The Northern State University Foundation is dedicated to securing the future of Northern State University. Its purpose is to solicit and administer funds and to pursue other activities to advance this goal.
Key facts about Northern State University Foundation
In short: Northern State University Foundation gave $7.0M across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $1.7M), mostly in South Dakota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 23-7002314
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $6,968,682
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- Average grant
- $1,742,171
- Median grant
- $1,475,494
- Total assets
- $76,245,269
- Primary geography
- South Dakota (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$76.2M
+7.6% YoY
Annual Giving
$7.0M
+12.6% YoY
Grant Count
4
-20.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$1.7M
+40.7% YoY
How Northern State University Foundation gives
- Giving fell 28% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Northern State University Foundation
Based on IRS filings
Northern State University Foundation is a public charity focused on Academics, based in Aberdeen, SD. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $76.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $7.0M. Net investment income was $2.9M.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Northern State University Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5.8M (2023) to $34.5M (2021). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $7.0M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Northern State University ($7.0M across 4 grants).
Grant Size Distribution
24 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 10 grants of 24 (42%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Northern State University Aberdeen, SD | Scholarships | $3,870,710 |
| Northern State University Aberdeen, SD | Special Projects | $2,155,674 |
| Northern State University Aberdeen, SD | Athletic Support | $795,313 |
| Northern State University Aberdeen, SD | Operational Support | $146,985 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $76,245,269 | $70,844,993 | $63,521,925 |
| Revenue | $12,595,302 | $13,460,719 | $8,393,561 |
| Expenses | $9,305,024 | $8,534,566 | $7,737,550 |
| Net Investment Income | $2,885,657 | $2,364,294 | $2,366,529 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 17, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 25, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 22, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 28, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 17, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 30, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Northern State University Foundation is led by Zach FlakusPresident, CEO & Non-Voting Director on the 2025 filing; 3 of 21 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Zach FlakusPresident
CEO & Non-Voting Director
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$196K (2025)
Megan Biegler
Chair
Secretary & Treasurer → Chair-Elect, 2021
Chair-Elect → Chair, 2023
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Neal Schnoor to May
Non-Voting Director
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
$5K (2025)
Allie Ryckman
Director
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Arthur Russo
Director
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mark McNeary
Director
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Steve Stickelmyer
Director
Treasurer → Chair-Elect, 2023
Chair-Elect → Director, 2025
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kyle Schwan
Director
On filings since 2021
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ric Dias
Director
On filings since 2021
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Ring
Director
On filings since 2022
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jess Koehler
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kila LeGrand
Director
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chad Bergan to Sep
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Eric Payne
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Laurie Nichols
Non-Voting Director
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sandy Vosika
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kaylee Babcock to Apr
CFO
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$91K (2025)
Greg Wieker
Treasurer
Secretary → Secretary & Treasurer, 2023
Secretary & Treasurer → Treasurer, 2025
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Alex Grieben
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jared Jacobson
Chair-Elect
Director → Chair-Elect, 2025
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mike Bockorny to Sep
Past-Chair
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (22)
- Former: Chad Bergan (2020–2024) — Director
- Former: Kaylee Babcock (2022–2024) — CFO
- Former: Neal Schnoor (2022–2024) — Non-Voting Director
- Former: Zach Flakus (2022–2024) — President, CEO & Non-Voting Director
- Former: Mike Bockorny (2023–2024) — Past-Chair
- Former: Andrew Rehder to (2024) — Director
- Former: Jim Koehler to (2024) — Director
- Former: Andrew Rehder (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Jim Koehler (2023) — Director
- Former: Ashley Erickson (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Cathy Hall (2020–2022) — CFO
- Former: James Koehler (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Michael Bockorny (2020–2022) — Chair
- Former: Veronica Paulson (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Randy Knecht (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Sara Schmidt (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Tim Downs (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Todd Jordre (2020–2021) — President & CEO
- Former: Jon Olson - Senior VP (2021) — Development
- Former: Jon Olson (2020) — Senior Vice President Development
- Former: Nathan Reede (2020) — Past-Chair
- Former: Steve Ford (2020) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $196K, to Zach FlakusPresident (CEO/Non-Voting Director). 3 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Northern State University Foundation
How much does Northern State University Foundation give each year?
Northern State University Foundation gave $7.0M across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $6.2M across 5 grants.
What is Northern State University Foundation's typical grant size?
Northern State University Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,475,494, and its average grant was $1,742,171, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does Northern State University Foundation give grants?
Northern State University Foundation gives mostly in South Dakota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Aberdeen, SD (4 grants).
Does Northern State University Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 25% of Northern State University Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990.
How large is Northern State University Foundation?
