The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Wilmington, DE EIN: 84-3024857

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Wilmington, Delaware, that reported 24 grants totaling $1,464,500 in filing year 2025. Its grants went to charitable organizations in several states, with the largest share of grant dollars going to California recipients.

Key facts about The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation

In short: The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation gave $1.5M across 24 grants in 2025 (avg $61K), mostly in California. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
84-3024857
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$1,464,500
Grants made (2025)
24
Average grant
$61,021
Median grant
$12,500
New grantees (estimate)
0% first-time grantees (0 of 24, 2025; small sample)
Total assets
$7,119,297
Primary geography
California (81% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$7.1M

-2.9% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.5M

+39.0% YoY

Grant Count

24

-4.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$61K

+44.8% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $530K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation open to new grantees?

0%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 0 of 24 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. With only 24 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 4 points. How we count

  • 96% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−4%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 283% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated October 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for religious organizations, an athletic foundation, a hospice provider, a youth-justice organization, and an educational institution. These examples reflect the grantees’ own descriptions: the United States Ski Team Foundation says it supports world-class skiing and snowboarding, including athlete coaching and training; Samaritan’s Purse describes its work as providing spiritual and physical aid to people in need; and Pathways Home Health and Hospice says it provides patient- and family-centered care in the home.

Other 2025 recipients describe work that includes proclaiming the Gospel and church planting, as stated by International Church Missions; supporting youth and advancing justice, as stated by Fresh Lifelines for Youth; and providing pro bono legal services to defend religious liberty, as stated by First Liberty Institute. The Museum of the Bible describes its purpose as inviting people to engage with the Bible through museum exhibitions, education, and research.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 24 grants totaling $1,464,500. Grants ranged from $500 to $1,000,000, with a median grant of $12,500. The largest awards included $1,000,000 to Church at the Red Door for general and unrestricted purposes, $90,000 to Menlo Park Presbyterian Church for general and unrestricted purposes, and $56,000 to the United States Ski Team Foundation for its Ambassador Program and Gold Pass Program. Other notable grants included $45,000 to Presbyterian Church of the Big Wood and $30,000 each to Samaritan’s Purse and Stanford University, all for general and unrestricted purposes.

The foundation states on its 2025 filing that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, California organizations received 81% of the foundation’s grant dollars. Other listed recipient-state shares were Idaho and Utah at 4% each, North Carolina at 3%, and Florida at 2%. The grant list also includes recipients in states such as Michigan, Texas, Georgia, and Oklahoma.

Grant Distribution by State

12states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 24 itemized grants.

Cities

KetchumLa QuintaPark CityAtlantaBooneCharlotteHillsdaleMenlo ParkNew OrleansOceansideOklahoma CityOrlandoSan FranciscoStanfordSunnyvaleMilpitasPalo AltoRancho MirageTustinPlano

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M18 grants2020 22 grants2021 24 grants2022 29 grants2023 25 grants2024 24 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $304K (2020) to $2.0M (2023). In 2025 it made 24 grants totaling $1.5M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Church at the Red Door: $1.0MChurch at the Red Door$1.0MMenlo Park Presbyterian Church: $90KMenlo Park Presbyterian Church$90KUnited States Ski Team Foundation: $56KUnited States Ski TeamFoundation$56KPresbyterian Church of the Big Wood: $45KPresbyterian Church of the BigWood$45KSamaritans Purse: $30KSamaritans Purse$30KStanford University: $30KStanford University$30KCampus Crusade for Christ Inc: $25KCampus Crusade for Christ Inc$25KHillsdale College: $25KHillsdale College$25KBilly Graham Evangelistic Association: $20KBilly Graham EvangelisticAssociation$20KFirst Liberty Institute: $20KFirst Liberty Institute$20K

The largest 2025 recipient was Church at the Red Door ($1.0M). Together the top 10 received $1.3M.

Grant Size Distribution

124 grants across all recorded years

105<$50K10$50–100K4$100–250K$250–500K2$500K–1M3$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 105 grants of 124 (85%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Church at the Red Door La Quinta, CAGeneral & Unrestricted$1,000,000
Menlo Park Presbyterian Church Menlo Park, CAGeneral & Unrestricted$90,000
United States Ski Team Foundation Park City, UTAmbassador Program and Gold Pass Program$56,000
Presbyterian Church of the Big Wood Ketchum, IDGeneral & Unrestricted$45,000
Samaritans Purse Boone, NCGeneral & Unrestricted$30,000
Stanford University Stanford, CAGeneral & Unrestricted$30,000
Campus Crusade for Christ Inc Orlando, FLGeneral & Unrestricted$25,000
Hillsdale College Hillsdale, MIGeneral & Unrestricted$25,000
Billy Graham Evangelistic Association Charlotte, NCGeneral & Unrestricted$20,000
First Liberty Institute Plano, TXGeneral & Unrestricted$20,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grant total Grant count
2025 $7,119,297 $1,345,030 $1,563,291 $1,464,500 24
2024 $7,335,558 $1,488,677 $1,126,888 $1,053,500 25
2023 $6,971,769 $303,026 $2,078,337 $2,014,700 29
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M$4M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$7,119,297$7,335,558$6,971,769
Revenue$1,345,030$1,488,677$303,026
Expenses$1,563,291$1,126,888$2,078,337
Qualifying Distributions$1,496,939$1,085,303$2,045,880
Net Investment Income$1,311,778$1,455,169$273,769
Distributable Amount$529,758$534,245$477,455

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists David McCollum as director and treasurer, Jeffrey McCollum as director and president, Michael McCollum as director and secretary, and Robert McCollum as director.

