TKD Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Rolla, MO EIN: 82-3906537

TKD Foundation is a private foundation, based in Rolla, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $1.7M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 5 grants totaling $1.2M.

TKD Foundation at a glance

In short: TKD Foundation gave $1.2M across 5 grants in 2024 (avg $237K), mostly in Missouri. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$1,185,500
+27.5% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
5
-37.5% vs 2023
Average grant
$237,100
+104.1% vs 2023
Median grant
$162,000
Total assets
$1,701,987
+4.1% vs 2023
Primary geography
Missouri (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to TKD Foundation

Who TKD Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2024

Phelps County Community Foundation: $500KPhelps County CommunityFoundation$500KMissouri S&T: $500KMissouri S&T$500KFour Rivers Community Health Center: $162KFour Rivers Community HealthCenter$162KPhelps County Dream Center: $23KPhelps County Dream Center$23KTNR Patrol: $1KTNR Patrol$1K

The largest 2024 recipient was Phelps County Community Foundation ($500K). Together the top 5 received $1.2M.

Grant Size Distribution

30 grants across all recorded years

20<$50K4$50–100K1$100–250K2$250–500K3$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 20 grants of 30 (67%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

RollaSpringfieldSt RobertWestervilleColumbiaReading

How TKD Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 1512% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M5 grants2020 6 grants2021 6 grants2022 8 grants2023 5 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $74K (2021) to $1.2M (2024). In 2024 it made 5 grants totaling $1.2M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Phelps County Community Foundation Rolla, MOGeneral Support$500,000
Missouri S&T Rolla, MOGeneral Support$500,000
Four Rivers Community Health Center Rolla, MOGeneral Support$162,000
Phelps County Dream Center Rolla, MOGeneral Support$22,500
TNR Patrol St Robert, MOGeneral Support$1,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with TKD Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$1,701,987$1,536,195$1,598,510$1,185,5005$1,545,282—$87,843
2023$1,634,913$539,095$1,273,705$929,5398$1,230,588—$112,679
2022$2,241,864$625,906$400,099$117,7786$360,343$100,885$97,715
2021$2,337,422$71,043$342,124$73,5496$252,708—$101,922
2020$2,459,832$1,832,397$927,070$625,4105——$71,184

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, TKD Foundation reported a distributable amount of $88K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

TKD Foundation is led by Kim Day, President on every filing since 2020; 1 of 3 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Kim Day

    President

    On filings since 2020

    30 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lorrie Hartley

    Executive Di

    Executive Director → Executive Di, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $156K (2020) → $211K (2024)

  • Karen Davis

    Secretary

    Treasurer & Secretary → Secretary, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Ted Day (2020) — Treasurer & Secretary

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Lorrie Hartley — Executive Di: $211KLorrie HartleyExecutive Di$211K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $211K, to Lorrie Hartley (Executive Di).

Frequently asked questions about TKD Foundation

How much does TKD Foundation give each year?

TKD Foundation gave $1.2M across 5 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $930K across 8 grants.

What is TKD Foundation's typical grant size?

TKD Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $162,000, and its average grant was $237,100, across 5 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does TKD Foundation give grants?

TKD Foundation gives mostly in Missouri: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Rolla, MO (4 grants).

Does TKD Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of TKD Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are TKD Foundation's largest grantees?

TKD Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Phelps County Community Foundation ($500,000), Missouri S&T ($500,000) and Four Rivers Community Health Center ($162,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 98% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is TKD Foundation?

TKD Foundation reported $1.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.5M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $88K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is TKD Foundation's EIN?

TKD Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-3906537. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in TKD Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Ernst & Young Foundation

New York, NY

Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$47.6M

Grants

637

Total Given

$16.7M

Community Foundation of Greater Memphis Inc

Memphis, TN

The Community Foundation of Greater Memphis supports community needs, nonprofit capacity building, and donor-directed and theme-based grants, with awards across West Tennessee, eastern Arkansas, and northern Mississippi. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,200, though amounts varied widely; unsolicited requests are accepted only through specific application-based opportunities, not stated as a general process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$953.1M

Grants

761

Total Given

$134.3M

The National Association for the Exchange of Industrial Resources Inc

Galesburg, IL

NAEIR redistributes donated merchandise—such as school and office supplies, tools, clothing, and books—to eligible schools, nonprofits, churches, and other charitable organizations nationwide, rather than making conventional cash grants. Its reported 2024 distributions averaged about $62,000 in goods per recipient, though amounts vary; organizations apply for membership and request products, while qualified teachers can apply to a separate program.

Assets

$127.0M

Grants

454

Total Given

$25.6M

Commerce Bancshares Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The foundation supports a broad range of charitable organizations and community projects, with 2024 grants typically small (median $1,500) but ranging from $200 to $60,500. Most funding went to Missouri, followed by Kansas and Illinois, with smaller amounts elsewhere; it says applicants should contact the program director and provide proof of 501(c)(3) status, and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$35.0M

Grants

645

Total Given

$2.0M

Community Fdn of Greater Des Moines F/K/a Greater Des Moines Community Fdn

Des Moines, IA

The Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines supports projects that improve quality of life in Greater Des Moines, including housing and transportation access, health, economic opportunity, inclusive communities, and nonprofit capacity-building. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $12,900, though awards ranged from roughly $5,000 to $7.34 million.

Assets

$918.7M

Grants

1,259

Total Given

$55.7M

Church Mutual Insurance Company

Merrill, WI

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$172K

Grants

256

Total Given

$464K

More similar funders

More Funders in Missouri

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from TKD Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

TKD Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?