United Way of Central and Southern Utah
We improve lives by mobilizing the caring power of our local community to provide resources and programs that focus on health, education, and income.
Key facts about United Way of Central and Southern Utah
In short: United Way of Central and Southern Utah gave $5K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $5K), mostly in Utah. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 94-2851681
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $5,200
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $5,200
- Median grant
- $5,200
- Total assets
- $2,637,272
- Primary geography
- Utah (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$2.6M
+0.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$5K
-97.3% YoY
Grant Count
1
-83.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$5K
-83.8% YoY
How United Way of Central and Southern Utah gives
- Giving fell 99% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About United Way of Central and Southern Utah
Based on IRS filings
United Way of Central and Southern Utah is a public charity focused on Children and youth, based in Provo, UT. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.6M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $5K. Net investment income was $10.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with United Way of Central and Southern Utah?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2025) to $352K (2022). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $5K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Community Action Services ($5K).
Grant Size Distribution
56 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 53 grants of 56 (95%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Community Action Services Provo, UT | Support efforts | $5,200 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,637,272 | $2,635,410 | $1,870,212 |
| Revenue | $7,479,002 | $6,259,741 | $5,361,009 |
| Expenses | $7,174,754 | $6,410,614 | $5,790,778 |
| Net Investment Income | $10 | $39 | $-3,456 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS January 19, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 22, 2024)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
United Way of Central and Southern Utah is led by Bill Hulterstrom, President on every filing since 2021; 3 of 28 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Bill Hulterstrom
President
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$124K (2021) → $172K (2025)
Arnolyn Miller
Finance Director
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$66K (2021) → $70K (2025)
Kristen Ross
Finance Manager
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$47K (2025)
Amy Magleby
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Devin Baer
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Francis Gibson
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeanette Bennett
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Linda Makin
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Liz Darger
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mari Heimuli
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mike Roberts
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephen Whyte
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ben Peterson
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Brent Platt
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Holly Peterson
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Steve Anderson
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Paletta
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Norm Wright
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Paige Bennett
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrea Martinez
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Janae Moss
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joel Dagenais
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jonathan Park
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Phil Suglia
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rick Nielsen
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jacque Durfey
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Julie Mecham
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Justin Olson
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (16)
- Former: Bret VanAusdal (2021–2024) — Chair
- Former: Kalleen Lund (2021–2024) — Member
- Former: Vanessa Perez (2022–2024) — Member
- Former: Christopher Steen (2023–2024) — Member
- Former: Chad Doehring (2021–2023) — Member
- Former: Sam Jarman (2021–2023) — Member
- Former: Melanie Lundberg (2022–2023) — Member
- Former: Aaron Brunko (2023) — Member
- Former: Brian Yazzie (2021–2022) — Member
- Former: Clint Betts (2021–2022) — Member
- Former: Lori Thorn (2021–2022) — Member
- Former: Mike Fulton (2021–2022) — Member
- Former: Ryan Poelman (2021–2022) — Member
- Former: Scott Barlow (2021–2022) — Past Chair
- Former: Britton Roney (2021) — Member
- Former: Joy Weller (2021) — Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $172K, to Bill Hulterstrom (President). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about United Way of Central and Southern Utah
How much does United Way of Central and Southern Utah give each year?
United Way of Central and Southern Utah gave $5K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $192K across 6 grants.
How large is United Way of Central and Southern Utah?
United Way of Central and Southern Utah reported $2.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $7.5M.
What is United Way of Central and Southern Utah?
United Way of Central and Southern Utah is a public charity focused on Children and youth, based in Provo, UT. It holds $2.6M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does United Way of Central and Southern Utah operate?
United Way of Central and Southern Utah has awarded grants in Utah.
What is United Way of Central and Southern Utah's EIN?
