The University of Minnesota Foundation is a Minneapolis-based nonprofit whose stated purpose is to support the University of Minnesota. The Foundation describes itself as the University’s central development office, responsible for fundraising, managing endowed funds, and distributing gifts and endowment income for donor-designated purposes.
Key facts about University of Minnesota Foundation
In short: University of Minnesota Foundation gave $304.0M across 11 grants in 2025 (avg $27.6M), mostly in Minnesota. 36% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 41-6042488
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $303,989,073
- Grants made (2025)
- 11
- Average grant
- $27,635,370
- Median grant
- $353,576
- New grantees (estimate)
- 36% first-time grantees (4 of 11, 2025)
- Total assets
- $5,473,796,088
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$5.5B
+12.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$304.0M
+7.2% YoY
Grant Count
11
+57.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$27.6M
-31.8% YoY
Is University of Minnesota Foundation open to new grantees?
36%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 11 grantees (36%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $413K; repeat grants $43M. How we count
Medians: $375K first-time, $354K repeat.
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The Foundation’s mission is “to connect passion with possibility, inspire generosity, and support greatness at the University of Minnesota.” Its website says its responsibilities include fundraising for University campuses, colleges, and programs; managing and investing endowed funds; and distributing funds for purposes designated by donors.
The 2025 grants include support for the University and its hospital and clinical programming, as well as grants to affiliated or other charitable organizations. The University Gateway Corporation says it operates a facility supporting its beneficiary organizations and the University in student recruiting, alumni relations, fundraising, and general operations. The Minnesota Landscape Arboretum Foundation says it supports charitable, plant-based scientific, and educational activities for the University’s arboretum. The Food Group Minnesota describes its mission as “fighting hunger” and “nourishing our community,” while Equity in Action Way Foundation says it collaborates with impacted communities and cross-sector partners to address complex problems. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not the Foundation’s.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the Foundation reported 11 grants totaling $303,989,073. Grant amounts ranged from $6,283 to $294,797,625; the median was $353,576. The largest grant, $294,797,625, went to the University of Minnesota to support the University. Other notable grants included $5,554,400 to Fairview Health Services for University hospital and clinical programming at M Health Fairview; $1,300,000 to University Gateway Corporation; and $806,253 to Beta of Clovia Foundation to transfer its fund balance after it established its own 501(c)(3). The Foundation also reported $353,576 to the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum Foundation and $262,500 to the University of Minnesota Alumni Association.
Ready to take the next step with University of Minnesota Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 filing reports grant-dollar shares of Minnesota 100%, Rhode Island 0%, and Washington, DC 0%. The itemized grants include recipients in Minnesota, Rhode Island, and Washington, DC.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 11 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $201.6M (2021) to $304.0M (2025). In 2025 it made 11 grants totaling $304.0M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Minnesota ($294.8M). Together the top 10 received $304.0M.
Grant Size Distribution
42 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 8 grants of 42 (19%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN | The foundation provides fund grants to and for the benefit of the university of Minnesota. | $294,797,625 |
| Fairview Health Services St. Paul, MN | Fund grants to support the university of Minnesota hospital and clinical programming at m health fairview. | $5,554,400 |
| University Gateway Corporation Minneapolis, MN | Fund grant to support the university gateway corporation - a facility that supports the university of Minnesota. | $1,300,000 |
| Beta of Clovia Foundation Saint Paul, MN | Beta of clovia foundation established their own 501(c)3. Fund grant to transfer the fund balance. | $806,253 |
| Rhode Island Hospital Foundation Providence, RI | Fund grant per donor agreement to move funds to another 501(c)3 | $547,033 |
| Minnesota Landscape Arboretum Foundation Chaska, MN | The Minnesota landscape arboretum foundation is a recognized foundation of the university of Minnesota. | $353,576 |
| University of Minnesota Alumni Association Minneapolis, MN | Fund grant to support the university of Minnesota alumni association. | $262,500 |
| The Food Group Minnesota Inc New Hope, MN | Fund grant per donor agreement to move funds to another 501(c)3 | $203,266 |
| Equity in Action Way Foundation Minneapolis, MN | Fund grant per donor agreement to move funds to another 501(c)3 | $93,880 |
| Bowen Center for the Study of the Family Washington, DC | Fund grant per charitable remainder trust agreement to make annual distribution of endowment payout. | $64,257 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
Amounts below are reported by filing year.
