SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation
To enhance the scientific understanding of fire and its interaction with the social, natural and built environments. Research grants are awarded to students, faculty, universities, and companies. The Foundation also distributes professional awards and competitive scholarships.
Key facts about SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation
In short: SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation gave $204K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $34K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 04-2701210
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $204,250
- Grants made (2024)
- 6
- Average grant
- $34,042
- Median grant
- $33,375
- Total assets
- $948,395
- Primary geography
- Maryland (55% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$948K
+3.7% YoY
Annual Giving
$204K
+41.7% YoY
Grant Count
6
+100.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$34K
-29.1% YoY
How SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation gives
- Giving grew 158% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation
Based on IRS filings
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation is a public charity, based in Gaithersburg, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $948K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $204K. Net investment income was $14K.
Ready to take the next step with SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2020) to $204K (2024). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $204K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Jensen Hughes ($53K). Together the top 6 received $204K.
Grant Size Distribution
15 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 13 grants of 15 (87%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jensen Hughes Baltimore, MD | Research Project: "Engineering Risk Consultant for FEMA-Funded WUI Project - Beyond Parcel-Level Risk Assessment & Mitigation: Engaging Fire Service & Community Stakeholders" | $52,500 |
| Code Red Consultants LLC Southborough, MA | Research Project: "Engineering Risk Consultant for FEMA-Funded WUI Project - Beyond Parcel-Level Risk Assessment & Mitigation: Engaging Fire Service & Community Stakeholders" | $40,000 |
| Fire and Risk Alliance LLC Rockville, MD | "Energy Storage System (ESS) Hazards" project led by Fire & Risk Alliance and ZAG (Slovenia); paid 50% in 2024 and will pay the rest upon completion in 2025 | $40,000 |
| Engineered Fire Systems Inc Grass Valley, CA | Research Project: "Engineering Risk Consultant for FEMA-Funded WUI Project - Beyond Parcel-Level Risk Assessment & Mitigation: Engaging Fire Service & Community Stakeholders" | $26,750 |
| Halliwell Engineering Associates LLC East Providence, RI | SFPE WUI Advanced Cirriculum Development: "Advanced Training Topics in WUI Fire Risk Assessment & Mitigation" | $25,000 |
| Frederick Community College Frederick, MD | Emergency management and public safety | $20,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $948,395 | $914,489 | $855,884 |
| Revenue | $538,862 | $359,050 | $349,884 |
| Expenses | $553,772 | $439,776 | $291,168 |
| Net Investment Income | $14,425 | $14,115 | $10,558 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 29, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 11, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 12, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation is led by Peter Senez, Chair since 2020 (on filings since 2019); none of the 21 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Peter Senez
Chair
Governor → Chair, 2020
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Leslie Marshall
Sfpe Foundation Director
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Casey C Grant
Governor
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph Talbert
Treasurer
Governor → Treasurer, 2020
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kerry M Bell
Governor
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Manuel R Silva Jr.
Governor
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Noah Ryder
Governor
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Erica Kuligowski
Governor
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shamim Rashid-Sumar
Governor
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Virginia R Charter
Governor
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Debbie Scott
Treasurer From
Governor → Treasurer From, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Leonard J Ramo
Governor
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Maria B Marks
Vice Chair
Governor → Vice Chair, 2022
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ann E Jeffers
Governor
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Chris Jelenewicz
Secretary
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chris LaFleur
Governor
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sean Donohue
Governor
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Steve Kerber
Governor
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lainey Liotta
Governor
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Margaret McNamee
Governor
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Phil Friday
Governor
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (13)
- Former: Bryan Klein (2019–2023) — Governor
- Former: Nicole Testa Boston (2019–2023) — Secretary
- Former: Justin B Biller (2020–2023) — Governor
- Former: Jeffrey Harrington (2019–2022) — Governor
- Former: Kathleen Almand (2021–2022) — Governor
- Former: Beth Tubbs (2019–2020) — Governor
- Former: Chris Butts (2019–2020) — Governor
- Former: Tod Ossmann (2019–2020) — Governor
- Former: Victor Sordillo (2019–2020) — Governor
- Former: John Durante (2020) — Governor
- Former: Deborah Shaner (2019) — Governor
- Former: Fred Mowrer (2019) — Chair
- Former: Randy Tucker (2019) — Governor
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation
How much does SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation give each year?
