Paul Motry Memorial Fund
Paul Motry Memorial Fund is a private foundation, based in Sandusky, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $415K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 4 grants totaling $21K. Net investment income was $10K.
Paul Motry Memorial Fund at a glance
In short: Paul Motry Memorial Fund gave $21K across 4 grants in 2024 (avg $5K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $20,983
- +42.5% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 4
- +33.3% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $5,246
- +6.8% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $4,876
- Total assets
- $414,600
- +7.2% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who Paul Motry Memorial Fund funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was North Point ESC ($9K). Together the top 4 received $21K.
Grant Size Distribution
24 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 24 grants of 24 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How Paul Motry Memorial Fund gives
- Giving grew 25% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 136% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $15K (2023) to $21K (2024). In 2024 it made 4 grants totaling $21K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| North Point ESC Sandusky, OH | Various Equipment | $9,114 |
| Firelands Regional Medical Center Sandusky, OH | Speech Therapy | $5,277 |
| Foundation for Firelands Sandusky, OH | Youth Programs | $4,475 |
| Stride Mobility Huron, OH | Various Equipment | $2,117 |
Ready to take the next step with Paul Motry Memorial Fund?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $414,600 | $14,378 | $31,351 | $20,983 | 4 | $27,243 | $10,288 | $19,961 |
| 2023 | $386,673 | $-8,422 | $23,454 | $14,730 | 3 | $19,462 | $9,632 | $19,639 |
| 2022 | $392,282 | $3,109 | $27,162 | $16,307 | 5 | $22,091 | $5,373 | $20,734 |
| 2021 | $476,571 | $50,278 | $28,780 | $16,735 | 6 | $23,333 | $44,831 | $22,691 |
| 2020 | $450,290 | $-20,236 | $26,715 | $14,846 | 6 | — | $3,973 | $22,132 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Paul Motry Memorial Fund reported a distributable amount of $20K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Paul Motry Memorial Fund's 2024 filing lists 5 officers; all 5 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Grant W. Walls
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
$900 (2020) → $700 (2024)
James F. Kent
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
$800 (2020) → $600 (2024)
Robert K. Baker
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
$900 (2020) → $700 (2024)
S. Baird Pfahl
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
$900 (2020) → $600 (2024)
Thomas Sprunk
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
$900 (2020) → $700 (2024)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $700, to Grant W Walls (Trustee). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Paul Motry Memorial Fund
How much does Paul Motry Memorial Fund give each year?
Paul Motry Memorial Fund gave $21K across 4 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $15K across 3 grants.
What is Paul Motry Memorial Fund's typical grant size?
Paul Motry Memorial Fund's median grant in 2024 was $4,876, and its average grant was $5,246, across 4 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Paul Motry Memorial Fund give grants?
Paul Motry Memorial Fund gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Sandusky, OH (3 grants).
Does Paul Motry Memorial Fund give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Paul Motry Memorial Fund's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
How large is Paul Motry Memorial Fund?
Paul Motry Memorial Fund reported $415K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $27K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $20K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Paul Motry Memorial Fund's EIN?
Paul Motry Memorial Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7420173. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Ohio
Ohio Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Paul Motry Memorial Fund's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Michelle Wightman-Karrie Wieber Charitable Foundation
Sandusky, OH
The foundation supports public safety, education, arts and humanities, community development, health and social services, youth programs, and other community needs, especially railway-crossing safety. It serves Erie County, Ohio, and typically awards one-year grants of $1,000–$20,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.3M
Grants
70
Total Given
$350K
The Mylander Fdn-2001
Sandusky, OH
The Mylander Foundation funds charitable, educational, scientific, literary, religious, and civic organizations, with recent grants supporting health care, education, arts, community services, conservation, and local government. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000 (ranging from $585 to $204,861); it prioritizes Erie County and the surrounding region, and requires projects to serve Ohio residents. The foundation considers applications at May and November meetings, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$24.8M
Grants
78
Total Given
$1.4M
The Wm M & a Cafaro Family Foundation
Niles, OH
Assets
$23.3M
Grants
377
Total Given
$1.7M
Myers Mary B Ta
Brooklyn, OH
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
1
Total Given
$569K
Matthes George C - Ta
Brooklyn, OH
Assets
$8.9M
Grants
7
Total Given
$494K
The New York Community Trust
New York, NY
The New York Community Trust funds nonprofit programs in areas such as arts, education, health, the environment, workforce development, and youth development, including projects that improve services, build organizational capacity, or advance policy and systems change. Its competitive grants mainly serve New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some national and international environmental funding; the 2024 median grant was $20,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.5B
Grants
2,748
Total Given
$193.8M
More similar funders
More Funders in Ohio
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Paul Motry Memorial Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Paul Motry Memorial Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?