Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust
OTIS G PIKE ARTICLE VIII CHARITABLE TRUST is a private foundation based in Chicago, Illinois. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations, including organizations in Florida, Indiana, Virginia, New Jersey, and New York.
Key facts about Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust
In short: Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust gave $200K across 18 grants in 2025 (avg $11K), mostly in Florida. 6% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 47-6865159
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $200,400
- Grants made (2025)
- 18
- Average grant
- $11,133
- Median grant
- $10,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 6% first-time grantees (1 of 18, 2025)
- Total assets
- $3,817,795
- Primary geography
- Florida (63% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$3.8M
+1.7% YoY
Annual Giving
$200K
+25.3% YoY
Grant Count
18
-5.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$11K
+32.2% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust reported a distributable amount of $251K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust open to new grantees?
6%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 1 of 18 grantees (6%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $10K; repeat grants $11K. How we count
Medians: $10K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 89% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 67% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 93% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The available filing information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants included support for community services, education, arts and culture, health care, conservation, and public broadcasting organizations. These examples describe grantees, not stated priorities of the foundation.
United Way of Indian River County describes its mission as improving lives by mobilizing community fundraising, volunteerism, and advocacy; it says it funds local programs addressing youth opportunities, community health, and financial security. Hope Rural School says it is a private Catholic nonprofit school in Indiantown serving children of immigrants and farm workers. Atlantic Classical Orchestra says it enriches lives through musical performances and educational programs.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 18 grants totaling $200,400. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $20,400, with a median grant of $10,000.
Ready to take the next step with Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 filing reports that 63% of grant dollars went to recipients in Florida, 12% to Virginia, 10% to Indiana, 5% to New Jersey, and 5% to New York.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 18 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $50K (2023) to $220K (2021). In 2025 it made 18 grants totaling $200K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Salvation Army Irc ($20K). Together the top 10 received $140K.
Grant Size Distribution
67 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 67 grants of 67 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Salvation Army Irc Vero Beach, FL | General Support | $20,400 |
| Visiting Nurse Assocation & Hospice Fdn Valparaiso, IN | General Support | $20,000 |
| Indian River Symphonic Association Vero Beach, FL | General Support | $15,000 |
| United Way of Indian River County Vero Beach, FL | General Support | $15,000 |
| Nature Conservancy Arlington, VA | General Support | $15,000 |
| Wxel Public Broadcasting Boynton Beach, FL | General Support | $15,000 |
| Indian River Medical Center Foundation Vero Beach, FL | General Support | $10,000 |
| Hope Rural School Inc Indiantown, FL | General Support | $10,000 |
| Princeton University Princeton, NJ | General Support | $10,000 |
| Vero Beach Museum of Art Inc Vero Beach, FL | General Support | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $3,817,795 | $313,931 | $250,205 | $200,400 | 18 |
| 2024 | $3,753,954 | $234,130 | $209,087 | $160,000 | 19 |
| 2023 | $3,728,539 | $156,072 | $96,567 | $50,000 | 5 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $3,817,795 | $3,753,954 | $3,728,539 |
| Revenue | $313,931 | $234,130 | $156,072 |
| Expenses | $250,205 | $209,087 | $96,567 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $233,493 | $194,006 | $83,652 |
| Net Investment Income | $301,123 | $221,149 | $143,779 |
| Distributable Amount | $251,307 | $235,210 | $213,772 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 1, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 11, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 2, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 1, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 7, 2024)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Northern Trust Company as trustee.
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's only listed officer is Northern Trust Company, Trustee on every filing since 2021 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
Northern Trust Company
Trustee
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$23K (2021) → $40K (2025)
Former officers (2)
- Former: Barbe Bonjour Pike (2022) — Trustee
- Former: Barbe Bonjour (2019–2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $40K, to Northern Trust Company (Trustee).
Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 803878, Chicago, IL 60680
Phone: (312) 630-6000
Frequently asked questions about Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust
How much does Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust give each year?
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust gave $200K across 18 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $160K across 19 grants.
What is Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's typical grant size?
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $11,133, across 18 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust that year got $10K on average.
Where does Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust give grants?
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust gives mostly in Florida: 63% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Virginia (12%) and Indiana (10%). The most frequent recipient cities were Vero Beach, FL (6 grants).
Does Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (18 of 18) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's largest grantees?
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's largest 2025 grantees include Salvation Army Irc ($20,400), Visiting Nurse Assocation & Hospice Fdn ($20,000) and Indian River Symphonic Association ($15,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 28% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust?
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust reported $3.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $233K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $251K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust fund?
The available filing information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants included support for community services, education, arts and culture, health care, conservation, and public broadcasting organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's EIN?
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 47-6865159. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Indian River Community Foundation Inc
Vero Beach, FL
Indian River Community Foundation supports nonprofit work in areas including vulnerable individuals and families, animal welfare, the environment, historic preservation, education, human services, and arts and culture. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,200 to $2.2 million, with a median of $19,250; competitive grants are for organizations located in and/or serving Indian River County, Florida. It accepts online Letters of Idea for competitive grants, due by 5 p.m. on the last day of each month.
Assets
$114.6M
Grants
206
Total Given
$15.9M
Rohit & Katharine Desai Family
Bethpage, NY
The foundation’s grants span arts, education, health, religious, and community services, with 2025 giving concentrated in New York and Florida and additional support in several other states. It made 40 grants totaling $455,450 in 2025; grants ranged from $1,000 to $113,450, with a median of $3,000. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.2M
Grants
40
Total Given
$455K
The Community Foundation Inc
Richmond, VA
The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, as well as other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.795 million; most funding went to Virginia, especially the Richmond area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$852.4M
Grants
917
Total Given
$61.8M
Bailey Family Foundation Inc
Vero Beach, FL
Bailey Family Foundation supports post-secondary education, especially student scholarships, while also making occasional grants to schools, health, hospice, environmental, religious, and humanitarian organizations. In 2025, it made 143 grants totaling $488,000, ranging from $100 to $35,000 (median $2,500), with the largest shares going to Florida and North Carolina. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests; eligible scholarship recipients may apply for renewals.
Assets
$2.9M
Grants
143
Total Given
$488K
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
—
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans services, disaster relief, and community projects, primarily through Elks Lodges and state associations in communities across the United States where Elks live and work. Its 2025 grants had a median of $8,500, though amounts varied widely; the listed Beacon and Freedom Grants are limited to Elks Lodges. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur
Chicago, IL
The foundation funds a broad range of work, including journalism, arts, Chicago communities, climate and clean energy, homelessness, human rights, and criminal justice reform. Its 2024 grants had a median of $160,000, with awards ranging from $450 to $21 million; funding is nationwide, with the largest shares going to New York, Illinois, and Washington, D.C. Application rules vary by program: some accept self-nominations or Letters of Inquiry, while others generally do not fund unsolicited proposals.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports a broad range of organizations, including education, Jewish organizations, and community foundations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000; 55% of grant dollars went to Illinois, with additional funding in New York, Washington, DC, California, and Minnesota. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
Jewish Federation of Metropolitan
Chicago, IL
The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan funds human services, education, community programs, Jewish life, and crisis relief in the Chicago area, as well as support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $27.4 million, with a median of about $20,000. Unsolicited requests are not addressed for the Federation overall; its separate Jewish Women’s Foundation accepts letters of intent, with proposals by invitation only.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
896
Total Given
$166.6M
More Funders in Illinois
Otis G Pike Article VIII Charitable Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?