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grant sum | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $5,473,796,088 | $586,199,341 | $383,185,554 | $303,989,073 | 11 |
| 2024 | $4,888,350,212 | $524,006,934 | $353,145,790 | $283,517,310 | 7 |
| 2023 | $4,484,124,199 | $428,104,208 | $329,663,282 | $262,653,447 | 6 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $5,473,796,088 | $4,888,350,212 | $4,484,124,199 |
| Revenue | $586,199,341 | $524,006,934 | $428,104,208 |
| Expenses | $383,185,554 | $353,145,790 | $329,663,282 |
| Net Investment Income | $256,584,051 | $281,061,089 | $161,229,914 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 22, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 17, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 26, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 12, 2025)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 1, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Kathleen M. Schmidlkofer as president/CEO until June 30, 2025, and John Morris as president/CEO starting May 1, 2025. Listed trustees include Kenneth C. Glaser, chair; Jacqueline R. Williams-Roll, past chair; Abdul M. Omari, vice chair; Roger J. Sit, treasurer; Thomas G. Olson, secretary; Wemimo S. Abbey; and Blythe A. Brenden. Shari L. Ballard is listed as a trustee until November 7, 2024.
University of Minnesota Foundation is led by Kathleen M. Schmidlkofer, President & CEO on every filing since 2020; 13 of 61 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kathleen M. Schmidlkofer
President & CEO
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$577K (2020) → $739K (2025)
John Morris
President & CEO
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kenneth C. Glaser
Trustee & Chair
Trustee → Trustee & Vice Chair, 2023
Trustee & Vice Chair → Trustee & Chair, 2025
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Pat Mascia
Umfrea Managing Director
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$433K (2022) → $543K (2025)
Abdul M. Omari PhD
Trustee & Vice Chair
Trustee → Trustee & Vice Chair, 2025
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Beth Kieffer Leonard
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Blythe A. Brenden
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Bradford W. Wallin
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
David J. McMillan JD
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dorothy J. Bridges
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Erik M. Torgerson
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Esta E. Stecher
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jacqueline R. Williams-Roll
Trustee & Past Chair
Trustee & Vice Chair → Trustee & Chair, 2023
Trustee & Chair → Trustee & Past Chair, 2025
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John E. Lindahl
Trustee
Trustee & Vice Chair → Trustee, 2022
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Julie E. Gilbert
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kurt E. Heikkila
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lynn Casey
Trustee
Trustee & Chair → Trustee & Past Chair, 2021
Trustee & Past Chair → Trustee, 2023
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael B. Fiterman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael F. Roman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Philip E. Soran
Trustee
Trustee & Treasurer → Trustee, 2023
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rebecca A. Crooks-Stratton
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Richard T. Ostlund JD
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Roger J. Sit
Trustee & Treasurer
Trustee → Trustee & Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ross Levin
Trustee
Trustee & Past Chair → Trustee, 2021
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Shari L. Ballard
Trustee
Trustee & Chair → Trustee & Past Chair, 2023
Trustee & Past Chair → Trustee, 2025
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Theresa B. Ward
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas G. Olson
Trustee & Secretary
On filings since 2020
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Hoyt M. Hsiao
Trustee
On filings since 2021
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lynne Redleaf
Trustee
On filings since 2021
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael P. Lehan
Trustee
On filings since 2021
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Peter A. Vorbrich
Trustee
On filings since 2021
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Acooa Ellis
Trustee
On filings since 2022
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Bethany M. Owen
Trustee
On filings since 2022
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Douglas A. Huebsch
Trustee
On filings since 2022
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James K. Lee
Trustee
On filings since 2022
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mary A. Davenport
Trustee
On filings since 2022
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Darrell A. Thompson
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Laurie Marsh
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael H. Johnson
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ruth E. Johnson
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ty R. Silberhorn
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kathie Eiland-Madison
Trustee
On filings since 2024
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Opoku JD
Trustee
On filings since 2024
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Nancy W. Stefani
Trustee
On filings since 2024
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Pahoua Hoffman
Trustee
On filings since 2024
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Katherine A. Nelson PhD
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lea B. Olsen
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rebecca M. Cunningham MD
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
W. Anders Folk JD
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Wemimo S. Abbey Mpa
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
0.4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Patty
Associate Vice President
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$209K (2020) → $290K (2025)
Patricia K. Porter
Executive Vice President
Vice President → Executive Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$312K (2020) → $471K (2025)
Robert J. Burgett
Senior Advisor
Senior Vice President → Senior Advisor, 2025
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$388K (2020) → $457K (2025)
Sarah E. Youngerman
Vice President
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$235K (2020) → $292K (2025)
Steven M. Corkery
Vice President
Assistant Vice President → Associate Vice President, 2021
Associate Vice President → Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$213K (2020) → $291K (2025)
Catherine McGlinch
Senior Vice President
Associate Vice President → Senior Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$222K (2021) → $301K (2025)
