Jamestown Area Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Xenia, OH EIN: 31-1148328

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Xenia, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $13.0M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $348K. Net investment income was $446K.

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: Jamestown Area Foundation Inc gave $348K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $348K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$348,129
-0.1% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
1
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$348,129
-0.1% vs 2023
Median grant
$348,129
Total assets
$13,043,225
-0.7% vs 2023
Primary geography
Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Jamestown Area Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2024

Scholarships See Page 1: $348KScholarships See Page 1$348K

The largest 2024 recipient was Scholarships See Page 1 ($348K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K2$100–250K3$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Xenia

How Jamestown Area Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 38% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 85% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $206K (2020) to $348K (2023). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $348K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Scholarships See Page 1 Xenia, OHScholarships$348,129
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Jamestown Area Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$13,043,225$624,909$712,417$348,1291$563,519$446,011$664,601
2023$13,130,733$3,812,622$615,417$348,3811$512,947$227,004$417,384
2022$8,794,622$342,217$484,404$229,8971$390,798$148,610$451,822
2021$10,121,771$255,430$505,394$251,6071$411,741$161,776$481,511
2020$8,653,008$464,575$454,051$206,0091—$375,459$420,661

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Jamestown Area Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $665K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc's 2024 filing lists 4 officers; all 4 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Lori Howard

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    $16K (2020) → $27K (2024)

  • Pamela Pendry

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    $16K (2020) → $28K (2024)

  • Robert Brill

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    $14K (2020) → $26K (2024)

  • David L. Pendry

    Caotrustee

    On filings since 2020

    30 hrs/week

    $38K (2020) → $67K (2024)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

David L Pendry — Caotrustee: $67KDavid L PendryCaotrustee$67KPamela Pendry — Trustee: $28KPamela PendryTrustee$28KLori Howard — Trustee: $27KLori HowardTrustee$27KRobert Brill — Trustee: $26KRobert BrillTrustee$26K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $67K, to David L Pendry (Caotrustee). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Jamestown Area Foundation Inc

How much does Jamestown Area Foundation Inc give each year?

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc gave $348K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $348K across 1 grant.

How large is Jamestown Area Foundation Inc?

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc reported $13.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $564K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $665K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Jamestown Area Foundation Inc?

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Xenia, OH. It holds $13.0M in total assets as of 2024.

Where does Jamestown Area Foundation Inc operate?

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc has awarded grants in Ohio.

What is Jamestown Area Foundation Inc's EIN?

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-1148328. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Jamestown Area Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Ohio

Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association

Columbus, OH

OCCRRA funds Ohio organizations serving child care, early learning, and youth development, including through program-specific stabilization and access grants. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,960 to $50,970, with a median of $30,060. Organizations apply for assistance and are reviewed against program criteria; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

4

Total Given

$118K

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

Nisource Charitable Foundation

Columbus, OH

The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$43.0M

Grants

683

Total Given

$7.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Jamestown Area Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Jamestown Area Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?