The Charles A and Lois H Miller
The Charles A and Lois H Miller is a private foundation, based in Baltimore, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $68K. Net investment income was $59K.
The Charles A and Lois H Miller at a glance
In short: The Charles A and Lois H Miller gave $68K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $9K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $68,125
- -15.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 8
- -11.1% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $8,516
- -4.5% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $6,962
- Total assets
- $1,341,556
- +1.2% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Maryland (66% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Charles A and Lois H Miller funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Maryland Foundation Inc ($20K). Together the top 8 received $68K.
Grant Size Distribution
69 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 69 grants of 69 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How The Charles A and Lois H Miller gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−15%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 103% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $68K (2025) to $80K (2024). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $68K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Maryland Foundation Inc Baltimore, MD | Support for the institute of marine and environmental technology school | $20,000 |
| Preservation Society of Newport Newport, RI | General Support | $9,050 |
| Baltimore Heritage Inc Baltimore, MD | General Support | $7,050 |
| Baltimore Design School Baltimore, MD | General Support | $6,962 |
| Newport Art Museum Newport, RI | General Support | $6,962 |
| Rhode Island School of Design Providence, RI | General Support | $6,962 |
| Walters Art Museum Baltimore, MD | General Support | $6,962 |
| GBMC Foundaiton Towson, MD | General Support | $4,177 |
Ready to take the next step with The Charles A and Lois H Miller?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,341,556 | $60,568 | $88,216 | $68,125 | 8 | $85,425 | $58,589 | $83,157 |
| 2024 | $1,325,035 | $66,855 | $103,252 | $80,231 | 9 | $98,876 | $62,913 | $83,840 |
| 2023 | $1,287,619 | $59,738 | $100,595 | $79,983 | 13 | $96,730 | $61,718 | $81,088 |
| 2022 | $1,258,764 | $39,517 | $100,619 | $79,990 | 13 | $100,575 | $36,273 | $83,862 |
| 2021 | $1,301,173 | $17,744 | $94,976 | $79,785 | 26 | $79,785 | $30,691 | $87,058 |
| 2020 | $1,316,726 | $18,279 | $19,537 | — | — | — | $38,845 | $79,062 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Charles A and Lois H Miller reported a distributable amount of $83K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Charles A and Lois H Miller is led by Charles Miller, Executive Director on every filing since 2023; all 2 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Charles Miller
Executive Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
$10K (2025)
Ricka E. Neuman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$5K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $10K, to Charles Miller (Executive Director). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about The Charles A and Lois H Miller
How much does The Charles A and Lois H Miller give each year?
The Charles A and Lois H Miller gave $68K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $80K across 9 grants.
What is The Charles A and Lois H Miller's typical grant size?
The Charles A and Lois H Miller's median grant in 2025 was $6,962, and its average grant was $8,516, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Charles A and Lois H Miller give grants?
The Charles A and Lois H Miller gives mostly in Maryland: 66% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Rhode Island (34%). The most frequent recipient cities were Baltimore, MD (4 grants) and Newport, RI (2 grants).
Does The Charles A and Lois H Miller give general operating support?
Yes: 88% of The Charles A and Lois H Miller's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (7 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Charles A and Lois H Miller's largest grantees?
The Charles A and Lois H Miller's largest 2025 grantees include University of Maryland Foundation Inc ($20,000), Preservation Society of Newport ($9,050) and Baltimore Heritage Inc ($7,050), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 53% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Charles A and Lois H Miller?
The Charles A and Lois H Miller reported $1.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $85K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $83K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Charles A and Lois H Miller's EIN?
The Charles A and Lois H Miller's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 27-0779325. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 5, 2024)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 8, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Live grants for the work The Charles A and Lois H Miller funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
- Nixa Affiliate Grantmaking Program Up to US $10,000 · Due October 19, 2026
- Community and School Grants $28,000 total pool; 10-15 grants expected · Due October 19, 2026
- Mary Pinola/Crescenta Valley Chamber Education Fund $500 - $5,000 for ongoing programs; up to $15,000 for Strategic Initiative Grants · Due October 19, 2026
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Charles A and Lois H Miller's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Baltimore Community Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Community Foundation supports schools, neighborhoods, and community projects, including work on kindergarten readiness, student well-being, neighborhood vitality, and arts and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $19,800, with amounts varying widely, and its strategic school and neighborhood grants focus on Baltimore City and Baltimore County. It invites applications through its online portal for specified grant programs.
Assets
$314.3M
Grants
604
Total Given
$29.3M
The Stephen & Renee Bisciotti Foundation
Baltimore, MD
The foundation supports Baltimore-focused 501(c)(3) organizations in education, mentorship, community and workforce development, entrepreneurship, and expanding opportunity for underserved communities. In 2024, grants ranged from $680 to $8 million, with a median of $75,000; most funding went to Maryland, though grants also went to organizations in other states. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$474.4M
Grants
79
Total Given
$42.1M
The Abell Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Abell Foundation funds nonprofits, government agencies, and fiscally sponsored projects addressing health, education, community development, workforce, justice and addiction, the environment, and arts, as well as Baltimore-focused research and catalytic business investments. Its giving is focused on Baltimore City, with a typical grant of about $20,000 (2024 median; awards ranged from $188 to $300,000). It accepts applications: requests of $10,000 or less are reviewed on a rolling basis, while larger requests go through five annual board meetings.
Assets
$296.4M
Grants
391
Total Given
$13.4M
France-Merrick Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Foundation funds one-time, project-based work in civic and culture, community and economic development, conservation, education, health and human services, and historic preservation, mainly in greater Baltimore and elsewhere in Maryland. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $305,000, with a median of $22,370. It accepts unsolicited requests through a rolling letter-of-inquiry process; proposals are by invitation.
Assets
$192.7M
Grants
184
Total Given
$10.1M
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports Jewish life and related charitable, educational, religious, health, humanitarian, cultural, and social-service needs in Baltimore, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15.25 million, with a median of $18,750; the profile describes specific funding opportunities and donor-advised fund recommendations but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$446.7M
Grants
515
Total Given
$53.0M
The United Way of Central Maryland Inc
Baltimore, MD
United Way of Central Maryland funds community organizations and projects addressing basic needs, family stability, education, housing, health, and economic advancement in Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard counties. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,067 to $461,984, with a median of $15,078; specific opportunities use competitive applications, but the profile does not state whether general unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$51.1M
Grants
216
Total Given
$10.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Maryland
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Charles A and Lois H Miller's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Charles A and Lois H Miller down — hundreds of funders to go?