The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Westlake, OH EIN: 34-1881601

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation is a private foundation, based in Westlake, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2021. In 2021, it awarded 7 grants totaling $4.1M. Net investment income was $214K.

Key facts about The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation

In short: The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation gave $4.1M across 7 grants in 2021 (avg $592K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
34-1881601
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2021
Annual giving (2021)
$4,145,826
Grants made (2021)
7
Average grant
$592,261
Median grant
$290,971
Primary geography
District of Columbia (64% of itemized 2021 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2021; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2021 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

—

-100.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$4.1M

-88.4% YoY

Grant Count

7

-58.8% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$592K

-71.9% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation reported a distributable amount of $38K for 2021 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

6states

Share of 2021 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

ClevelandWashingtonHillsdaleSpringfieldAlexandriaPhoenixPippa PassesWilliamsburg

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10M$20M$30M$40M17 grants2020 7 grants2021

From 2020 to 2021, annual grant giving ranged from $4.1M (2021) to $35.8M (2020). In 2021 it made 7 grants totaling $4.1M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 7 recipients in 2021

Project on Government Oversight: $2.1MProject on GovernmentOversight$2.1MGoldwater Institute: $632KGoldwater Institute$632KAmerican Red Cross Northern Ohio Regionne Ohio Chapter: $291KAmerican Red Cross NorthernOhio Regionne Ohio Chapter$291KCato Institute: $291KCato Institute$291KHillsdale College: $291KHillsdale College$291KNational Right to Work Legal Defense Fdn: $291KNational Right to Work LegalDefense Fdn$291KThe Heritage Foundation: $291KThe Heritage Foundation$291K

The largest 2021 recipient was Project on Government Oversight ($2.1M). Together the top 7 received $4.1M.

Grant Size Distribution

24 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K$100–250K5$250–500K1$500K–1M17$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 17 grants of 24 (71%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Project on Government Oversight Washington, DCCharitable; general operating support and endowment/reserve fund to support annual program expenses$2,058,971
Goldwater Institute Phoenix, AZCharitable; endowment/reserve fund to support ongoing annual core expenses$632,000
American Red Cross Northern Ohio Regionne Ohio Chapter Cleveland, OHCharitable; General Operating/Program Expense$290,971
Cato Institute Washington, DCCharitable; General Operating/Program Expenses$290,971
Hillsdale College Hillsdale, MICharitable; General Operating/Program Expenses$290,971
National Right to Work Legal Defense Fdn Springfield, VACharitable; General Operating/Program Expenses$290,971
The Heritage Foundation Washington, DCCharitable; General Operating/Program Expenses$290,971

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2020 2021
Metric20212020
Total Assets—$3,937,309
Revenue$236,512$3,933,237
Expenses$4,173,821$36,081,290
Net Investment Income$213,774$3,705,297
Distributable Amount$37,795$886,326

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2021

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation is led by Anita C. Nonneman, President on every filing since 2020; 1 of 2 officers listed in 2021 is compensated.

Officers on the 2021 filing

  • Anita C. Nonneman

    President

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lois E. Nonneman

    Secretary & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $42 (2021)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2021. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2021 IRS filing

Lois E Nonneman — Secretary/Treasurer: $42Lois E NonnemanSecretary/Treasurer$42

The highest reported compensation on the 2021 filing was $42, to Lois E Nonneman (Secretary/Treasurer).

Frequently asked questions about The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation

How much does The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation give each year?

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation gave $4.1M across 7 grants in 2021, according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2020 it gave $35.8M across 17 grants.

What is The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's typical grant size?

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's median grant in 2021 was $290,971, and its average grant was $592,261, across 7 grants on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation give grants?

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation gives mostly in District of Columbia: 64% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Arizona (15%) and Ohio (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (3 grants).

Does The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 86% of The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's 2021 grants with a stated purpose (6 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's largest grantees?

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's largest 2021 grantees include Project on Government Oversight ($2,058,971), Goldwater Institute ($632,000) and American Red Cross Northern Ohio Regionne Ohio Chapter ($290,971), according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 72% of its itemized 2021 grant dollars.

How much is The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation required to give away each year?

Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2021, The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation reported a distributable amount of $38K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

What is The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's EIN?

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1881601. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2021.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Sullivan Family Fund

West Palm Beach, FL

Assets

$791K

Grants

73

Total Given

$399K

The Lozick Family Foundation

Pepper Pike, OH

The Lozick Family Foundation funds charitable organizations in areas including health care, education, housing, and community support, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Ohio and Florida. Its 334 grants ranged from $100 to $3,532,500, with a median of $5,250. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Assets

$278.7M

Grants

334

Total Given

$15.0M

The Venner Family Foundation

Wadsworth, OH

The Venner Family Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, including those in arts, education, health, social services, and public policy, with most 2025 grant dollars going to Ohio organizations. Grants ranged from $2,000 to $50,000, with a median of $5,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$6.0M

Grants

38

Total Given

$348K

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

Nisource Charitable Foundation

Columbus, OH

The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$43.0M

Grants

683

Total Given

$7.5M

Dayton Foundation Depository

Dayton, OH

The Dayton Foundation supports eligible nonprofits working in arts and culture, health, education, human services and community building, including capacity building, capital projects and program expansions, primarily in Greater Dayton and nearby counties. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,020 to $1,792,990, with a median of $12,000. It accepts applications for its discretionary grant program through an online portal.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$42.3M

Grants

677

Total Given

$22.7M

The Dayton Foundation

Dayton, OH

The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$771.2M

Grants

589

Total Given

$32.6M

Timken Co Charitable & Educational Fund

North Canton, OH

The Fund supports approved nonprofits delivering measurable, lasting improvements in communities where Timken operates, including community services, housing, food access, education, and workforce programs. Typical grants are $500–$10,000, with larger requests requiring board preapproval; eligible communities include locations in Ohio, North Carolina, Colorado, Illinois, and South Carolina. It says it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$4.1M

Grants

436

Total Given

$2.5M

More Funders in Ohio

The Frederick E and Julia G Nonneman Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?