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation gave $204K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $144K across 3 grants.
What is SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's typical grant size?
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $33,375, and its average grant was $34,042, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.
Where does SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation give grants?
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation gives mostly in Maryland: 55% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were Massachusetts (20%) and California (13%).
Does SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.
Who are SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's largest grantees?
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Jensen Hughes ($52,500), Code Red Consultants LLC ($40,000) and Fire and Risk Alliance LLC ($40,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 65% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation?
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation reported $948K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $539K.
What is SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's EIN?
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-2701210. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Partnership for Cures
Chicago, IL
Cures Within Reach leverages the speed, safety and cost-effectiveness of testing approved therapies for new indications/diseases without effective treatment driving more treatments quicker to more patients.
Assets
$7.5M
Grants
7
Total Given
$385K
The University of British Columbia
UBC primarily supports post-secondary education, research, teaching and learning, Indigenous initiatives, and community-university partnerships, with many programs restricted to UBC teams or eligible partners. Its 2025 filing reported 18 grants totaling about $1.55 million, ranging from $19,947 to $364,334; funding programs include awards of up to $200,000. Its mission spans British Columbia, Canada and the world, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.2B
Grants
18
Total Given
$1.5M
Richard R Dossin Family Foundation
Grosse Pointe Shores, MI
The foundation supports charitable organizations working in areas including health care, vision services, historical preservation, education, and community programs, with most of its giving in Michigan. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $50,000, with a median of $5,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.9M
Grants
18
Total Given
$223K
Academy of Neurologic Physical
Roseville, MN
Academy of Neurologic Physical therapy, inc. Is a professional membership community advancing neurologic physical therapy through advocacy, education, research and clinical practice initiatives and resources to optimize movement and wellbeing for those at risk for or impacted by neurologic conditions.
Assets
$2.8M
Grants
3
Total Given
$42K
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (Ashp)
Bethesda, MD
Assets
$187.8M
Grants
4
Total Given
$412K
Mildred E Swanson Foundation
Pennington, NJ
Assets
$3.7M
Grants
5
Total Given
$200K
Society of Family Planning
Denver, CO
The Society of Family Planning funds competitive research on abortion and contraception, including medication abortion, contraceptive access, and family planning policy and practice, with priority for research centering people facing systemic barriers to care. In 2025, grants ranged from $400 to $723,000, with a median of about $54,000; it supports recipients across the United States. It does not accept unsolicited requests, but offers funding through specific calls for proposals.
Assets
$31.2M
Grants
61
Total Given
$4.5M
Acumen Fund Inc
New York, NY
Assets
$217.5M
Grants
9
Total Given
$860K
Aerojet Rocketdyne Foundation
Melbourne, FL
Assets
—
Grants
13
Total Given
$219K
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
Washington, DC
PhRMA funds advocacy, public education, and health-related organizations and initiatives aligned with its biopharmaceutical policy goals; its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely. Grants went mainly to organizations in Washington, DC, Connecticut, California, Virginia, and New York. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$349.0M
Grants
461
Total Given
$41.4M
Battelle Memorial Institute
Columbus, OH
Battelle supports STEM education, scientific and educational work, and community organizations; its Central Ohio STEM Grant focuses on sustainable K–12 programs, especially for underserved students. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,008 to $9,360,974, with a median of $12,300, and giving reached organizations across the U.S., especially in Ohio. The profile does not state whether Battelle accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
151
Total Given
$17.9M
Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation
Kansas City, MO
The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation funds college access and completion, workforce and career development, and entrepreneurship, with an emphasis on economic mobility and equitable opportunity in the Kansas City region. Its 2024 median grant was $75,000, though awards vary widely by program; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.5B
Grants
364
Total Given
$95.0M
More Funders in Maryland
SFPE Educational and Scientific Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?