National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc logo

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Arlington, VA EIN: 51-0144922 Website

The National Association of Chain Drug is a public charity based in Arlington, Virginia, identified on its website as the NACDS Foundation. It supports public-health research, education, scholarships, and charitable outreach intended to improve health outcomes, strengthen access to care, and advance public health.

Key facts about National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc

In short: National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc gave $1.3M across 20 grants in 2024 (avg $67K), top state Massachusetts. 75% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
51-0144922
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$1,339,767
Grants made (2024)
20
Average grant
$66,988
Median grant
$23,000
New grantees (estimate)
75% first-time grantees (15 of 20, 2024; small sample)
Total assets
$9,417,996
Primary geography
Massachusetts (30% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
How to apply
For the Scholarship Program, eligible schools and colleges of pharmacy can submit an application detailing the project’s purpose, timeline, and budget. Full details ↓
Deadline
Scholarship Program applications are stated to reopen in Fall 2026.

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$9.4M

+2.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.3M

+69.4% YoY

Grant Count

20

+33.3% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$67K

+27.1% YoY

Is National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc open to new grantees?

75%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 15 of 20 grantees (75%) were first-time recipients. With only 20 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. First grants averaged $78K; repeat grants $34K. How we count

Medians: $20K first-time, $34K repeat.

  • 20% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 129% from 2021 to 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The organization’s stated mission is to engage in groundbreaking research and educational initiatives that benefit patients, improve outcomes, and advance public health. Its website describes a broader aim of improving community health, fostering equity, strengthening access to care, and advancing public health.

The Foundation’s funding includes healthcare research, community-based educational experiences and curriculum innovation, pharmacy education, and charitable outreach. In 2024, its filing reports funding seven research grants and support for eight charitable organizations; it also reports awards to 34 U.S.-based, ACPE-accredited pharmacy schools. The Foundation says research funding generally has milestones and deliverables that must be approved before the next installment is paid.

Grantees illustrate the range of organizations supported. The University Physicians & Surgeons says it supports the clinical, educational, research, and service missions of the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine. March of Dimes describes its work as advancing the health of moms and babies through research, education, advocacy, and programs. The University of Pittsburgh describes itself as a public research university serving its region, Pennsylvania, and the nation. SOME says it serves people experiencing poverty and homelessness through immediate-needs services and longer-term support. Teen Cancer America says it works to improve survival and quality of life for adolescents and young adults with cancer.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the organization reported 20 grants totaling $1,339,767. Grant amounts ranged from $15,000 to $400,000, with a median of $23,000. The largest awards listed were $400,000 to the Trustees of Tufts University and $320,000 to Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy, both for healthcare research. Other notable grants included $100,000 each to the Alliance for Integrated Medication Management and University Physicians & Surgeons for healthcare research; $61,917 to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for healthcare research; and $50,000 to March of Dimes for a philanthropic contribution.

The Foundation’s Scholarship Program supports educational projects that improve community health, innovate pharmacy curricula, or expand pharmacy education opportunities, including for underrepresented populations. Eligible applicants are fully accredited schools and colleges of pharmacy; each may submit one application per track. The Foundation says projects should have meaningful student engagement and benefit students and patients. Awards are up to $20,000. The FAQ rules out general operating support, space rental, indirect costs, faculty presentation honoraria, advertising- or awareness-focused projects, certificate-program enrollment, student scholarships, faculty travel, medication, and end-of-project research-paper writing. It also says projects focused on pharmacy or industry profitability, or merely advancing the profession or pharmacy’s role, will not be considered.

The Foundation’s Faculty Scholars Program offers an 18-month, community-focused research curriculum and a starter grant for emerging pharmacy faculty; the Foundation website says its next application period will reopen in Fall 2027.

Review Cycle

Scholarship Program applications are stated to reopen in Fall 2026.

How to Apply

For the Scholarship Program, eligible schools and colleges of pharmacy can submit an application detailing the project’s purpose, timeline, and budget. Applicants should use the Foundation’s budget template and request no more than $20,000; other-source or matching funds may be listed, but in-kind contributions above $10,000 should not be listed.

