Service Management Group Inc

Grantmaker Minnetonka, MN EIN: 20-2013846

To provide management services to the other affiliated nonprofit organizations that provide services and supports to people with disabilities and older adults living at home in their community.

Service Management Group Inc at a glance

In short: Service Management Group Inc gave $36K across 3 grants in 2024 (avg $12K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

Annual giving (2024)
$35,999
+26.8% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
3
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$12,000
+26.8% vs 2023
Median grant
$9,999
Total assets
$74,979,128
+213.2% vs 2023
Primary geography
Minnesota (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990 filing, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990 filing, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Service Management Group Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2024

The Arc of MN: $20KThe Arc of MN$20KAutism Society of Minnesota: $10KAutism Society of Minnesota$10KMinnesota Home Care Association: $6KMinnesota Home CareAssociation$6K

The largest 2024 recipient was The Arc of MN ($20K). Together the top 3 received $36K.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

10<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 10 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

States

Cities

St. PaulArden Hills

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K$40K3 grants2020 0 grants2021 1 grant2022 3 grants2023 3 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2022) to $36K (2024). In 2024 it made 3 grants totaling $36K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Arc of MN St. Paul, MNHealth for All Gala$20,000
Autism Society of Minnesota St. Paul, MNSponsorship Donation$9,999
Minnesota Home Care Association Arden Hills, MNSponsorship Donation$6,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Service Management Group Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$74,979,128$39,017,686$39,880,743$35,9993$1,488,854
2023$23,943,248$34,155,169$34,547,721$28,4003$1,418,002
2022$35,969,701$32,468,317$31,736,844$10,0001$-402,376
2021$26,354,857$27,255,023$27,814,225——$177,738
2020$24,466,017$27,197,228$27,879,262$30,0003$224,169

About Service Management Group Inc

Based on IRS filings

Service Management Group Inc is a nonprofit organization focused on Human Services, based in Minnetonka, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $75.0M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 3 grants totaling $36K. Net investment income was $1.5M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Service Management Group Inc is led by John Dahm, Chief Executive Officer on every filing since 2020; all 19 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • John Dahm

    Chief Executive Officer

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $382K (2020) → $665K (2024)

  • Mark Heston

    Chair

    Board Member → Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    $8K (2024)

  • Karen Ferk

    Program Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $134K (2020) → $149K (2024)

  • Rochelle Nelson Wodarz

    Program Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $162K (2020) → $175K (2024)

  • Tyler Langenfeld

    Program Director

    Director of Nursing → Program Director, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $117K (2020) → $140K (2024)

  • Valerie Patino

    Program Director

    Director of Nursing → Program Director, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $153K (2020) → $171K (2024)

  • Amy Hilsgen

    Chief Hr Officer

    Chief Human Resource Director → Chief Hr Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $119K (2020) → $186K (2024)

  • David Hancox

    Chief Organization Officer

    Chief Organization Officer → Chief Administration Officer, 2022

    Chief Administration Officer → Chief Organization Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $191K (2020) → $196K (2024)

  • Leann Frette

    Chief Solutions Officer

    Chief Financial Officer → Chief Solutions Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $203K (2020) → $255K (2024)

  • Monica Theisen

    Treasurer

    Board Member → Director, 2021

    Director → Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    $7K (2024)

  • Steve Suckow

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Secretary, 2021

    Secretary → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    $5K (2024)

  • Susan Morgan

    Chief Operations Officer

    Chief Compliance Officer → Chief Operations Officer, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $216K (2020) → $178K (2024)

  • Timothy Jones

    Chief Technology Officer

    It Director → Chief Technology Officer, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    18 hrs/week

    $121K (2020) → $178K (2024)

  • Robin Brown

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    $5K (2024)

  • Bonnie Hays

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    $5K (2024)

  • Kevin Draper

    It Development Manager

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    $128K (2022) → $138K (2024)

  • Christiana Finnern

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    $5K (2024)

  • Mike Holtz

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    $5K (2024)

  • Chad Derner

    Chief Financial Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    10 hrs/week

    $70K (2024)

Former officers (6)
  • Former: Mike O'Neil (2022–2023) — Secretary
  • Former: Hannah Rutt (2023) — Human Resources Director
  • Former: Karen Sturm (2020–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Nancy Proman (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Mike Neill (2021) — Director
  • Former: Robert Gordon (2020) — Chair

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

John Dahm — Chief Executive Officer: $665KJohn DahmChief Executive Officer$665KLeann Frette — Chief Solutions Officer: $255KLeann FretteChief Solutions Officer$255KDavid Hancox — Chief Organization Officer: $196KDavid HancoxChief Organization Officer$196KAmy Hilsgen — Chief HR Officer: $186KAmy HilsgenChief HR Officer$186KTimothy Jones — Chief Technology Officer: $178KTimothy JonesChief Technology Officer$178KSusan Morgan — Chief Operations Officer: $178KSusan MorganChief Operations Officer$178KRochelle Wodarz — Program Director: $175KRochelle WodarzProgram Director$175KValerie Patino — Program Director: $171KValerie PatinoProgram Director$171KKaren Ferk — Program Director: $149KKaren FerkProgram Director$149KTyler Langenfeld — Program Director: $140KTyler LangenfeldProgram Director$140KKevin Draper — It Development Manager: $138KKevin DraperIt Development Manager$138KChad Derner — Chief Financial Officer (Sept. 2024): $70KChad DernerChief Financial Officer (Sept.…$70KMark Heston — Chair: $8KMark HestonChair$8KMonica Theisen — Treasurer: $7KMonica TheisenTreasurer$7KSteve Suckow — Vice Chair: $5KSteve SuckowVice Chair$5KRobin Brown — Board Member: $5KRobin BrownBoard Member$5KBonnie Hays — Board Member: $5KBonnie HaysBoard Member$5KMike Holtz — Board Member: $5KMike HoltzBoard Member$5KChristiana Finnern — Board Member: $5KChristiana FinnernBoard Member$5K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $665K, to John Dahm (Chief Executive Officer). 19 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Service Management Group Inc

How much does Service Management Group Inc give each year?

Service Management Group Inc gave $36K across 3 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. In 2023 it gave $28K across 3 grants.

What is Service Management Group Inc's typical grant size?

Service Management Group Inc's median grant in 2024 was $9,999, and its average grant was $12,000, across 3 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

Where does Service Management Group Inc give grants?

Service Management Group Inc gives mostly in Minnesota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were St. Paul, MN (2 grants).

Does Service Management Group Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Service Management Group Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 filing were described as general or operating support.

How large is Service Management Group Inc?

Service Management Group Inc reported $75.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. Its revenue that year was $39.0M.

What is Service Management Group Inc?

Service Management Group Inc is a nonprofit organization focused on Human Services, based in Minnetonka, MN. It holds $75.0M in total assets as of 2024.

What is Service Management Group Inc's EIN?

Service Management Group Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-2013846. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Service Management Group Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Minnesota

CFA Institute

Charlottesville, VA

CFA Institute funds education, professional development, ethical standards, and investment research, with reported grants primarily supporting CFA societies and the CFA Institute Research Foundation. In 2025, grants ranged from $9,048 to $459,603, with a median of $37,542; recipients were led by New York, California, Virginia, Illinois, and Massachusetts. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

69

Total Given

$3.8M

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

Wells Fargo Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

Wells Fargo Foundation funds financial opportunity, affordable housing, small business growth, and some other local community needs across national and eligible local communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations may submit a grant interest form to be considered for an invitation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.6M

Grants

1,376

Total Given

$157.4M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Service Management Group Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Service Management Group Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?