University of Louisville Foundation Inc logo

University of Louisville Foundation Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Louisville, KY EIN: 23-7078461 Website

The foundation supports the university of louisville in its effort to maintain its distinction as a premier, nationally recognized metropolitan research university while promoting the university's departments in their educational, scientific, and literary efforts and enterprises. By maximizing private charitable support and investing prudently, the foundation helps keep the university in a leadership position for research and academic instruction.

University of Louisville Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: University of Louisville Foundation Inc gave $67.5M across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $33.7M), mostly in Kentucky. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$67,498,401
+2.5% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$33,749,201
+2.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$33,749,201
Total assets
$1,207,594,633
+4.0% vs 2024
Primary geography
Kentucky (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to University of Louisville Foundation Inc

Who University of Louisville Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

University of Louisville: $65.1MUniversity of Louisville$65.1MU of L Health - Louisville Inc: $2.4MU of L Health - Louisville Inc$2.4M

The largest 2025 recipient was University of Louisville ($65.1M). Together the top 2 received $67.5M.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M1$1–5M9$5M+

The most common grant size was $5M or more: 9 grants of 10 (90%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Louisville

How University of Louisville Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 20% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20M$40M$60M$80M1 grant2019 2 grants2020 2 grants2021 2 grants2022 2 grants2023 2 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $50.1M (2021) to $67.9M (2023). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $67.5M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of Louisville Louisville, KYOperational and Development Support$65,110,894
U of L Health - Louisville Inc Louisville, KYGeneral Support$2,387,507
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with University of Louisville Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$1,207,594,633$49,019,760$75,026,008$67,498,4012$16,057,353
2024$1,161,032,051$65,921,956$75,831,967$65,826,1042$118,096
2023$1,057,025,817$52,798,346$79,408,065$67,894,7862$-115,109
2022$1,030,933,372$57,798,687$67,383,319$56,204,7092$62,974
2021$1,075,988,166$43,496,002$63,758,316$50,102,8272$148,843
2020$841,865,659$66,715,351$83,114,771$67,760,1452$429,358
2019$861,586,142$57,412,218$75,932,739$61,740,9391$1,803,864

About University of Louisville Foundation Inc

Based on IRS filings

University of Louisville Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Louisville, KY. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.2B in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $67.5M. Net investment income was $16.1M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

University of Louisville Foundation Inc is led by Keith Sherman, Executive Director & COO on every filing since 2019; 3 of 27 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Keith Sherman

    Executive Director & COO

    On filings since 2019

    27.5 hrs/week

    $232K (2019) → $303K (2025)

  • Jill Force

    Chair

    Director → Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Regina Lanskwert

    Director of Administration

    On filings since 2019

    43 hrs/week

    $122K (2019) → $144K (2025)

  • Jim Boone

    Director

    Secretary → Vice Chair, 2024

    Vice Chair → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Anderson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Al Cornish

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ernest Brooks

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jessica Cole

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Eugene Mueller

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerry Abramson

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kim Schatzel

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Brinkman

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Dischinger

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Diane Medley

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kevin Ledford

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matt Carper

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rudy Spencer

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sofya Alterman

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Allie Rose Phillips

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charlie Dahlem

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gerry Bradley

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jake Smith

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mariah Gratz

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Powell Spears

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Justin Ruhl

    Controller

    Director of Fndtn Accntng Oprtns → Controller, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    30 hrs/week

    $111K (2019) → $139K (2025)