Open Grants

5 open opportunities from National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc

Show all 5 →
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The Foundation describes its work as serving communities in America and says its research addresses health outcomes across the country. In 2024, the largest shares of grant dollars by recipient state were Massachusetts (30%), California (28%), Virginia (15%), West Virginia (7%), and Pennsylvania (5%). These figures describe the listed grant distribution, not an exclusive geographic restriction.

Grant Distribution by State

25states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 20 itemized grants.

Cities

ArlingtonChapel HillFairfaxIowa CityPittsburghAlexandriaWashingtonAuburnMinneapolisPhiladelphiaStocktonHuntingtonLoma LindaLos AngelesOklahoma CitySeattleWest LafayetteAdaAlbuquerqueAustin

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M18 grants2020 14 grants2021 19 grants2022 15 grants2023 20 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $584K (2021) to $1.3M (2024). In 2024 it made 20 grants totaling $1.3M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Trustees of Tufts University: $400KTrustees of Tufts University$400KLoma Linda University School of Pharmacy: $320KLoma Linda University Schoolof Pharmacy$320KAlliance for Integrated Medication Management: $100KAlliance for IntegratedMedication Management$100KUniversity Physicians & Surgeons Inc: $100KUniversity Physicians &Surgeons Inc$100KUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel: $62KUniversity of North Carolinaat Chapel$62KMarch of Dimes: $50KMarch of Dimes$50KUniversity of Pittsburgh: $48KUniversity of Pittsburgh$48KState University of Iowa: $34KState University of Iowa$34KAlzheimer's Association: $25KAlzheimer's Association$25KAuburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy: $25KAuburn University HarrisonSchool of Pharmacy$25K

The largest 2024 recipient was Trustees of Tufts University ($400K). Together the top 10 received $1.2M.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($15,000), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

86 grants across all recorded years

63<$50K10$50–100K8$100–250K5$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 63 grants of 86 (73%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Trustees of Tufts University Somerville, MAHealthcare Research Grant$400,000
Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy Loma Linda, CAHealthcare Research Grant$320,000
Alliance for Integrated Medication Management Fairfax, VAHealthcare Research Grant$100,000
University Physicians & Surgeons Inc Huntington, WVHealthcare Research Grant$100,000
University of North Carolina at Chapel Chapel Hill, NCHealthcare Research Grant$61,917
March of Dimes Arlington, VAPhilanthropic Contribution$50,000
University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PAHealthcare Research Grant$47,850
State University of Iowa Iowa City, IAHealthcare Research Grant$34,000
Alzheimer's Association McLean, VAPhilanthropic Contribution$25,000
Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy Auburn, ALEducational Scholarship$25,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants reported
2024 $9,417,996 $1,777,202 $2,025,591 $1,339,767 (20 grants)
2022 $9,108,513 $1,520,878 $1,407,831 $858,124 (19 grants)
2021 $10,698,950 $2,405,124 $1,130,730 $584,432 (14 grants)
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$9,417,996$9,159,229$9,108,513
Revenue$1,777,202$844,713$1,520,878
Expenses$2,025,591$1,437,618$1,407,831
Net Investment Income$724,334$126,090$420,598

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 14, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 31, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 8, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 31, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 10, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The Foundation’s website lists Christie R. Boutte as president, David Fitzsimmons as treasurer, and Kayla McFeely as secretary. It lists Steven C. Anderson as chairman of the Foundation board. The 2024 filing lists Parmjit Agarwal, Michael Aigner, Claire Biermaas, Michael Bohling, Elizabeth Caton, Maureen Cavanaugh, Janice Cooney, Brent Cotten, Teri Coward, and Naomi Duvall as directors.

