O'Brion Frank Trust Uw

Private foundation · Grantmaker Brooklyn, OH EIN: 06-6154532

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw is a private foundation, based in Brooklyn, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $43K. Net investment income was $42K.

Key facts about O'Brion Frank Trust Uw

In short: O'Brion Frank Trust Uw gave $43K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $9K), mostly in Connecticut. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
06-6154532
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$43,000
Grants made (2025)
5
Average grant
$8,600
Median grant
$6,000
Total assets
$1,265,336
Primary geography
Connecticut (58% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$1.3M

-0.6% YoY

Annual Giving

$43K

-38.6% YoY

Grant Count

5

-44.4% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$9K

+10.6% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, O'Brion Frank Trust Uw reported a distributable amount of $82K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How O'Brion Frank Trust Uw gives

  • Giving fell 39% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 63% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with O'Brion Frank Trust Uw?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

Saint PeterChicagoHamdenWest HartfordAmherstBostonBrooklynHempsteadNew YorkStorrsUticaWilliamsburg

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K$80K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 9 grants2024 5 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $43K (2025) to $70K (2024). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $43K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

University of Hartford: $16KUniversity of Hartford$16KQuinnipiac University: $9KQuinnipiac University$9KUniversity of Massachusetts: $6KUniversity of Massachusetts$6KBrooklyn Law School: $6KBrooklyn Law School$6KDepaul University: $6KDepaul University$6K

The largest 2025 recipient was University of Hartford ($16K). Together the top 5 received $43K.

Grant Size Distribution

17 grants across all recorded years

14<$50K3$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 14 grants of 17 (82%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of Hartford West Hartford, CTScholarship$16,000
Quinnipiac University Hamden, CTScholarship$9,000
University of Massachusetts Williamsburg, MAScholarship$6,000
Brooklyn Law School Brooklyn, NYScholarship$6,000
Depaul University Chicago, ILScholarship$6,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,265,336$1,272,365$1,266,100
Revenue$60,876$99,686$223,463
Expenses$72,705$97,126$80,758
Qualifying Distributions$51,783$81,233$53,066
Net Investment Income$42,289$83,793$198,830
Distributable Amount$81,736$73,016$62,148

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 19, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 18, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 1, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS June 17, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 10, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 12, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's only listed officer is Keybank NA, Trustee on every filing since 2023 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Keybank NA

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2023) → $22K (2025)

Former officers (4)
  • Former: Albert M. Harmon (2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Bank Of America (2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Laila Kain (2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Bank Of America N A (2020–2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Keybank NA — Trustee: $22KKeybank NATrustee$22K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $22K, to Keybank NA (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about O'Brion Frank Trust Uw

How much does O'Brion Frank Trust Uw give each year?

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw gave $43K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $70K across 9 grants.

What is O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's typical grant size?

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's median grant in 2025 was $6,000, and its average grant was $8,600, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does O'Brion Frank Trust Uw give grants?

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw gives mostly in Connecticut: 58% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Massachusetts (14%) and New York (14%).

Does O'Brion Frank Trust Uw give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (5 grants).

Who are O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's largest grantees?

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's largest 2025 grantees include University of Hartford ($16,000), Quinnipiac University ($9,000) and University of Massachusetts ($6,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 72% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is O'Brion Frank Trust Uw?

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw reported $1.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $52K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $82K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's EIN?

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 06-6154532. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching O'Brion Frank Trust Uw by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in O'Brion Frank Trust Uw's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

IBM International Foundation

Armonk, NY

The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$357.7M

Grants

16

Total Given

$11.7M

Palmer Townsend Uw Palmer Sch

Brooklyn, OH

This foundation funds scholarships for people under 25 who live in Montville or who graduated from Montville High School, with awards to educational institutions in several states. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $18,000, with a median of $1,000; the filing says no application form or materials are required, but does not explicitly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

23

Total Given

$61K

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

United Way Worldwide

Alexandria, VA

United Way Worldwide supports community-focused work in health, youth opportunity, financial security, resilience, disaster recovery, education, and human services, including local United Way organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675, and went to recipients across multiple U.S. states; it describes its broader reach as global. No application process for unsolicited grant requests is specified.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$68.0M

Grants

209

Total Given

$11.4M

Deloitte Foundation

Stamford, CT

The Deloitte Foundation funds U.S. education initiatives, including scholarships, curriculum and faculty support, mentoring, and grants to education nonprofits and universities, particularly through local programs in about 30 selected locations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and it does not accept unsolicited requests for its Local Impact Grant Program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$51.4M

Grants

121

Total Given

$32.5M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Hispanic Scholarship Fund

El Segundo, CA

HSF funds scholarships and higher-education support, with reported grants primarily supporting scholarships at colleges and universities; its student awards range from $500 to $5,000. It funds recipients across the United States, with the largest shares of recent grant dollars going to California, New York, Georgia, Massachusetts, and Texas. The profile does not state whether HSF accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Education

Assets

$198.0M

Grants

316

Total Given

$29.1M

KPMG US Foundation Inc

Montvale, NJ

KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$12.4M

Grants

387

Total Given

$33.5M

National Collegiate Athletic Association

Indianapolis, IN

The NCAA funds college sports, including member conferences and schools, championships, student-athlete programs, coaching and athletics administration, and academic initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $61.9 million, with a median of $16,228; recipients were across the United States, with the largest reported shares in Texas, North Carolina, Illinois, and Alabama. The profile does not state whether the NCAA accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

591

Total Given

$627.8M

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports a broad range of charitable needs, including arts and humanities, healthcare, education, scholarships, emergency assistance, and endowments. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,560 and primarily benefited the Tulsa area and eastern Oklahoma, with grants also reaching elsewhere in the U.S.; it administers application cycles for selected funds.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

More Funders in Ohio

O'Brion Frank Trust Uw down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?