Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson

Private foundation · Grantmaker St. Louis, MO EIN: 31-6649958

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson is a private foundation, based in St. Louis, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $2.1M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 5 grants totaling $160K. Net investment income was $134K.

Key facts about Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson

In short: Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson gave $160K across 5 grants in 2024 (avg $32K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
31-6649958
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$160,000
Grants made (2024)
5
Average grant
$32,000
Median grant
$15,000
Total assets
$2,086,779
Primary geography
Minnesota (63% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$2.1M

-1.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$160K

+0.0% YoY

Grant Count

5

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$32K

+0.0% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson reported a distributable amount of $163K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+16%). Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 104% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of all 5 itemized 2024 grant dollars.

Cities

New YorkRichardsonRochesterSt. LouisCambridge

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K5 grants20205 grants20215 grants20225 grants20235 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $136K (2020) to $160K (2024). In 2024 it made 5 grants totaling $160K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2024

Mayo Clinic: $100KMayo Clinic$100KHearing Health Foundation: $15KHearing Health Foundation$15KResearch to Prevent Blindness: $15KResearch to Prevent Blindness$15KThe Foundation Fighting Blindness: $15KThe Foundation FightingBlindness$15KThe Foundation for Barnes Jewish Hospital: $15KThe Foundation for BarnesJewish Hospital$15K

The largest 2024 recipient was Mayo Clinic ($100K). Together the top 5 received $160K.

Grant Size Distribution

25 grants across all recorded years

20<$50K3$50–100K2$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 20 grants of 25 (80%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Mayo Clinic Rochester, MNGeneral Charitable Purposes of the Organization$100,000
Hearing Health Foundation New York, NYGeneral Charitable Purposes of the Organization$15,000
Research to Prevent Blindness New York, NYGeneral Charitable Purposes of the Organization$15,000
The Foundation Fighting Blindness Richardson, TXGeneral Charitable Purposes of the Organization$15,000
The Foundation for Barnes Jewish Hospital St. Louis, MOGeneral Charitable Purposes of the Organization$15,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K20202021202220232024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$2,086,779$2,124,522$2,209,503
Revenue$156,816$106,615$116,864
Expenses$193,562$189,726$191,110
Qualifying Distributions$169,750$168,000$166,950
Net Investment Income$133,626$85,410$93,813
Distributable Amount$163,362$152,548$158,208

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson is led by David J. Bolesta, Trustee on every filing since 2020 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • David J. Bolesta

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    8 hrs/week

    $20K (2020) → $0 (2024)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2023 IRS filing

David J Bolesta — Trustee: $20KDavid J BolestaTrustee$20K

The highest reported compensation on the 2023 filing was $20K, to David J Bolesta (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson

How much does Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson give each year?

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson gave $160K across 5 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $160K across 5 grants.

What is Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's typical grant size?

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's median grant in 2024 was $15,000, and its average grant was $32,000, across 5 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson give grants?

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson gives mostly in Minnesota: 63% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were New York (19%) and Texas (9%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (2 grants).

Does Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's largest grantees?

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's largest 2024 grantees include Mayo Clinic ($100,000), Hearing Health Foundation ($15,000) and Research to Prevent Blindness ($15,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 81% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson?

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson reported $2.1M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $170K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $163K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's EIN?

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-6649958. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Hultquist Foundation

Vero Beach, FL

The Hultquist Foundation supports organizations across human services, health care, education, and community programs, with grants concentrated in Florida and also going to other states. Its 2025 awards ranged from $1,000 to $60,000, with a median grant of $10,000. It gives only to preselected charities and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.1M

Grants

32

Total Given

$294K

Barry Friedberg & Charlotte Moss Family

New York, NY

The foundation supports organizations working in health, education, the arts, public affairs, and international craft markets, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in New York. Grants ranged from $250 to $50,000, with a median of $1,500. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5M

Grants

53

Total Given

$382K

Walter Henry Freygang Foundation

Akron, OH

The foundation supports education, health care, meals for people in need, disability services, and public broadcasting. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,000 to $50,680, with a median of $7,310; the largest shares went to organizations in New Jersey, Ohio, New York, Massachusetts, and California. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.1M

Grants

86

Total Given

$735K

Fred C and Katherine B Andersen Foundation

Bayport, MN

The Fred C and Katherine B Andersen Foundation funds nonprofits working in health, housing, education, human services, basic needs, employment, civic initiatives, and environmental education, primarily in Minnesota and Wisconsin’s St. Croix Valley. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $7.71 million, with a median award of $75,000. It accepts online applications.

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

290

Total Given

$72.5M

George L Ohrstrom Foundation

Fort Lauderdale, FL

The foundation’s 2024 grants supported organizations working in medical research, conservation, education, and charitable assistance, with awards ranging from $5,000 to $400,000 and a median of $50,000. Grants went to organizations in multiple states, with the largest shares in New York, California, Florida, Massachusetts, and Virginia. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Assets

$88.3M

Grants

53

Total Given

$4.6M

Pledgeling Foundation

San Francisco, CA

Pledgeling Foundation regrants donor-directed contributions to a wide range of eligible U.S. public charities and vetted international charities, with no stated issue-area focus. Its 2024 grants had a median of $12,301 and ranged from $5,001 to $1.6 million; funding goes worldwide, with the largest share in California. It processes grants based on donor recommendations, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$13.3M

Grants

918

Total Given

$31.6M

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

St Louis Community Foundation Inc

St. Louis, MO

The St. Louis Community Foundation supports nonprofits through donor- and foundation-directed grants, with priorities including economic mobility and youth connections as well as education, health, arts, and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts ranged from $5,050 to $4 million; its regional priorities center on Greater St. Louis, especially designated high-need ZIP codes. Grant processes vary by fund, so the profile does not establish whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$494.4M

Grants

839

Total Given

$63.9M

Commerce Bancshares Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The foundation supports a broad range of charitable organizations and community projects, with 2024 grants typically small (median $1,500) but ranging from $200 to $60,500. Most funding went to Missouri, followed by Kansas and Illinois, with smaller amounts elsewhere; it says applicants should contact the program director and provide proof of 501(c)(3) status, and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

—

Grants

645

Total Given

$2.0M

Patterson Family Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The Patterson Family Foundation funds healthcare, education, and economic opportunity, including program, operating, equipment, and capital grants for organizations serving rural communities in Kansas and western Missouri, generally in counties under 50,000 residents. Its 2021 awards ranged from $144 to $2.5 million, with a median of $6,300; it says it does not accept unsolicited funding requests and contributes only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

607

Total Given

$22.3M

Midway USA Foundation Inc

Columbia, MO

MidwayUSA Foundation funds U.S. high school, college, and other youth shooting-sports teams and activities across all shooting disciplines; it does not support adult programs or non-U.S. teams. In 2024, grants ranged from $902 to $388,797, with a median of $10,601; team cash grants are generally 5% of an eligible program’s endowment balance, and coach-training grants are $1,000–$5,000. It accepts applications through its online system from eligible programs.

Assets

$359.7M

Grants

494

Total Given

$9.5M

Community Foundation of the Ozarks Inc

Springfield, MO

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks funds projects in areas including education, health, economic development, environmental sustainability, arts, and community well-being, primarily in the Springfield area and affiliate communities across the Ozarks and southern Missouri. In 2025, its 477 grants ranged from $5,065 to $1 million, with a median of $20,000. It accepts applications for eligible programs through its grant portal; criteria and deadlines vary by program.

Assets

$539.7M

Grants

477

Total Given

$21.4M

More Funders in Missouri

Vernon F Thompson & Mae E Thompson down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?