Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr

Private foundation · Grantmaker Dallas, TX EIN: 54-6094925

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr is a private foundation based in Dallas, Texas. Its 2025 filing reports grants to organizations primarily in Virginia, with additional grants in Massachusetts and the District of Columbia.

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr at a glance

In short: Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr gave $1.8M across 12 grants in 2025 (avg $154K), mostly in Virginia. 33% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,842,506
+5.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
12
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$153,542
+5.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$89,166
Total assets
$32,840,179
+3.6% vs 2024
New grantees (estimate)
33% first-time grantees (4 of 12, 2025; small sample)
Primary geography
Virginia (91% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr

How to Apply

The foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Contact Lee Parker at Bank of America; application forms and materials, deadlines, and award restrictions are available from the contact.

Review Cycle
Available from the contact.
Deadline
Available from the contact.
Contact

Application contact: Lee Parker Bank Of America
Mailing address: 1800 K St Nw Dc1-842-05-02, Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 442-7460

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Virginia Commonwealth University: $409KVirginia CommonwealthUniversity$409KMedical College of Virginia Foundation: $311KMedical College of VirginiaFoundation$311KVirginia Health Catalyst: $212KVirginia Health Catalyst$212KThe Commonwealth Institute: $200KThe Commonwealth Institute$200KRector & Visitors of UVA: $180KRector & Visitors of UVA$180KHealth Resources in Action: $94KHealth Resources in Action$94KBirth in Color: $84KBirth in Color$84KArrow Project Inc: $80KArrow Project Inc$80KGeorge Mason University: $75KGeorge Mason University$75KOld Dominion University Research Fdn: $75KOld Dominion UniversityResearch Fdn$75K

The largest 2025 recipient was Virginia Commonwealth University ($409K). Together the top 10 received $1.7M.

Grant Size Distribution

47 grants across all recorded years

<$50K17$50–100K23$100–250K6$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 23 grants of 47 (49%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2025 grant dollars were distributed among recipients in Virginia (91%), Massachusetts (5%), and the District of Columbia (4%).

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 12 itemized grants.

Cities

RichmondCharlottesvilleFairfaxGlen AllenNorfolkWilliamsburgBostonChristiansburgAshlandBlacksburgJohnson CityStauntonSweet BriarWashington

Is Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr open to new grantees?

33%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 4 of 12 grantees (33%) were first-time recipients. With only 12 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 8 points. First grants averaged $137K; repeat grants $162K. How we count

Medians: $82K first-time, $137K repeat.

  • 67% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 107% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 102% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M8 grants2021 6 grants2022 9 grants2023 12 grants2024 12 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $889K (2022) to $1.8M (2025). In 2025 it made 12 grants totaling $1.8M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Virginia Commonwealth University Richmond, VAUnrestricted General$409,233
Medical College of Virginia Foundation Richmond, VAUnrestricted General$310,813
Virginia Health Catalyst Glen Allen, VAUnrestricted General$211,518
The Commonwealth Institute Richmond, VAUnrestricted General$200,000
Rector & Visitors of UVA Charlottesville, VAUnrestricted General$180,299
Health Resources in Action Boston, MAUnrestricted General$94,251
Birth in Color Richmond, VAUnrestricted General$84,081
Arrow Project Inc Staunton, VAUnrestricted General$80,000
George Mason University Fairfax, VAUnrestricted General$75,460
Old Dominion University Research Fdn Norfolk, VAUnrestricted General$74,762
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$32,840,179$3,500,520$2,375,117$1,842,50612$2,108,648$3,289,497$2,061,925
2024$31,685,251$996,566$2,148,852$1,742,06512$1,942,053$655,140$1,989,414
2023$32,549,346$905,353$1,784,411$1,404,7159$1,590,804$1,141,593$1,925,066
2022$32,603,161$4,308,678$1,565,513$888,8396$1,257,560$4,050,755$1,994,783
2021$32,338,966$2,109,514$2,203,115$1,653,6458—$1,638,185$2,021,051

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr reported a distributable amount of $2.1M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The Trust’s stated mission is to benefit the people of Virginia and their research in chemical, medical, or other scientific fields. Its active Jeffress Trust Awards Program in Research Advancing Health Equity supports collaborative research addressing systemic barriers and root causes of health disparities.

