Washington Figure Skating Club Inc
Promote the sport of figure skating. The WFSC was founded in 1938 as a member of the United States Figure Skating Association. The WFSC currently lists about 1400 members.
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc at a glance
In short: Washington Figure Skating Club Inc gave $41K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Virginia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $40,580
- +51.7% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- +100.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $10,145
- -24.1% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $11,000
- Total assets
- $1,362,147
- +7.9% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Virginia (60% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Washington Figure Skating Club Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Capital Theatre on Ice ($13K). Together the top 4 received $41K.
Grant Size Distribution
11 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 11 (91%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How Washington Figure Skating Club Inc gives
- Giving grew 132% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $18K (2022) to $100K (2021). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $41K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Capital Theatre on Ice Ashburn, VA | Support for production and training | $13,450 |
| DC Edge Synchronized Skating Teams Gaithersburg, MD | Support for production and training | $11,000 |
| Team Ashburn Synchronized Skating Inc Ashburn, VA | Support for production and training | $11,000 |
| Howard University Ice Skating Washington, DC | — | $5,130 |
Ready to take the next step with Washington Figure Skating Club Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,362,147 | $431,176 | $407,001 | $40,580 | 4 | $67,546 |
| 2024 | $1,261,839 | $395,001 | $376,879 | $26,746 | 2 | $75,518 |
| 2023 | $1,110,849 | $329,140 | $397,028 | $24,566 | 2 | $26,780 |
| 2022 | $1,053,822 | $331,311 | $297,487 | $17,500 | 2 | $97,668 |
| 2021 | $1,396,561 | $1,173,442 | $338,666 | $100,000 | 1 | $101,676 |
About Washington Figure Skating Club Inc
Based on IRS filings
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc is a public charity focused on Recreation & Sports, based in Herndon, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $41K. Net investment income was $68K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc is led by Heather Nemier, President since 2024 (on filings since 2023); none of the 15 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Heather Nemier
President
Vice President → President, 2024
On filings since 2023
16 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Courtney Crites
Director at Large
Director at Large → Secretary, 2023
Secretary → Director at Large, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ellyn Kestnbaum
Director at Large
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Eva Przygodski
Director at Large
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Judy Reiner
Director at Large
Vice President → Director at Large, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Marcia Sowles
Director at Large
Officer-At-Large → Member-At-Large, 2022
Member-At-Large → Director at Large, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Amanda Babcock
Director at Large
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Amelie Wilson-Bivera
Director at Large
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Beth Gibble
Director at Large
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Leary
Director at Large
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Vu Pham
Director at Large
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jill Cantrill
Officer at Large
Secretary → Officer at Large, 2023
On filings since 2021
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Konrad Huppi
Treasurer
On filings since 2021
8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Tigwa Davis
Secretary
Director at Large → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Susan Flinn
Vice President
On filings since 2024
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (11)
- Former: Ginger Dietrich (2021–2024) — Director at Large
- Former: Divya Ortiz (2024) — Director at Large
- Former: Dalal Badri (2021–2023) — Director at Large
- Former: Josh Carpenter (2021–2023) — Director at Large
- Former: Kathy Carpenter (2021–2023) — Director at Large
- Former: Sherry Chen (2021–2023) — President
- Former: Jennifer Abner (2022–2023) — Director at Large
- Former: Karen Knutsen (2022) — Director at Large
- Former: Juleann Fallgatter (2021) — President
- Former: Sandy McDonnell (2021) — Director at Large
- Former: Suzanne Rush (2021) — Director at Large
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Washington Figure Skating Club Inc
How much does Washington Figure Skating Club Inc give each year?
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc gave $41K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $27K across 2 grants.
What is Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's typical grant size?
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's median grant in 2025 was $11,000, and its average grant was $10,145, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does Washington Figure Skating Club Inc give grants?
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc gives mostly in Virginia: 60% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were Maryland (27%) and District of Columbia (13%). The most frequent recipient cities were Ashburn, VA (2 grants).
Does Washington Figure Skating Club Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Support for production and training" (3 grants).
How large is Washington Figure Skating Club Inc?
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $431K.
What is Washington Figure Skating Club Inc?
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc is a public charity focused on Recreation & Sports, based in Herndon, VA. It holds $1.4M in total assets as of 2025.
What is Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's EIN?
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-0681403. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Corina Higginson Trust
Charlotte Hall, MD
The Trust supports nonprofits working in areas including education, youth development, immigrant services, housing, community support, and conservation, primarily in Washington, D.C., Maryland, and Virginia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $31,500, with a median of $15,000. It says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$23K
Grants
54
Total Given
$609K
Walter a Bloedorn Foundation
Washington, DC
The Walter A. Bloedorn Foundation funds nonprofits serving vulnerable children, families, and at-risk people, with a particular focus on early childhood, children with disabilities, and families facing instability. It prioritizes the Greater Washington, DC area and typically gives $1,000–$40,000; 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $50,000, with a median of $7,500. It accepts requests throughout the year, with applications received or postmarked by December 31 considered the following spring.
Assets
$7.5M
Grants
65
Total Given
$728K
Dimick Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The foundation supports arts and theatre, youth programs, and community and family services, with most funding going to organizations in Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $12,000, with a median of $4,000. It accepts requests by letter, with materials due six weeks before a semi-annual grant meeting.
Assets
$7.5M
Grants
143
Total Given
$605K
Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation
Hackensack, MN
Assets
$48K
Grants
4
Total Given
$5K
Monumental Sports & Entertainment Foundation
Washington, DC
Monumental Sports & Entertainment Foundation supports 501(c)(3) charities working in youth sports scholarships, health and fitness, and other philanthropic areas, with a focus on the greater Washington, DC, region. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,834 to $492,427, with a median of $17,500; the foundation says organizations must submit a written request detailing how funds will be used, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.9M
Grants
57
Total Given
$2.8M
Global Impact
Washington, DC
Global Impact funds a broad range of charitable and social-impact work, including global causes, social welfare, equity, refugee assistance, and nonprofit programs. In 2025, it reported 266 grants, with a median of $75,000 and awards ranging from $6,808 to $5.85 million; grants went mainly to U.S. organizations, especially in DC, California, and New York. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$283.6M
Grants
266
Total Given
$48.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Virginia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Washington Figure Skating Club Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Washington Figure Skating Club Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?