  • Larry McDonald

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Nickel

    Vice Chair

    Vice Chair → Director, 2024

    Director → Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (32)
  • Former: Mary Nixon (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: David Krebs (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Jim Rogers (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: John Thompson (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Katie Hayden (2024) — Director
  • Former: Earl Reed (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: John Smith (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Ken Payne (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Paul Carrico (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: David Schultz (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Lori Gonzalez (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Dorian Brown (2023) — Director
  • Former: Neeli Bendapudi (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Susan Magness (2019–2022) — Director of Budget
  • Former: John Chilton (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Ugonna Okorie (2022) — Director
  • Former: Krista Wallace-Boaz (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Sandra Frazier (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Sabrina Collins (2021) — Director
  • Former: David Grissom (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: John Ballard (2019–2020) — Golf Course Superintendent
  • Former: Nitin Sahney (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Ron Abrams (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Tom Meeker (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Jasper Noble (2020) — Director
  • Former: Enid Trucios-Haynes (2019) — Director
  • Former: John Schnatter (2019) — Director
  • Former: Jonathan Fuller (2019) — Director
  • Former: Laura Douglas (2019) — Secretary
  • Former: Michael Bowers (2019) — Treasurer
  • Former: Vishnu Tirumala (2019) — Director
  • Former: Will Armstrong (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Keith Sherman — Executive Director & COO: $303KKeith ShermanExecutive Director & COO$303KRegina Lanskwert — Director of Administration: $144KRegina LanskwertDirector of Administration$144KJustin Ruhl — Controller: $139KJustin RuhlController$139K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $303K, to Keith Sherman (Executive Director & COO). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about University of Louisville Foundation Inc

How much does University of Louisville Foundation Inc give each year?

University of Louisville Foundation Inc gave $67.5M across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $65.8M across 2 grants.

How large is University of Louisville Foundation Inc?

University of Louisville Foundation Inc reported $1.2B in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $49.0M.

What is University of Louisville Foundation Inc?

University of Louisville Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Louisville, KY. It holds $1.2B in total assets as of 2025.

Where does University of Louisville Foundation Inc operate?

University of Louisville Foundation Inc has awarded grants in Kentucky.

What is University of Louisville Foundation Inc's EIN?

University of Louisville Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7078461. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
  3. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 29, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 21, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 11, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in University of Louisville Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Kentucky

KY Hospital Research & Education Foundation Inc

Louisville, KY

KY Hospital Research & Education funds Kentucky hospitals and health-related efforts focused on health care education, emergency preparedness, rural hospital support, quality and safety, and opioid recovery; its 2025 grants supported peer support specialists. Recent awards ranged from $50,000 to $100,000, typically $50,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$12.1M

Grants

12

Total Given

$750K

The Community Foundation of Louisville Depository Inc

Louisville, KY

The Community Foundation of Louisville supports a broad range of causes, including arts, parks, education, social services, and libraries, with most 2025 grant dollars going to Kentucky organizations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $15,200 and ranged from $5,100 to over $2.3 million; the available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$24.0M

Grants

421

Total Given

$20.5M

The Community Foundation of Louisville Inc

Louisville, KY

The Community Foundation of Louisville funds nonprofits across areas including education, arts and culture, health, and community development, with a focus on Louisville and surrounding communities while also supporting work beyond the region. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,012 to $3,853,691, with a median of $22,987; it states that grant programs for local nonprofits use an open application and review process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$766.9M

Grants

678

Total Given

$55.0M

Blue Grass Community Foundation Inc

Lexington, KY

Blue Grass Community Foundation funds charitable causes and community needs, including education, housing, basic assistance, and youth wellbeing, primarily in Central and Appalachia Kentucky. Its 2025 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $520,000, with a median of about $16,700; the foundation’s website describes competitive grant opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$296.2M

Grants

514

Total Given

$20.7M

LG&E and Ku Foundation Inc

Louisville, KY

The foundation funds community organizations in economic development, education, the environment, and diversity, as well as event sponsorships and tree-planting grants, primarily in communities served by LG&E and KU. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $749,000, with a median of $2,500; 96% of grant dollars went to Kentucky. It accepts community grant applications through its online portal in March and October.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$22.0M

Grants

497

Total Given

$4.3M

John B & Brownie Young Memorial Fund

Owensboro, KY

The fund provides scholarships to eligible high school seniors from four Owensboro-area Kentucky school districts for full-time college or vocational/technical study, primarily supporting the first year. Awards are at least $500, with a $500 median grant in 2025; larger awards depend on students’ financial need. Students are notified and receive application information through their school counselor and Independence Bank; the fund does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$13.5M

Grants

392

Total Given

$894K

More similar funders

More Funders in Kentucky

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from University of Louisville Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

University of Louisville Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?