The 2025 grants include universities and research-related organizations, as well as organizations working in health and food security. For example, Virginia Commonwealth University describes its mission as supporting the educational, scientific, and charitable activities of its School of Engineering. Virginia Health Catalyst says it works to ensure equitable access to comprehensive health care, including oral health. The Federation of Virginia Food Banks describes its work as facilitating statewide collaboration to improve nutrition security and empower strong, healthy communities.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the Trust awarded 12 grants totaling $1,842,506. Grants ranged from $50,024 to $409,233, with a median of $89,166. Listed purposes were “unrestricted general.”

Largest 2025 awards included $409,233 to Virginia Commonwealth University, $310,813 to Medical College of Virginia Foundation, $211,518 to Virginia Health Catalyst, $200,000 to The Commonwealth Institute, and $180,299 to Rector & Visitors of UVA. Other recipients included Health Resources in Action ($94,251), Birth in Color ($84,081), Arrow Project Inc ($80,000), George Mason University ($75,460), Old Dominion University Research Foundation ($74,762), Institute for Public Health ($72,065), and Federation of Virginia Food Banks ($50,024).

The Jeffress Trust Awards Program in Research Advancing Health Equity is listed as active, with awards of up to $600,000. It offers Partnership/Collaborative Establishment Awards for developing projects and Research Awards for established consortia.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Bank of America as trustee. The allocation committee members listed are Sterling Ransone, M.D.; Rosemary Barra, Ph.D.; Vernon E. Inge Jr., Esq.; Keith Martin; Lee Parker; and Eric Kauders Jr.

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's 2025 filing lists 7 officers; 1 of 7 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Bank Of America

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $237K (2021) → $277K (2025)

  • Eric Kauders Jr.

    Allocation Committee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Keith Martin VA Chamber of Commerc

    Allocation Committee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Lee Parker

    Allocation Committee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Rosemary Barra Ph D

    Allocation Committee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Sterling Ransone M D

    Allocation Committee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Vernon E Inge Jr. Esq.

    Allocation Committee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Bank of America — Trustee: $277KBank of AmericaTrustee$277K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $277K, to Bank of America (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr

How much does Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr give each year?

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr gave $1.8M across 12 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1.7M across 12 grants.

What is Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's typical grant size?

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's median grant in 2025 was $89,166, and its average grant was $153,542, across 12 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr that year got $137K on average.

Where does Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr give grants?

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr gives mostly in Virginia: 91% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Massachusetts (5%). The most frequent recipient cities were Richmond, VA (5 grants).

Does Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (12 of 12) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's largest grantees?

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's largest 2025 grantees include Virginia Commonwealth University ($409,233), Medical College of Virginia Foundation ($310,813) and Virginia Health Catalyst ($211,518), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 51% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr?

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr reported $32.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $2.1M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr fund?

The Trust’s stated mission is to benefit the people of Virginia and their research in chemical, medical, or other scientific fields. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr?

The foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's EIN?

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-6094925. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Yale University

New Haven, CT

Yale University funds sponsored research, education and institutional programs, student aid, and charitable or community support, with 2025 grants ranging from $3,000 to $14.3 million and a median of about $136,000. Grants went to recipients in multiple states, with the largest shares in Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania. The information does not state whether Yale accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$58.9B

Grants

364

Total Given

$168.2M

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Princeton, NJ

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds efforts to improve health and health equity in the United States, including systems change addressing structural barriers to health. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000. It typically funds through targeted programs and partnerships; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$13.4B

Grants

3,093

Total Given

$622.6M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

California Healthcare Foundation

Oakland, CA

The California Health Care Foundation funds California-focused projects that improve health care for people with low incomes and communities underserved by the system, including work on access, behavioral health, health equity, research, and policy. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,200 to $4.1 million, with a median of $50,000. It accepts unsolicited requests by letter of inquiry, though most grants are solicited or made through competitive requests for proposals.

Assets

$765.4M

Grants

321

Total Given

$39.7M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

Sentara Health

Virginia Beach, VA

Sentara Health funds health services and equitable health initiatives, including access to care, medical education, scholarships, skilled careers, and community programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,500 to $45.45 million, with a median award of $22,000, and most funding went to Virginia, with some support elsewhere. Sentara Health Plans accepts applications for qualifying community partnerships in its service area; applications are due by the first of each month.

Assets

$7.2B

Grants

325

Total Given

$63.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Texas

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 16, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/tr-u-w-robert-m-jeffress-res-tr-morg_874d6d9d2eea4d7ba574e9b08c251f95

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_546094925_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/tr-u-w-robert-m-jeffress-res-tr-morg_874d6d9d2eea4d7ba574e9b08c251f95},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-16. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Tr U-W Robert M Jeffress-Res Tr down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?