Christine K. Searson
Vice President & CFO
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$220K (2021) → $388K (2025)
Kristi Flanagan Villar
Vice President
Associate Vice President → Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$217K (2022) → $291K (2025)
Travis Smith
Senior Vice President
Associate Vice President → Senior Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$288K (2023) → $319K (2025)
Michael Cohen
Vice President
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$195K (2024) → $272K (2025)
Sophia Khan
Vice President
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$166K (2024) → $303K (2025)
Former officers (31)
- Former: David C. Mortenson (2020–2024) — Trustee
- Former: David J. Meyer (2020–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Ezell Jones (2020–2024) — Trustee
- Former: James G. Aagaard (2020–2024) — Vice President
- Former: Jeff Ettinger (2023–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Joan Ta Gabel (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Margaret E. Lucas (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Penny A. Wheeler MD (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Russell Huffer (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Susan S. Hoff (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Carol Curoe (2021–2023) — Vice President
- Former: Nancy Wiser (2023) — Trustee
- Former: Jan L Sickbert (2020–2022) — Associate Vice President
- Former: Mary K Brainerd (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Richard B Beeson Jr. (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Richard L Lindstrom MD (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Ruth Bachman (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Archie J. Givens Jr. (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Deborah L. Hopp (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Erwin A. Kelen (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Jane F. Godfrey (2020–2021) — Associate Vice President
- Former: Kathleen L. Pickard (2020–2021) — Vice President & CFO
- Former: Simon Kawo Wong (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Thomas J. Anderson (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Virginia H. Morris (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Kevin F Warren JD (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Lynn Slifer (2020) — Associate Vice President
- Former: Sarah Harris (2020) — Umfrea Managing Director · Filing note: Ended oct 2019
- Former: Scott D Augustine MD (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Susan I Marvin (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Walter F Ling (2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $739K, to Kathleen M Schmidlkofer (President/CEO (Until 6/30/2025)). 13 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 200 Oak Street Se 500, Minneapolis, MN 55455-2010
Phone: (612) 624-3333
Website: https://give.umn.edu
Frequently asked questions about University of Minnesota Foundation
How much does University of Minnesota Foundation give each year?
University of Minnesota Foundation gave $304.0M across 11 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $283.5M across 7 grants.
What is University of Minnesota Foundation's typical grant size?
University of Minnesota Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $353,576, and its average grant was $27,635,370, across 11 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from University of Minnesota Foundation that year got $413K on average.
Where does University of Minnesota Foundation give grants?
University of Minnesota Foundation gives mostly in Minnesota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Minneapolis, MN (5 grants) and St. Paul, MN (2 grants).
Does University of Minnesota Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 11 grants with a stated purpose on University of Minnesota Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.
Who are University of Minnesota Foundation's largest grantees?
University of Minnesota Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include University of Minnesota ($294,797,625), Fairview Health Services ($5,554,400) and University Gateway Corporation ($1,300,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 99% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is University of Minnesota Foundation?
University of Minnesota Foundation reported $5.5B in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $586.2M.
What does University of Minnesota Foundation fund?
The Foundation’s mission is “to connect passion with possibility, inspire generosity, and support greatness at the University of Minnesota.” See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from University of Minnesota Foundation?
University of Minnesota Foundation has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check give.umn.edu for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is University of Minnesota Foundation's EIN?
University of Minnesota Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-6042488. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching University of Minnesota Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in University of Minnesota Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
The C.H. Robinson Worldwide Foundation funds community needs, economic opportunity, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with Twin Cities grants also supporting hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development in Minneapolis–St. Paul. In 2024, grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000. Strategic Industry grants are invitation-only; Twin Cities organizations can apply online, and no general policy on unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
$18.2M
Grants
87
Total Given
$4.0M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
Cargill Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Cargill Foundation funds childhood nutrition, equitable K–12 STEM education, and college and career readiness for primarily low-income youth; its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $1.5 million, with a median of $100,000. It supports eligible organizations in its designated geographic areas, including the Minneapolis–Saint Paul headquarters community, and accepts applications by invitation only—not unsolicited requests.
Assets
$307.3M
Grants
95
Total Given
$13.0M
Gannett Foundation Inc
New York, NY
Gannett Foundation’s 2025 grants supported a range of organizations, with listed awards generally between $1,500 and $2,500, though the available figures do not establish a typical grant size or geographic focus. The foundation has wound down: its 2026 filing reports no grants or assets, and no current application process or acceptance of unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
—
Grants
32
Total Given
$65K
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
More Funders in Minnesota
University of Minnesota Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?