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc is led by Sara Roszak, President on every filing since 2021; none of the 29 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Sara Roszak

    President

    On filings since 2021

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven C. Anderson Fasae Cae

    Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Janice Cooney

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Maureen Cavanaugh

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nikki Griffin

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teri Coward

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brent Cotten

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Stephens

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anthony Provenzano

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Caton

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Bohling

    Director

    President → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rina Shah

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy McAnarney

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chad Riley

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Paley

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marvin Vines

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Naomi Duvall

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Summer Kerley

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Angie Nelson

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Claire Biermaas

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Crystal Lennartz

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jackie Morse

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Hoffman

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laverne Hunt

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Aigner

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Parmjit Agarwal

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shellie Wineland

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David M. Fitzsimmons

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kayla McFeely

    Secretary

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (33)
  • Former: Kristin Williams (2020–2024) — Director · Filing note: Thru 8/2024
  • Former: Robert A Potter (2020–2024) — Director · Filing note: Thru 8/2024
  • Former: William Simpson (2022–2024) — Director · Filing note: Thru 8/2024
  • Former: George Rafferty (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Jacquelyn Marie Madsen (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Lou Dallago (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Nimesh Jhaveri (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Terry Thomas (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Brad Cochran (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Barbara Poremba (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Karen Staniforth (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Maureen Danielewicz (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Papatya Tankut (2022) — Director
  • Former: Phillip Durocher (2022) — Director
  • Former: Daniel Salemi (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Eileen Howard Boone (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Kathleen Jaeger (2020–2021) — President
  • Former: Michael Conley (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Rick Gates (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Kala Shankle (2021) — Secretary
  • Former: Maisha Webster (2021) — Director
  • Former: Peter Hardwick (2021) — Director
  • Former: Christopher Dimos (2020) — Director
  • Former: Don L Bell (2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Gina Boswell (2020) — Director
  • Former: Jeffrey Hampton (2020) — Director
  • Former: Judi Kletz (2020) — Director
  • Former: Matthew Mazeffa (2020) — Director
  • Former: Peter A Thompson (2020) — Director
  • Former: Steven Kelly (2020) — Director
  • Former: Susan Henderson (2020) — Director
  • Former: Todd Tillemans (2020) — Director
  • Former: Victor Curtis RPh (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 1776 Wilson Blvd 200, Arlington, VA 22209-2516
Phone: (703) 549-3001
Website: https://nacdsfoundation.org

Frequently asked questions about National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc

How much does National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc give each year?

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc gave $1.3M across 20 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $791K across 15 grants.

What is National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $23,000, and its average grant was $66,988, across 20 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc that year got $78K on average.

Where does National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc give grants?

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's top state is Massachusetts, with 30% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were California (28%) and Virginia (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Arlington, VA (2 grants).

Does National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 20 grants with a stated purpose on National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Healthcare Research Grant" (7 grants), "Educational Scholarship" (7 grants) and "Philanthropic Contribution" (5 grants).

Who are National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Trustees of Tufts University ($400,000), Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy ($320,000) and Alliance for Integrated Medication Management ($100,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($15,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 61% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc?

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc reported $9.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.8M.

What does National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc fund?

The organization’s stated mission is to engage in groundbreaking research and educational initiatives that benefit patients, improve outcomes, and advance public health. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc?

For the Scholarship Program, eligible schools and colleges of pharmacy can submit an application detailing the project’s purpose, timeline, and budget. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's EIN?

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 51-0144922. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

CVS Foundation

Woonsocket, RI

CVS Foundation funds health care access and outcomes, preventive and community health, health-related needs such as food and housing, education and workforce development, and disaster response across the United States. In 2024, it made 778 grants totaling about $21.4 million; awards ranged from $250 to $2.46 million, with a median of $1,500. It does not accept unsolicited requests; support is by invitation or RFP only, and no RFPs are currently open.

Assets

$194.3M

Grants

778

Total Given

$21.4M

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

Foster Foundation

Brookneal, VA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$18.6M

Grants

686

Total Given

$1.3M

JT-Minnie Maude Charitable Trust

Danville, VA

The J.T.–Minnie Maude Charitable Trust funds tax-exempt organizations and government agencies for a wide range of projects that improve quality of life for residents of Danville and/or Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,000 and ranged from $500 to $220,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application, with an annual August 1 deadline.

Assets

$51.2M

Grants

678

Total Given

$2.3M

More Funders in Virginia

National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?