The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Baltimore, MD EIN: 52-1604007

To plan, sponsor and engage in activities in support of, and to raise funds for the benefit of, the baltimore polytechnic institute, including its students and alumni.

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc at a glance

In short: The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc gave $198K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $198K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$198,000
+7.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$198,000
+7.2% vs 2024
Median grant
$198,000
Total assets
$7,953,765
+7.4% vs 2024
Primary geography
Maryland (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Baltimore Polytechnic Institute: $198KBaltimore PolytechnicInstitute$198K

The largest 2025 recipient was Baltimore Polytechnic Institute ($198K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K4$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 4 grants of 5 (80%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Baltimore

How The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc gives

  • Giving fell 21% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $185K (2024) to $280K (2019). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $198K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Baltimore, MDSupport of baltimore polytechnic institute in baltimore, md includes maintenance & improvements to the facility, and purchase of equipment for use by the students in attendance at the school.$198,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$7,953,765$1,448,480$1,321,694$198,0001$367,414
2024$7,408,567$1,236,409$1,013,599$184,7001$307,221
2023$6,770,041$868,364$1,006,421$205,8521$219,837
2022$6,554,646$1,102,681$1,052,456$250,0001$326,359
2021$7,675,248$1,742,664$882,605$203,0001$604,307
2020$5,601,777$374,154$980,574$215,0001$-190,459
2019$6,184,498$1,102,981$883,005$280,0001$51,997

About The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc

Based on IRS filings

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Baltimore, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $8.0M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $198K. Net investment income was $367K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc is led by Angie Brickhouse, Executive Director on every filing since 2019; 1 of 16 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Angie Brickhouse

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $29K (2019) → $110K (2025)

  • Douglas Handy

    President

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ervin McDaniel

    Chairperson

    Secretary → Chairperson, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Craig Watson

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dwight Taylor

    Board of Trustees

    Chairman → Chairperson, 2021

    Chairperson → Board of Trustees, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Gill

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick Tracy

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sherita Thomas

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sydney Wyatt Martin

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • William F. Hunter Jr.

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Fisher

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dontae Ryan

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Larry Geisendaffer

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Keith Roberts

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nyree Wilson

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tom Pedroni

    Board of Trustees

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (9)
  • Former: Adrian Palazzi To (2024) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Adrian Palazzi (2019–2023) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Darryl Stokes To (2023) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Bernard Lahatte (2019–2022) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Darryl Stokes (2019–2022) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Cleaveland Miller (2019–2021) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: David Wright (2020–2021) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Ronald Lowman (2019–2020) — Board of Trustees
  • Former: Teddy Coates (2019–2020) — Board of Trustees

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Angie Brickhouse — Executive Director: $110KAngie BrickhouseExecutive Director$110K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $110K, to Angie Brickhouse (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc

How much does The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc give each year?

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc gave $198K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $185K across 1 grant.

How large is The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc?

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc reported $8.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.4M.

What is The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc?

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Baltimore, MD. It holds $8.0M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc operate?

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc has awarded grants in Maryland.

What is The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc's EIN?

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-1604007. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 11, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 9, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 12, 2020)
  7. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Maryland

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg

Owings Mills, MD

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

872

Total Given

$127.8M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

The Keith Campbell Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Keith Campbell Foundation funds nonprofits working for equitable, livable communities, especially on watershed health, clean water, agriculture, and related community needs, with a focus on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays and California’s San Francisco Bay watershed. Giving varies widely: 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts unsolicited requests, with two application cycles per year.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$420.2M

Grants

688

Total Given

$27.9M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Baltimore Community Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

Baltimore Community Foundation supports schools, neighborhoods, and community projects, including work on kindergarten readiness, student well-being, neighborhood vitality, and arts and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $19,800, with amounts varying widely, and its strategic school and neighborhood grants focus on Baltimore City and Baltimore County. It invites applications through its online portal for specified grant programs.

Assets

$314.3M

Grants

604

Total Given

$29.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Maryland

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Baltimore Polytechnic Institute Foundation and Alumni Association Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?