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation is led by Jeffrey McCollum, Director & President since 2022 (on filings since 2020); 2 of 4 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Jeffrey McCollum

    Director & President

    Director & Secretary → Director, Sec* & President, 2021

    Director, Sec* & President → Director & President, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2022) → $1K (2025)

  • David McCollum

    Director & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2022) → $1K (2025)

  • Michael McCollum

    Director & Secretary

    Director → Director & Secretary, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert McCollum

    Director

    Director & President → Director & Pres*, 2021

    Director & Pres* → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Susan McCollum (2020) — Director & Vice President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

David McCollum — Dir, Treas: $1KDavid McCollumDir, Treas$1KJeffrey McCollum — Dir, Pres: $1KJeffrey McCollumDir, Pres$1K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $1K, to David McCollum (Dir, Treas). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: Foundation Source 501 Silverside Rd, Wilmington, DE 19809-1377
Phone: (800) 839-1754

Frequently asked questions about The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation

How much does The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation give each year?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation gave $1.5M across 24 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1.1M across 25 grants.

What is The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's typical grant size?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $12,500, and its average grant was $61,021, across 24 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation give grants?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation gives mostly in California: 81% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Ketchum, ID (2 grants).

Does The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 92% of The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (22 of 24) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's largest grantees?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Church at the Red Door ($1,000,000), Menlo Park Presbyterian Church ($90,000) and United States Ski Team Foundation ($56,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 78% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation reported $7.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.5M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $530K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for religious organizations, an athletic foundation, a hospice provider, a youth-justice organization, and an educational institution. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals, according to Grantable's research on its published guidelines.

What is The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's EIN?

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-3024857. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated October 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Delaware

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

Orange County Community Foundation

Irvine, CA

The Orange County Community Foundation supports a wide range of causes, including human services, education, health, arts, the environment, and community development, primarily in Orange County and also beyond. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$743.6M

Grants

975

Total Given

$120.4M

California Community Foundation

Los Angeles, CA

The California Community Foundation supports nonprofits through discretionary and donor-directed grants, with discretionary priorities including education, health, housing and immigration, alongside other areas such as arts, civic engagement and economic opportunity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and its work is focused on Los Angeles County; prospective discretionary applicants are asked to contact the relevant program officer before submitting a letter of intent.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

2,174

Total Given

$326.6M

American Electric Power Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The American Electric Power Foundation funds education, especially STEM, basic human services, social justice, and environmental protection, primarily for organizations in AEP’s service territory or with broader beneficial impact. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $1,428,570, with a median of $10,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations need an invitation from their local AEP Operating Company.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$43.6M

Grants

753

Total Given

$23.0M

Puget Sound Energy Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The Puget Sound Energy Foundation funds nonprofits serving communities where PSE has a service or generation presence, primarily in Washington, across household needs, education and workforce pathways, climate resilience, and community safety. Grants vary widely; in 2024 they ranged from $13 to $100,000, with a $500 median, while its 2026 disaster-focused competitive program offers up to $15,000. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, but eligible local nonprofits can apply through that competitive program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$19.6M

Grants

451

Total Given

$1.2M

First Eagle Investments Foundation

Wilmington, DE

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$747K

Grants

389

Total Given

$1.2M

Hagerty Drivers Foundation

Wilmington, DE

Assets

$193K

Grants

330

Total Given

$192K

McNabb Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The McNabb Foundation’s website describes support for behavioral health and social services in East Tennessee, while its 2024 grants went to organizations with varied missions, mostly in California. Grants ranged from $500 to $5,000, with a median of $1,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.8M

Grants

328

Total Given

$358K

Raskob Foundation for Catholic

Wilmington, DE

The Raskob Foundation for Catholic Activities funds Catholic entities across a wide range of projects, including education, hunger relief, emergency aid, and social services, in the United States and internationally. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $100,000, with a median of $18,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$208.0M

Grants

325

Total Given

$6.2M

Delaware Community Foundation Inc

Wilmington, DE

Delaware Community Foundation supports nonprofits and students addressing community needs in Delaware, including community-impact projects, capital improvements, and scholarships. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $21,500, though awards varied widely. Applicants are directed to apply through the relevant program’s online portal; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$392.5M

Grants

323

Total Given

$20.4M

WSFS Cares Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The WSFS CARES Foundation funds qualified nonprofits working in community investment, affordable housing, neighborhood revitalization and economic empowerment, education and leadership, and services for people in need. It gives in Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey; 2024 awards ranged from $1,000 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. It accepts requests through its grant and sponsorship portal; the 2024 filing says there is no prescribed application form or required materials.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3M

Grants

323

Total Given

$2.7M

More Funders in Delaware

The Sue & Bob McCollum Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?