Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn

Private foundation · Grantmaker Bala Cynwyd, PA EIN: 46-1563265

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn is a private foundation based in Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania. In 2025, it made 58 grants totaling $1,683,500; the listed grant purposes are generally charitable, and supported organizations include education, mentoring, arts, cultural, and human-services organizations.

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn at a glance

In short: Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn gave $1.7M across 58 grants in 2025 (avg $29K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,683,500
+26.9% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
58
+18.4% vs 2024
Average grant
$29,026
+7.2% vs 2024
Median grant
$20,000
Total assets
$40,119,228
+33.2% vs 2024
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (55% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026.

How to apply to Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn

Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to Apply

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Contact

Mailing address: One Bala Plaza Suite 100, Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004
Phone: (610) 617-7900

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation: $314K across 3 grantsThe Childrens Hospital ofPhiladelphia Foundation$314K · 3 grantsArbor Day Foundation: $120KArbor Day Foundation$120KAmerican Red Cross: $75K across 2 grantsAmerican Red Cross$75K · 2 grantsAcademy in Manayunk Inc: $60KAcademy in Manayunk Inc$60KTrustees of the Univerisity of Pennsylvania: $50KTrustees of the Univerisity ofPennsylvania$50KBig Brothers Big Sisters of America: $50KBig Brothers Big Sisters ofAmerica$50KWoodmere Art Museum Inc: $50KWoodmere Art Museum Inc$50KOnegoal: $50KOnegoal$50KUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: $50KUniversity of North Carolinaat Chapel Hill$50KShoes That Fit: $50KShoes That Fit$50K

The largest 2025 recipient was The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation ($314K across 3 grants). Together the top 10 received $869K.

Grant Size Distribution

167 grants across all recorded years

118<$50K40$50–100K9$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 118 grants of 167 (71%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, 55% of grant dollars went to Pennsylvania recipients. Other leading recipient states and jurisdictions were Nebraska (7%), the District of Columbia (6%), Florida (5%), and California (5%).

Grant Distribution by State

23states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 58 itemized grants.

Cities

PhiladelphiaWashingtonLincolnAlexandriaConshohockenLos AngelesAthensSyracuseTallahasseeBostonChicagoClaremontHoustonArdmoreDenverLas VegasMiamiNew YorkPhoenixvilleSaint Louis

How Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn gives

  • 13% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 189% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 104% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M1 grant2020 11 grants2021 19 grants2022 30 grants2023 49 grants2024 58 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $469K (2021) to $1.8M (2020). In 2025 it made 58 grants totaling $1.7M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation Philadelphia, PAFor General Charitable Purposes$125,000
Arbor Day Foundation Lincoln, NEFor General Charitable Purposes$120,000
The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation Philadelphia, PAFor General Charitable Purposes$100,000
The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation Philadelphia, PAFor General Charitable Purposes$88,500
Academy in Manayunk Inc Conshohocken, PAFor General Charitable Purposes$60,000
Trustees of the Univerisity of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PAFor General Charitable Purposes$50,000
Big Brothers Big Sisters of America Tampa, FLFor General Charitable Purposes$50,000
Woodmere Art Museum Inc Philadelphia, PAFor General Charitable Purposes$50,000
Onegoal Chicago, ILFor General Charitable Purposes$50,000
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill, NCFor General Charitable Purposes$50,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$40,119,228$11,709,925$1,832,700$1,683,50058$1,683,500$1,524,678$1,611,613
2024$30,108,986$4,052,626$1,530,760$1,326,84349$1,331,343$2,668,779$1,476,652
2023$27,805,225$6,391,384$1,086,256$938,42730$942,927$558,571$1,121,074
2022$22,194,218$10,593,749$683,785$582,10419$586,604$507,719$633,768
2021$12,360,385$5,683,272$538,412$468,50011$473,000$558,360$448,890
2020$7,108,375$592,527$1,885,888$1,815,0001—$65,173$391,273

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn reported a distributable amount of $1.6M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations working in several areas. For example, Academy in Manayunk says it provides educational opportunities to children with language-based learning disabilities, and OneGoal says it helps underserved students earn a postsecondary degree. Big Brothers Big Sisters of America describes its work as providing professionally supported one-to-one relationships for children facing adversity. Other 2025 grantees include Children’s Scholarship Fund Philadelphia, which provides needs-based scholarships for Philadelphia children to attend K–8 schools, and Shoes That Fit, which gives new athletic shoes to children in need.

