heather Carlson

    Fiscal Services Director

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $50K (2020) → $96K (2025)

  • James Haugen

    Head Start Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $103K (2025)

  • Bob Staples

    Treasurer

    Member → Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Donny Wohlers

    Member

    Chair → Past Chair, 2023

    Past Chair → Member, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Keith Englund

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Keith Swanson

    Member

    Chair → Member, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marlene Cihlar

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michelle Rinke

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robin McNamar

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teresa Gustafson

    Past Chair

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2023

    Chair → Past Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hannah Michaelson

    Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jessica Boyer

    Secretary

    Member → Secretary, 2022

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charity Bullick

    Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerrel Olson

    Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Larry Lindor

    Vice Chair

    Member → Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Adam Palan

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Way

    Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (11)
  • Former: Janel Mendoza (2019–2024) — Member
  • Former: Cody Rogahn (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Stella Troszczynski (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Lori Triebenbach (2022–2023) — Member
  • Former: Dave Salberg (2023) — Member
  • Former: Al Glaeseman (2019–2022) — Secretary
  • Former: David Salberg (2019–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Michael Pattee (2019–2021) — Member
  • Former: Tammy Boushek (2019–2021) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Carol Boyer (2019–2020) — CFO
  • Former: Elisabeth Kirchner (2019) — Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Michelle Becker-Cook — Chief Executive Officer: $146KMichelle Becker-CookChief Executive Officer$146KJames Haugen — Head Start Director: $103KJames HaugenHead Start Director$103KHeather Carlson — Fiscal Services Director: $96KHeather CarlsonFiscal Services Director$96K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $146K, to Michelle Becker-Cook (Chief Executive Officer). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc

How much does West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc give each year?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc gave $246K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $487K across 5 grants.

What is West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's typical grant size?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's median grant in 2025 was $17,000, and its average grant was $27,362, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc give grants?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc gives mostly in Minnesota: 62% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest state was North Dakota (38%). The most frequent recipient cities were St. Paul, MN (2 grants).

Does West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Faim Coaching" (7 grants).

Who are West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's largest grantees?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's largest 2025 grantees include United States Conference of Catholic Bishops ($93,197), Minnesota Valley Action Council ($40,000) and Lakes and Prairies Community Action Partnership ($34,058), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 68% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc reported $6.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $12.9M.

What is West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Elbow Lake, MN. It holds $6.3M in total assets as of 2025.

What is West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's EIN?

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-0904808. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Otto Bremer Trust

St. Paul, MN

The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

180

Total Given

$57.2M

Greater Green Bay Community Foundation Inc

Green Bay, WI

The Greater Green Bay Community Foundation funds nonprofit programs and projects in areas including basic needs, education, health, arts and culture, the environment, and youth development, with its general grants program serving Brown, Kewaunee, and Oconto counties. Its Funds for Greater Green Bay program typically awards up to $20,000; applicants are asked to discuss proposals with the Foundation’s Community Impact Team before applying.

Assets

$182.8M

Grants

347

Total Given

$15.6M

The Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Affinity Plus Foundation funds Minnesota nonprofits working on housing stability, financial well-being, food security, education, and other community needs, and also awards scholarships. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $30,000, with a median of $4,500; nearly all grant dollars went to Minnesota. The information provided does not state whether it accepts unsolicited community grant requests.

Education

Assets

$1.0M

Grants

52

Total Given

$426K

Head of the Lakes United Way

Duluth, MN

Head of the Lakes United Way funds community programs in health, education, and financial stability across northeastern Minnesota and northwestern Wisconsin, including Greater Duluth, Lake and Cook Counties, Ashland and Bayfield Counties, and Superior-Douglas County. In 2025, grants ranged from $7,097 to $47,928, with a median of $15,687; its 2026 application cycle is closed, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.8M

Grants

33

Total Given

$604K

Family Housing Fund

Saint Paul, MN

Family Housing Fund supports organizations working to improve housing stability, expand quality affordable housing and homeownership, and advance housing solutions through research, advocacy, and partnerships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $7,500 to $204,000, with a median of $67,500, and its work focuses on the Twin Cities and Minnesota. It describes a relationship-based process that responds to ideas, rather than requiring a written proposal by a set deadline.

Housing & Shelter

Assets

$50.7M

Grants

12

Total Given

$1.0M

Target Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

Target Foundation funds work advancing economic opportunity, equity, inclusion, and community empowerment in Minnesota and nationally and globally. Its 2024 grants ranged from $25,000 to $1.5 million, with a median of $125,000; a hometown racial equity program is open, while national grants are by invitation only. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$73.9M

Grants

125

Total Given

$23.1M

Three Rivers Community Action Inc

Zumbrota, MN

Three Rivers Community Action, inc. Is a nonprofit corporation that works with community partners to address basic human needs of people in our service area, thereby improving the quality of life of the individual, family and community.

Assets

$47.5M

Grants

3

Total Given

$1.7M

Driscoll Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Driscoll Foundation supports preselected charitable organizations across varied fields, with most of its giving going to Minnesota and some grants to organizations in other states. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Assets

$30.5M

Grants

82

Total Given

$1.1M

Southern Minnesota Initiative Foundation

Owatonna, MN

Southern Minnesota Initiative Foundation funds entrepreneurship, early childhood development, community vitality, and related community needs in a 20-county region of southern Minnesota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,169 to $100,000, with a median award of $12,000. It offers open-application grants.

Assets

$80.9M

Grants

102

Total Given

$1.9M

Share Our Strength

Washington, DC

Share Our Strength funds child nutrition and hunger-reduction efforts, including school meals, summer meals, benefits access, and family economic mobility, primarily across the United States, with some work in India. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,200 to $739,871, with a median of $20,000. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$74.5M

Grants

302

Total Given

$14.4M

Lloyd K Johnson Foundation

Duluth, MN

The Lloyd K Johnson Foundation funds social welfare, arts and culture, education, community and economic development, and environmental work benefiting people in Lake, Cook, and southern St. Louis Counties in Minnesota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $1,265,000, with a median of $15,000. It accepts applications through quarterly cycles for requests over $3,500 and year-round for smaller requests; applicants seeking more than $3,500 should contact staff before applying.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$31.3M

Grants

72

Total Given

$2.7M

Wilson Foundation

Saint Paul, MN

In 2024, the Wilson Foundation funded housing, poverty relief, workforce development, and climate and policy work, with grants ranging from $36,000 to $7.33 million and a median of $155,000. Its grants went to organizations in Pennsylvania and Minnesota, with 66% of grant dollars going to Pennsylvania and 34% to Minnesota. No application process or instructions are provided.

Assets

$88.4M

Grants

20

Total Given

$11.1M

More Funders in Minnesota

West Central Minnesota Communities Action Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?