The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing supports nurses to achieve excellence by being the industry leader in professional credentialing while promoting the value of certification and lifelong learning.
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing at a glance
In short: The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing gave $165K across 4 grants in 2024 (avg $41K), top state Illinois. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $165,000
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 4
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $41,250
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $40,000
- Total assets
- $17,256,652
- +13.3% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Illinois (30% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Emergency Nurses Association Foundation ($50K). Together the top 4 received $165K.
Grant Size Distribution
21 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 15 grants of 21 (71%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−4%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $165K (2022) to $205K (2020). In 2024 it made 4 grants totaling $165K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Emergency Nurses Association Foundation Schaumburg, IL | Donation for Higher Education Scholarhips | $50,000 |
| Air and Surface Transport Nurses Association Aurora, CO | Donation for Higher Education Scholarships & Bereavement Fund | $45,000 |
| Foundation of the Student Nurses Association Brooklyn, NY | Donation for Higher Education Scholarships | $35,000 |
| Society of Trauma Nurses Frankfort, KY | Donation for Higher Education Scholarships | $35,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $17,256,652 | $8,301,670 | $6,941,015 | $165,000 | 4 | $692,829 |
| 2023 | $15,226,488 | $6,928,143 | $6,621,607 | $165,000 | 4 | $95,686 |
| 2022 | $13,681,176 | $6,338,118 | $6,304,733 | $165,000 | 4 | $340,921 |
| 2021 | $14,934,746 | $6,150,002 | $5,855,507 | $171,000 | 4 | $1,116,891 |
| 2020 | $14,318,467 | $5,824,748 | $5,749,667 | $205,000 | 5 | $371,709 |
| 2019 | $13,691,162 | $5,949,105 | $5,448,658 | $205,000 | 5 | $400,957 |
About The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing
Based on IRS filings
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing is a public charity, based in Oak Brook, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $17.3M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 4 grants totaling $165K. Net investment income was $693K.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing is led by Janie Schumaker, CEO since 2021 (on filings since 2019); 6 of 15 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Janie Schumaker
CEO
Executive Director → CEO, 2021
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$221K (2019) → $338K (2024)
Allen Wolfe
Chairperson
Member at Large → Chairperson Elect, 2022
Chairperson Elect → Chairperson, 2024
On filings since 2019
12 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Amy Grand
Director of Certifications
Director of Certification & Accreditation → Director of Certification, 2021
Director of Certification → Director of Certifications, 2023
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$127K (2019) → $156K (2024)
Brigid Flood
Director Strategy & Operations
Director of Strategy & Operations → Director of Strategy & Ope, 2021
Director of Strategy & Ope → Director Strategy & Operations, 2022
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$156K (2019) → $193K (2024)
Michael Dexter
Director of Professional D
Director of Professional Development → Director of Professional D, 2024
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$136K (2022) → $157K (2024)
Steven Talbot
Director
Secretary & Treasurer → Member at Large, 2022
Member at Large → Director, 2023
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brody Eick
Director
Member at Large → Director, 2023
On filings since 2022
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Roger Casey
Director
Member at Large → Director, 2023
On filings since 2022
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Emily Werthman
Director
New on the 2024 filing
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rebecca Steinmann
Immediate Past Chairperson
Chairperson Elect → Chairperson, 2022
Chairperson → Immediate Past Chairperson, 2024
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
$15K (2022) → $0 (2024)
Kathy Mace
Employer Relationships Man
Employer Relationships Manager → Employer Relationships Man, 2024
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$154K (2023) → $166K (2024)
Holly Briggs
Professional Development Specialist
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$104K (2024)
Sean Elwell
Secretary & Treasurer
Member at Large → Director, 2023
Director → Secretary & Treasurer, 2024
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Julie Ruddy
Chairperson Elect
Member at Large → Secretary & Treasurer, 2022
Secretary & Treasurer → Chairperson Elect, 2024
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Rob Corrao
Public Member
New on the 2024 filing
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (12)
- Former: Kyle Madigan (2019–2023) — Immediate Past Chairperson
- Former: Hilde Marnul (2020–2023) — Director of Marketing & Communications
- Former: Leigh Ann Yates (2022–2023) — Public Member
- Former: Katherine Mace (2019–2022) — Employer Relationships Manager
- Former: Troy Madigan (2022) — Immediate Past Chairperson
- Former: Andrew Veitch (2019–2021) — Member at Large
- Former: Lorie Ledford (2019–2021) — Immediate Past Chair
- Former: Robert Carrao (2019–2021) — Public Member
- Former: Mark Eggers (2020–2021) — Education & Technology Ser
- Former: Hildegard Marnul (2021) — Director of Marketing
- Former: Mary Whelan (2019) — Immediate Past Chairperson
- Former: Pat Normandin (2019) — Ena Representiave
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $338K, to Janie Schumaker (CEO). 6 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing
How much does The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing give each year?
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing gave $165K across 4 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $165K across 4 grants.
What is The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's typical grant size?
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's median grant in 2024 was $40,000, and its average grant was $41,250, across 4 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.
Where does The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing give grants?
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's top state is Illinois, with 30% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Colorado (27%) and New York (21%).
Does The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.
How large is The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing?
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing reported $17.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $8.3M.
What is The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's EIN?
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-3473137. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 22, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 17, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 24, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 19, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 26, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 10, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024
Other open foundation grants in Illinois
Illinois Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Illinois
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
$89.3M
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL
The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
Chicago, IL
The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago funds human services, Jewish education and community programs, crisis response, and support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, primarily through Chicago-area agencies and initiatives. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $20,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
896
Total Given
$166.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing down — hundreds of funders to go?