Northern State University Foundation reported $76.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $12.6M.
What is Northern State University Foundation?
Northern State University Foundation is a public charity focused on Academics, based in Aberdeen, SD. It holds $76.2M in total assets as of 2025.
What is Northern State University Foundation's EIN?
Northern State University Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7002314. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Northern State University Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Northern State University Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in South Dakota
South Dakota Community Foundation
Pierre, SD
The South Dakota Community Foundation funds nonprofits and charitable projects in areas including education, health, human services, culture, and economic development, primarily benefiting South Dakota communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,562, while 2026 Beyond Idea Grants range from $5,000 to $100,000 per year. Eligible nonprofits can apply for South Dakota Fund and Beyond Idea Grants through its online portal.
Assets
$939.2M
Grants
390
Total Given
$39.7M
Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation Inc
Sioux Falls, SD
The Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation funds local charitable, educational, cultural, religious, community-development, and environmental needs, including new programs and nonprofit capacity building, primarily in the Sioux Falls area and surrounding communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; organizations may submit a Letter of Inquiry for Community Fund Grants.
Assets
$390.9M
Grants
308
Total Given
$38.0M
Sanford Group Return
Sioux Falls, SD
Sanford Group Return funds health care access and outcomes, community wellbeing, workforce and education, and related community needs, including health professions education and research. In 2024, its median grant was $24,900, with awards ranging from $5,500 to $3.6 million; giving was concentrated in South Dakota, North Dakota, and Minnesota. Its Community Dividend Fund accepts online funding requests in South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wyoming; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$4.3B
Grants
171
Total Given
$45.3M
Black Hills Area Community Foundation
Rapid City, SD
The foundation funds community needs across areas including youth and families, social services, education, basic needs, arts, animal welfare, and nonprofit capacity building in seven Black Hills counties of South Dakota. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $15,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$95.1M
Grants
120
Total Given
$5.7M
Avera Health
Sioux Falls, SD
Avera Health supports eligible nonprofits working in health and wellness, unmet community health needs, healthy lifestyles, environmental and social initiatives, and civic or community development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $850,000, with a median of $17,737; funding is focused on central and eastern South Dakota and nearby parts of Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, and Nebraska. It accepts requests through its Community Partnership/Donation Request process and asks applicants to use its form.
Assets
$2.6B
Grants
109
Total Given
$6.2M
Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
The foundation funds community needs, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with a Twin Cities program focused on hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000; its Twin Cities program focuses on Minneapolis–St. Paul, while grants also went to organizations elsewhere. The Strategic Industry program is invitation-only, while the Twin Cities program has an application process.
Assets
$18.2M
Grants
87
Total Given
$4.0M
Valley Queen Charitable Foundation
Milbank, SD
Valley Queen Charitable Foundation supports community, educational, industry, and humanitarian initiatives, with most funding going to South Dakota and some to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $107,750, with a median of $1,500. It accepts requests year-round; organizations can request an application by calling the foundation.
Assets
$1.8M
Grants
79
Total Given
$556K
NDN Collective Inc
Rapid City, SD
NDN Collective funds Indigenous-led organizations, Tribes, groups, projects, and individuals advancing Indigenous self-determination and community-based solutions across Turtle Island, including North America and specified island territories. Its 2024 listed grants ranged from $5,600 to $1 million, with a median of $50,000; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$49.7M
Grants
72
Total Given
$10.3M
The Robert and Rita Elmen Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
The Robert and Rita Elmen Foundation funds building projects, exhibits, research, operating costs, social services, food assistance, and recreation, primarily in South Dakota, where 89% of its 2024 grant dollars went. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $960,000, with a median of $25,000. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$86.4M
Grants
57
Total Given
$4.4M
Levo Cares Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
Levo Cares Foundation funds education, youth programs, basic-needs and community services, and animal welfare in communities across its 29-county service area in Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $90 to $18,681, with a median of $1,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through its website form, service center, or a Levo branch.
Assets
$42K
Grants
54
Total Given
$72K
Kenneth V Moncur Memorial
Miller, SD
The foundation funds scholarships for individual recipients in South Dakota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $2,000, with a median of $1,000. It contributes only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$838K
Grants
51
Total Given
$62K
Sioux Empire United Way Inc
Sioux Falls, SD
Sioux Empire United Way funds health and social-service, youth development, recreation, and character-building programs, including childcare, mental health, housing stability, and crisis support. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,212 to $818,910, with a median award of $85,000, for services in Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, and Turner Counties, South Dakota. Unsolicited requests are not described; new applicants must first complete a questionnaire and be contacted about next steps.
Assets
$12.3M
Grants
48
Total Given
$7.0M
More Funders in South Dakota
Northern State University Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?