Pollinator Partnership
Pollinator Partnership (P2) is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization- the largest organization in the world dedicated exclusively to promote the health of pollinators, critical to food and ecosystems, through conservation, education, and research.
Pollinator Partnership at a glance
In short: Pollinator Partnership gave $83K across 9 grants in 2024 (avg $9K), top state North Carolina. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $83,472
- -4.5% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 9
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $9,275
- -4.5% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $10,000
- Total assets
- $6,194,145
- +1.3% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- North Carolina (24% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
How to apply to Pollinator Partnership
Open Grants
5 open opportunities from Pollinator Partnership
Call For Research Proposals Related To Imperiled Bombus Conservation
Pollinator Partnership
Amount
Varies
Deadline
Deadline not published
Honey Bee Health Improvement Project
Pollinator Partnership
Amount
Varies
Deadline
Deadline not published
Lepidoptera Conservation Grant
Pollinator Partnership
Amount
Varies
Deadline
Deadline not published
Who Pollinator Partnership funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 9 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Mississippi State University ($10K). Together the top 9 received $83K.
Grant Size Distribution
33 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 33 grants of 33 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Pollinator Partnership gives
- Giving grew 111% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $39K (2020) to $87K (2023). In 2024 it made 9 grants totaling $83K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mississippi State University Mississippi Sta, MS | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| North Carolina State Universi Raleigh, NC | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| The Ohio State University Columbus, OH | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| University of California Dav Los Angeles, CA | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| University of California San Los Angeles, CA | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| University of North Carolina Greensboro, NC | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| University of Puerto Rico San Juan, PR | Research about honey bees and pest | $10,000 |
| Bee Girl Ashland, OR | Research about honey bees and pest | $6,736 |
| Temple University Philadelphia, PA | Research about honey bees and pest | $6,736 |
Ready to take the next step with Pollinator Partnership?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $6,194,145 | $3,450,495 | $3,707,232 | $83,472 | 9 | $36,226 |
| 2023 | $6,113,969 | $4,688,016 | $2,617,123 | $87,388 | 9 | $34,687 |
| 2022 | $4,042,721 | $3,427,011 | $2,014,286 | $77,722 | 7 | $9,642 |
| 2021 | $2,473,853 | $1,173,923 | $1,053,201 | $39,543 | 4 | $241 |
| 2020 | $2,272,042 | $1,157,227 | $852,453 | $38,585 | 4 | $2,270 |
| 2019 | $1,958,332 | $1,455,432 | $1,098,790 | $45,337 | 5 | $7,747 |
About Pollinator Partnership
Based on IRS filings
Pollinator Partnership is a public charity focused on Environment & Animals, based in San Francisco, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $6.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 9 grants totaling $83K. Net investment income was $36K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Pollinator Partnership is led by Kelly Bills, Executive Director on every filing since 2022; 1 of 12 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Kelly Bills
Executive Director
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$106K (2022) → $116K (2024)
Terry Witzel
Chairman
Treasurer → Chairman, 2020
On filings since 2019
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jared Ficker
Director
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Steven P Quarles
Director
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dave White
Director
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lucky Williams
Director
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ron M BitnerPhD
Director
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Clint Walker III
Director
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Becky Martin
Director
New on the 2024 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Laurie Davies Adams
Secretary
President & CEO → Secretary & Former Executive Director, 2021
Secretary & Former Executive Director → Secretary, 2022
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$61K (2019) → $0 (2024)
Martin Rosen
Vice Chair
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Megan Denver
Treasurer
Secretary → Treasurer, 2020
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (8)
- Former: Steve Shestag (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Kevin Butt (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Taylor Hall (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Kyle Lybarger (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Gladys Phillips-Evans PhD (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: James L Bennington MD (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: John Lett (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Mark Moffet PhD (2019) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $116K, to Kelly Bills (Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about Pollinator Partnership
How much does Pollinator Partnership give each year?
Pollinator Partnership gave $83K across 9 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $87K across 9 grants.
What is Pollinator Partnership's typical grant size?
Pollinator Partnership's median grant in 2024 was $10,000, and its average grant was $9,275, across 9 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.
Where does Pollinator Partnership give grants?
Pollinator Partnership's top state is North Carolina, with 24% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were California (24%) and Mississippi (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Los Angeles, CA (2 grants).
Does Pollinator Partnership give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on Pollinator Partnership's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Research about honey bees and pest" (9 grants).
Who are Pollinator Partnership's largest grantees?
Pollinator Partnership's largest 2024 grantees include Mississippi State University ($10,000), North Carolina State Universi ($10,000) and The Ohio State University ($10,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 36% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Pollinator Partnership?
Pollinator Partnership reported $6.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.5M.
What is Pollinator Partnership?
Pollinator Partnership is a public charity focused on Environment & Animals, based in San Francisco, CA. It holds $6.2M in total assets as of 2024.
What is Pollinator Partnership's EIN?
Pollinator Partnership's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 94-3283967. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 6, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 9, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Pollinator Partnership's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Tuskegee University
Tuskegee Institute, AL
Tuskegee University’s reported grants support education, research, and related initiatives, including work in public health, technology, environmental science, and food systems. In 2025, it made 21 grants ranging from $8,068 to $566,295, with a median of $58,139, to recipients in multiple states, especially Massachusetts, Texas, and Alabama. The available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$642.9M
Grants
21
Total Given
$2.0M
United States Endowment for Forestry
Greenville, SC
The United States Endowment for Forestry funds projects that support sustainable working forests, forest health and retention, forest-product and ecosystem-service markets, and forest-reliant communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,754 to $569,144, with a median of about $101,000; it funds projects across the United States. It does not accept unsolicited requests, but applicants can apply to open RFPs through its Grantee Portal.
Assets
$292.5M
Grants
66
Total Given
$9.1M
Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Association Inc
Chicago, IL
The Alzheimer’s Association funds Alzheimer’s and dementia research, including basic, clinical, social and behavioral studies, and supports care, prevention, early detection, awareness, and advocacy. In 2025, its 79 grants ranged from $10,000 to $13.3 million, with a median of $270,750; research opportunities are open to U.S. and international researchers.
Assets
$523.7M
Grants
79
Total Given
$73.3M
Family Health International Inc
Durham, NC
FHI 360 funds health, nutrition, education, economic and social development, and humanitarian work, including global health research and programs, in the United States and internationally. In 2025, its grants ranged from $5,105 to $5.76 million, with a median award of $108,588. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$348.2M
Grants
146
Total Given
$72.3M
American Council of Learned Societies
New York, NY
The American Council of Learned Societies funds humanities and interpretive social science research through fellowships and grants for scholars and scholarly teams, including support for research, education, cultural exchange, and public-facing work. In 2025, its 153 grants ranged from $5,668 to $1,232,000, with a median of $80,000; it supports scholars worldwide, though recent grant dollars were concentrated in several U.S. states and Washington, DC. Applications are made through individual program competitions; the profile does not say whether ACLS accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$217.0M
Grants
153
Total Given
$17.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in California
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Pollinator Partnership's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Pollinator Partnership down — hundreds of funders to go?