Poinsatte-Altman Foundation
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation is a private foundation, based in Pittsburgh, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $73K. Net investment income was $96K.
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation at a glance
In short: Poinsatte-Altman Foundation gave $73K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $8K), mostly in Indiana. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $72,559
- +35.5% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- +50.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $8,062
- -9.7% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $7,000
- Total assets
- $1,375,380
- +1.0% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Indiana (72% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
How to apply to Poinsatte-Altman Foundation
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from Poinsatte-Altman Foundation
Who Poinsatte-Altman Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 9 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Wellspring Interfaith Social Services ($15K). Together the top 9 received $73K.
Grant Size Distribution
36 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 36 grants of 36 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
Cities
How Poinsatte-Altman Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+15%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 108% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $54K (2024) to $73K (2025). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $73K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Wellspring Interfaith Social Services Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $15,000 |
| Salvation Army Alexandria, VA | General Support | $10,000 |
| Blessings in a Backpack Inc Louisville, KY | General Support | $10,000 |
| Inner City Hope Corporation Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $10,000 |
| Healthvisions Midwest Inc Hammond, IN | General Support | $7,000 |
| Foundation for Art and Music Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $6,559 |
| Euell a Wilson Center Inc Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $6,000 |
| Fort Wayne Society of St Vincent Depaul Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $5,000 |
| Image of Hope Ranch Auburn, IN | General Support | $3,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Poinsatte-Altman Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,375,380 | $113,624 | $99,634 | $72,559 | 9 | $81,510 | $95,804 | $75,345 |
| 2024 | $1,361,162 | $25,535 | $78,356 | $53,545 | 6 | $61,916 | $22,749 | $80,930 |
| 2023 | $1,404,471 | $11,964 | $84,615 | $59,168 | 7 | $72,690 | $23,080 | $67,067 |
| 2022 | $1,477,393 | $163,246 | $92,567 | $63,105 | 6 | $76,338 | $149,817 | $72,401 |
| 2021 | $1,404,648 | $175,285 | $83,513 | $53,699 | 8 | — | $161,582 | $76,660 |
| 2020 | $1,313,560 | $182,000 | $84,010 | $55,076 | 7 | — | $169,172 | $68,755 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Poinsatte-Altman Foundation reported a distributable amount of $75K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's only listed officer is PNC Bank NA, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
PNC Bank NA
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$28K (2020) → $22K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $22K, to PNC Bank NA (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Poinsatte-Altman Foundation
How much does Poinsatte-Altman Foundation give each year?
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation gave $73K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $54K across 6 grants.
What is Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's typical grant size?
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $7,000, and its average grant was $8,062, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Poinsatte-Altman Foundation give grants?
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation gives mostly in Indiana: 72% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Virginia (14%) and Kentucky (14%). The most frequent recipient cities were Fort Wayne, IN (5 grants).
Does Poinsatte-Altman Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (9 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's largest grantees?
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Wellspring Interfaith Social Services ($15,000), Salvation Army ($10,000) and Blessings in a Backpack Inc ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 48% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Poinsatte-Altman Foundation?
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $82K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $75K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's EIN?
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-6350291. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 21, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS December 13, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS January 12, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 29, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 22, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 12, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Other open foundation grants in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne Inc
Fort Wayne, IN
The Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne funds nonprofits, scholarships, and community initiatives, with grant programs focused on Allen County and Northeast Indiana; its 2025 grants had a median award of $17,450, while specific programs offer up to $50,000. It accepts applications through some competitive grant programs, subject to program guidelines and application periods.
Assets
$287.7M
Grants
299
Total Given
$12.9M
The James Foundation Inc
Auburn, IN
The James Foundation funds education and scholarships, arts and culture, and innovative projects that improve quality of life, primarily in Northeast Indiana, while also supporting some national organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $10,000. Its website says it is not accepting applications at this time; the 2025 filing describes a preliminary grant application.
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
71
Total Given
$8.9M
The Waterfield Foundation Inc
Fort Wayne, IN
The Waterfield Foundation supports charitable and educational work in health and human services, education, arts and humanities, and community development, with a strong preference for Fort Wayne and surrounding communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $166,407, with a median of $2,000. It accepts unsolicited requests from eligible organizations.
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
53
Total Given
$398K
English-Bonter-Mitchell Fdn
Pittsburgh, PA
The foundation’s 2024 grants supported arts and culture, youth programming, education, health, and services for people with disabilities, with all reported grant dollars going to Indiana recipients. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $550,000, with a median of $25,000. It says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, but the available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$144.8M
Grants
109
Total Given
$6.4M
Parkview Health System Inc
Fort Wayne, IN
Parkview Health System funds collaborative programs that address community health needs, including health-care access, mental health, substance use, maternal and child health, and other social drivers of health, with priority for underserved populations in northeast Indiana and northwest Ohio. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $2.8 million, with a median of $40,000; its mini-grants offer up to $5,000. It accepts unsolicited applications through online forms, with mini-grant requests accepted year-round and reviewed quarterly; program-support applications have a stated application window.
Assets
$2.5B
Grants
23
Total Given
$5.6M
Edward M Wilson Foundation
Pittsburgh, PA
The Edward M Wilson Foundation has supported arts and culture, heritage, a zoo, parks, and community services, with grants recorded in Pennsylvania and Indiana; its latest filing directs all grant dollars to Pennsylvania. Giving has ranged from $1,609,000 across 83 grants in 2023 to $1,808,100 across one grant in 2025, but the typical individual award is unclear. A filing says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$37.6M
Grants
1
Total Given
$1.8M
More similar funders
More Funders in Pennsylvania
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Poinsatte-Altman Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Poinsatte-Altman Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?