Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316

Private foundation · Grantmaker Sioux Falls, SD EIN: 36-7178438

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 is a private foundation, based in Sioux Falls, SD. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $189K. Net investment income was $315K.

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 at a glance

In short: Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 gave $189K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $189K), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$189,240
+6.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$189,240
+6.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$189,240
Total assets
$4,357,020
+2.8% vs 2024
Primary geography
Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Sure Foundation Training Center: $189KSure Foundation TrainingCenter$189K

The largest 2025 recipient was Sure Foundation Training Center ($189K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K5$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

MontevalloBaltimoreThorsby

How Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−10%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 81% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K2 grants2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $172K (2021) to $210K (2022). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $189K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Sure Foundation Training Center Thorsby, ALEducation$189,240
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$4,357,020$389,977$271,810$189,2401$189,240$315,013$233,673
2024$4,239,148$2,005,173$225,817$177,1921$177,192$1,958,378$189,240
2023$2,454,752$74,735$230,544$188,0001$203,428$48,108$193,045
2022$2,610,112$241,411$251,851$210,3701$218,196$212,457$195,401
2021$2,619,039$530,942$213,559$172,2661$180,392$501,014$218,497
2020$2,301,027$190,104$207,607$175,4502—$162,871$178,968

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 reported a distributable amount of $234K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316's only listed officer is Wealth Enhancement Trust Services, Trustee on every filing since 2023 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Wealth Enhancement Trust Services

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $8K (2023) → $45K (2025)

Former officers (2)
  • Former: Regions Bank Trust Dept (2021–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Regions Bank (2020) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Wealth Enhancement Trust Services — Trustee: $45KWealth Enhancement…Trustee$45K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $45K, to Wealth Enhancement Trust Services (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316

How much does Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 give each year?

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 gave $189K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $177K across 1 grant.

How large is Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316?

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 reported $4.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $189K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $234K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

Where does Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 operate?

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 has awarded grants in Alabama, Maryland.

What is Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316's EIN?

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-7178438. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 6, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 13, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 12, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

The Victoria S and Bradley L Geist Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The foundation funds projects for young people transitioning from foster care and capacity-building for organizations serving foster children and their caregivers in Hawaii. Its capacity-building grants are typically $5,000–$40,000; recent annual grant totals varied widely, so a typical overall award size is not stated. It says giving is not limited to preselected organizations and lists application dates of January 15, May 15, and September 15.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$37.9M

Grants

1

Total Given

$3.2M

Mapp Family Foundation

Point Clear, AL

The foundation’s specific focus areas are not stated; its reported grants have supported general charitable purposes, with 2025 giving going to a community foundation in Mississippi. Grant amounts have varied widely, from a median of $8,000,000 in 2025 to a total of $3,726,635 across 82 grants in 2024. Applications are available upon request.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.0M

Grants

1

Total Given

$8.0M

Forrest and Minnie Oates SCHSP Trust

Saint Louis, MO

Education

Assets

$167K

Grants

7

Total Given

$8K

Callahan J and C Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The foundation supports preselected charitable organizations, including churches, educational institutions, and libraries; its 2025 grants all went to Alabama recipients. It awarded 10 grants totaling $83,650, ranging from $2,201 to $17,611, and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

10

Total Given

$84K

Aum Capital Group Charitable

Huntsville, AL

AUM Capital Group Charitable supports education, health care, economic development, and services for under-resourced people, including female high school students, with 2024 grants going to Alabama organizations. Its 14 grants ranged from $100 to $40,000, with a median of $1,338. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

14

Total Given

$58K

The Simpson Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The Simpson Foundation funds educational scholarships, with awards restricted to residents of Wilcox County, Alabama; recent grants have gone mostly to Alabama colleges and universities. In 2025 it made 23 grants totaling $274,400, ranging from $1,800 to $52,600, with a median of $7,200. It accepts student applications online, with a hardcopy transcript mailed to the foundation; the 2024 filing says applications are accepted approximately mid-January through March 1.

Assets

$2.6M

Grants

23

Total Given

$274K

More similar funders

More Funders in South Dakota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Pontius Family Foundation WETS01316 down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?