The foundation also supported arts and cultural organizations: Woodmere Art Museum says it promotes creativity and learning through experiences with Philadelphia-area art and artists, while Friends of the Japanese House and Garden says it fosters understanding and collaboration between Japan and the Philadelphia region. Freedom House describes its work as providing recovery-oriented services for people affected by substance dependency and helping reunite families and build safe communities.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation reported 58 grants totaling $1,683,500. Awards ranged from $5,000 to $125,000, with a median grant of $20,000. Among its largest grants were $125,000, $100,000, and $88,500 to The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation; $120,000 to the Arbor Day Foundation; and $60,000 to Academy in Manayunk. Other reported 2025 awards included $50,000 each to the University of Pennsylvania, Big Brothers Big Sisters of America, Woodmere Art Museum, OneGoal, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Shoes That Fit, and the American Red Cross. Children’s Scholarship Fund Philadelphia also reported receiving $50,000 in 2025.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists John W. Glomb Jr. and Karen A. Gilmer-Pauciello as directors, Michael W. Kelly as vice president, and Scott Yurko as secretary.

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's 2025 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • John W. Glomb Jr.

    Director

    Executive Vice President → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen A. Gilmer-Pauciello

    Director

    Treasurer, Executive Vice President & CFO → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael W. Kelly

    Vice President

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott M. Yurko

    Secretary

    Assistant Coporate Secretary → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (3)
  • Former: Brian OReilly (2024) — Director
  • Former: Edward Sayago (2020–2023) — Corporate Secretary
  • Former: Robert O'Leary (2020–2023) — President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn

How much does Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn give each year?

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn gave $1.7M across 58 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1.3M across 49 grants.

What is Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's typical grant size?

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's median grant in 2025 was $20,000, and its average grant was $29,026, across 58 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn give grants?

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 55% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Nebraska (7%) and District of Columbia (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Philadelphia, PA (19 grants), Washington, DC (3 grants), Denver, CO (2 grants) and Phoenixville, PA (2 grants).

Does Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (58 of 58) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's largest grantees?

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's largest 2025 grantees include The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia Foundation ($313,500 across 3 grants), Arbor Day Foundation ($120,000) and American Red Cross ($75,000 across 2 grants), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 30% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn?

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn reported $40.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.7M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.6M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations working in several areas. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's EIN?

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-1563265. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 10, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 30, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 24, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 14, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 20, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Pennsylvania

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds nonprofits working in basic needs, equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, with most opportunities for organizations in Allegheny County or primarily serving its residents. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of about $18,600, though awards varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

The William Penn Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic participation, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training, primarily in the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 median grant was $50,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts unsolicited requests through limited open applications and invites letters of inquiry from public charities.

Assets

$3.4B

Grants

1,027

Total Given

$148.8M

Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation

Coraopolis, PA

DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports participation in under-resourced communities, including equipment, registration costs and facilities, and also supports outdoor access and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and Sports Matter funding has reached all 50 states. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only; the foundation says 501(c)(3) grant requests should be submitted in writing.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$34.5M

Grants

964

Total Given

$18.0M

Hillman Family Foundations

Pittsburgh, PA

The 18 independently operated foundations support projects in areas such as arts and culture, health, education, economic development, and community improvement, with a preference for Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania; each foundation has its own geographic focus. In 2024, grants ranged from $75 to $5 million, with a median of $20,000. The 2024 filing says unsolicited requests are accepted, beginning with a brief letter of intent through the online portal.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

814

Total Given

$88.8M

Pidc Financing Corporation

Philadelphia, PA

PIDC Financing Corporation administers Pennsylvania business loans for real estate, leasehold improvements, and equipment, as well as partner-funded grants for Philadelphia economic, cultural, civic, historical, storefront, and stormwater projects. Its 2024 filing reports no grants, so no typical giving level is stated; grant partners select recipients, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$6.7M

Grants

774

Total Given

$16.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 10, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/philadelphia-insurance-companies-fdn-morg_d01d93eeb99946ffbc4b9d0df349595b

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_461563265_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/philadelphia-insurance-companies-fdn-morg_d01d93eeb99946ffbc4b9d0df349595b},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-10. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Philadelphia Insurance Companies Fdn down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?