The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen

Private foundation · Grantmaker Brooklyn, OH EIN: 81-2996704

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen is a private foundation, based in Brooklyn, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $6.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $343K. Net investment income was $405K.

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen at a glance

In short: The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen gave $343K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $57K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$342,740
+10.5% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
6
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$57,123
+10.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$68,548
Total assets
$6,184,854
+0.5% vs 2024
Primary geography
Ohio (90% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

Ohio Living Foundation: $69KOhio Living Foundation$69KBucyrus Memorial Library: $69KBucyrus Memorial Library$69KThe Bucyrus Area YMCA: $69KThe Bucyrus Area YMCA$69KFirst Presbyterian Church: $69KFirst Presbyterian Church$69KThe Village Network: $34KThe Village Network$34KStarr Commonwealth for Boys: $34KStarr Commonwealth for Boys$34K

The largest 2025 recipient was Ohio Living Foundation ($69K). Together the top 6 received $343K.

Grant Size Distribution

30 grants across all recorded years

10<$50K20$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 20 grants of 30 (67%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

States

Cities

BucyrusAlbionWestervilleWooster

How The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−9%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 101% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K6 grants2020 6 grants2021 6 grants2022 6 grants2023 6 grants2024 6 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $310K (2024) to $378K (2022). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $343K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Ohio Living Foundation Westerville, OHGeneral Operating$68,548
Bucyrus Memorial Library Bucyrus, OHGeneral Operating$68,548
The Bucyrus Area YMCA Bucyrus, OHGeneral Operating$68,548
First Presbyterian Church Bucyrus, OHGeneral Operating$68,548
The Village Network Wooster, OHGeneral Operating$34,274
Starr Commonwealth for Boys Albion, MIGeneral Operating$34,274
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$6,184,854$462,251$431,143$342,7406$358,962$404,909$355,828
2024$6,154,126$611,326$379,067$310,1846$325,698$559,076$330,107
2023$5,943,482$94,301$383,460$324,8346$339,379$50,646$304,827
2022$6,232,642$-35,142$446,754$377,7646$391,973$20,560$319,677
2021$6,714,537$872,267$403,954$340,2496$357,075$825,388$376,693
2020$6,230,126$359,125$406,160$338,5466—$320,369$331,507

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen reported a distributable amount of $356K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's only listed officer is Keybank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Keybank N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $52K (2020) → $60K (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Keybank N a — Trustee: $60KKeybank N aTrustee$60K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $60K, to Keybank N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen

How much does The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen give each year?

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen gave $343K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $310K across 6 grants.

What is The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's typical grant size?

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's median grant in 2025 was $68,548, and its average grant was $57,123, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen give grants?

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen gives mostly in Ohio: 90% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Michigan (10%). The most frequent recipient cities were Bucyrus, OH (3 grants).

Does The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (6 of 6) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's largest grantees?

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's largest 2025 grantees include Ohio Living Foundation ($68,548), Bucyrus Memorial Library ($68,548) and The Bucyrus Area YMCA ($68,548), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 60% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen?

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen reported $6.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $359K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $356K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's EIN?

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-2996704. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 7, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 26, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 9, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 5, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 2, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Ohio

Middletown Community Foundation

Middletown, OH

Middletown Community Foundation funds local nonprofits and community programs in arts and recreation, youth services, education, economic development, event sponsorships, and human needs, primarily serving Franklin, Madison Township, Middletown, Monroe, and Trenton, Ohio. Its 2025 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $309,000, with a median of about $13,000. Organizations apply through its annual grant cycles; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$50.4M

Grants

58

Total Given

$1.6M

Toledo Community Foundation Inc

Toledo, OH

Greater Toledo Community Foundation supports education, health, social services, arts and culture, neighborhood development, the environment, and other community needs in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan, especially the greater Toledo area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,026 to $1,042,367, with a median of $15,500; applicants apply through the online process for specific grant programs.

Assets

$246.9M

Grants

406

Total Given

$17.8M

Community Foundation of Shelby County

Sidney, OH

The Community Foundation of Shelby County supports nonprofits, community organizations, education, and scholarships, with community grants for specific projects or programs benefiting residents of Shelby County, Ohio. Community Grant requests may be up to $20,000; its 2024 grants had a median of $17,842, though awards varied widely. Requests are not fully unsolicited: applicants must first contact the Scholarships and Grants Manager for permission to apply.

Assets

$66.1M

Grants

88

Total Given

$6.2M

Knox County Foundation

Mount Vernon, OH

Knox County Foundation funds qualifying nonprofits in education, youth services, recreation, arts and culture, social services, and civic, economic, and community development, primarily in Knox County, Ohio; it also awards scholarships to local students. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,543 to $500,000, with a median of $36,575; the foundation does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$116.2M

Grants

43

Total Given

$3.4M

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

Wayne County Community Foundation

Wooster, OH

The Wayne County Community Foundation funds capital and program projects in arts and culture, community affairs, conservation, education, health, and human services, primarily benefiting Wayne County, Ohio. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though awards varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$156.4M

Grants

137

Total Given

$7.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Robert B Picking Maude C Picking & Helen down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?