United Way of Central and Southern Utah's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 94-2851681. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching United Way of Central and Southern Utah by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in United Way of Central and Southern Utah's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
IHC Health Services Inc
Salt Lake City, UT
IHC Health Services supports community health, healthcare access, behavioral health, and health education, with grants including work in Utah and other communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,750, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$18.7B
Grants
142
Total Given
$11.1M
Utah's Promise
Salt Lake City, UT
Utah’s Promise supports Utah children and families through education, basic-needs access, health, and financial stability, giving grants to community partners aligned with those goals. Its reported grantmaking varied from $4.46 million across 48 grants in 2023 to $7.48 million across three grants in 2024; no typical award size is stated. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$21.2M
Grants
2
Total Given
$2.9M
Columbus Area United Way Inc
Columbus, NE
Columbus Area United Way funds charitable organizations and human-service programs focused on education, health, financial stability, and community needs in Boone, Colfax, Platte, and Nance counties. Typical grant amounts are not provided, and recent filings report no grants; the website offers an online application, but whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
11
Total Given
$337K
The Benjamin Foundation
Salt Lake City, UT
The Benjamin Foundation funds a range of charitable organizations, including those focused on education, the environment, arts, survivor support, and research. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $600,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to Utah, with some in Colorado and California. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.1M
Grants
15
Total Given
$894K
Sorenson Legacy Foundation
Midvale, UT
The Sorenson Legacy Foundation funds education, arts education, innovation, health care, and community initiatives, with a strong preference for work in Utah. In 2024, it made 266 grants ranging from $700 to $5.675 million, with a median award of $20,000. It accepts applications through its application process and lists quarterly deadlines of December 1, March 1, June 1, and September 1.
Assets
$465.5M
Grants
266
Total Given
$28.0M
Utah Medical Association Foundation
Midvale, UT
The Utah Medical Association Foundation funds physician and medical-student education, healthcare services and facilities, and public health projects benefiting Utah residents; it gives only to 501(c)(3) organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $61,500, with a median of $6,500. It funds preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
26
Total Given
$350K
The Archer Family Charitable Corp
Salt Lake City, UT
The Archer Family Charitable Corp supports organizations working in education, housing and homelessness, health, and recreation for people with disabilities, with most funding going to Utah. In 2025, it awarded 26 grants of $500–$25,000, with a median grant of $3,000. Its filing says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and provides instructions for submitting requests.
Assets
$1.5M
Grants
26
Total Given
$131K
Kenneth & Joanne Mayne Foundation
Holladay, UT
The Kenneth & Joanne Mayne Foundation supports charitable organizations working in areas including disability services, housing, substance-use treatment, survivor support, youth and families, animal welfare, and services for older adults. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3,000, typically $2,000, with 81% of grant dollars going to Utah recipients. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$1.7M
Grants
30
Total Given
$52K
doTERRA Healing Hands Foundation
Pleasant Grove, UT
The doTERRA Healing Hands Foundation funds projects that support community self-reliance, including health, education, clean water, sanitation, crisis relief, microcredit, and anti-trafficking work, in the U.S. and more than 110 countries. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,103 to $386,271, with a median of $20,000; its Match Program offers approved projects up to $10,000 in matching funds. It accepts applications through that program, but applicants must meet eligibility requirements and speak with the Executive Director before applying.
Assets
$6.6M
Grants
52
Total Given
$2.1M
WCF Foundation
Sandy, UT
WCF Foundation funds a broad range of research, education, health, rehabilitation, homelessness, and community initiatives, primarily in Utah. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,500 to $200,000, with a median of $5,800. It funds preselected charitable organizations only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$11.9M
Grants
61
Total Given
$1.4M
The Ray and Tye Noorda Foundation
Lindon, UT
The Ray and Tye Noorda Foundation funds humanitarian aid, health, education, poverty reduction, and legal rights through grants to organizations across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $5 million, with a median of $325,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$101.6M
Grants
62
Total Given
$29.5M
George S and Dolores Dore
Salt Lake City, UT
The George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation funds arts and culture, community, education, health and wellness, and preservation and conservation, primarily for organizations serving Utah. Its 2024 grants had a median of $17,750, though awards ranged from $500 to $5.575 million. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online Letter of Inquiry.
Assets
$966.8M
Grants
400
Total Given
$27.0M
More Funders in Utah
United Way of Central and Southern Utah down — hundreds of funders to go?