Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc logo

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Kennesaw, GA EIN: 23-7034345 Website

The Kennesaw State University Foundation's mission is to be an advocate for the university, and to receive, invest, account for, and allocate private gifts and contributions in support of kennesaw state university.

Key facts about Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc

In short: Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc gave $15.3M across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $3.8M), mostly in Georgia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
23-7034345
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$15,344,897
Grants made (2025)
4
Average grant
$3,836,224
Median grant
$3,639,517
Total assets
$697,628,763
Primary geography
Georgia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$697.6M

+36.9% YoY

Annual Giving

$15.3M

+15.1% YoY

Grant Count

4

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3.8M

+15.1% YoY

How Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 51% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc

Based on IRS filings

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Kennesaw, GA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $697.6M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $15.3M. Net investment income was $7.0M.

Focus Areas

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Kennesaw

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5M$10M$15M$20M4 grants2020 4 grants2021 4 grants2022 4 grants2023 4 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $6.2M (2021) to $18.2M (2023). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $15.3M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Kennesaw State University: $15.3M across 4 grantsKennesaw State University$15.3M · 4 grants

The largest 2025 recipient was Kennesaw State University ($15.3M across 4 grants).

Grant Size Distribution

20 grants across all recorded years

3<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M13$1–5M2$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 13 grants of 20 (65%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Kennesaw State University Kennesaw, GATo Provide Monies to KSU for Student Scholarships$5,539,026
Kennesaw State University Kennesaw, GAOther University Support$4,471,594
Kennesaw State University Kennesaw, GAUniversity Events & Programs$2,807,440
Kennesaw State University Kennesaw, GAAcademic Programs and Dean Support$2,526,837

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$25M$50M$75M$100M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$697,628,763$509,633,557$500,639,088
Revenue$90,573,212$60,697,286$59,128,402
Expenses$55,836,512$46,949,757$52,901,421
Net Investment Income$6,996,615$6,978,907$2,613,315

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 4, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 18, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 1, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 18, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 16, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc is led by Lance E. Burchett, CEO on every filing since 2020; none of the 67 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Lance E. Burchett

    CEO

    On filings since 2020

    20 hrs/week

    $63K (2020) → $0 (2025)

  • Kathy Schwaig

    Trustee & President

    Trustee & University Provos → Trustee & Interim President Ksu, 2022

    Trustee & Interim President Ksu → Trustee & President, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Theodore L. Parrish

    Chairman

    Trustee → Vice Chair - Chair Elect, 2023

    Vice Chair - Chair Elect → Chairman, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ben L. Looper

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Candice L. Saunders

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Catherine Land Waters

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Connie L. Engel

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David R. Walens

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Deborah Pike

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Don E. Davidson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Don Johnson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas E. Jones

    Trustee

    Secretayr → Secretary, 2021

    Secretary → Trustee, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas Shore

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Frank M. Howard

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • I. Barry Hyman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Chris Pike

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James P. Dunn

    Trustee

    Immediate Past Chair → Trustee, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph J. Handy

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Judith Moen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lawrence P. Kraska

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael J. Coles

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Norman J. Radow

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Reuel Rick E. Hamilton III

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard A. Bennett

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard S. Siegel

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen W. Dils

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Valery Voyles

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • William M. Hayes

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alana Mueller

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Angie M. Alexander

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Beth Lowry

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth W. Camp

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mel C. Clemmons

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • R. Allen Brooks

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ron L. Braund

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Siddhartha Mookerji

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Janelle Funk

    Director of Analysis

    Finance Director → Director of Analysis, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    20 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Caric Martin

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David McKoy

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ivan Pulinkala

    Trustee & Ksu Provost

    Trustee & University Provost → Trustee & Ksu Provost, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Luis Arriaga

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mickey Dunn

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Cox

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rob Leven

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robyn Smith

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah Boone

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tim Wilkerson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Borja De Olano

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carmen Chubb

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Darrell Sutton

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Millican

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Heather Fortner

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Ellis

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lee Rhyant

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Wilson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Randy Koporc

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shaila Bettadapur

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shelly Elder

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stacy Haubenschild

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tracy Styf

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Larry Stevens

    Trustee & Ksu Executive in Residence

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen Bridges

    CFO

    CFO & Ksuf → CFO, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $144K (2020) → $0 (2025)

  • Valerie Patrick

    Foundation Controller

    Director of Accounting, Finance & Controller → Director of Accounting & Finance, 2021

    Director of Accounting & Finance → Foundation Controller, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $126K (2020) → $0 (2025)

  • Andre Schnabl

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Britt Fleck

    Vice Chair - Chair Elect

    Trustee → Secretary, 2023

    Secretary → Vice Chair - Chair Elect, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven I. Cadranel

    Immediate Past Chair

    Vice Chair-Chair Elect → Chairman, 2023

    Chairman → Immediate Past Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Trent Turk

    Secretary

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (34)
  • Former: J. Larry Stevens (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Bob M. Prillaman (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Julie Kimball (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Kirk M. Gadebusch (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Michael S. Quinlan (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Robert K. Walsh Jr. (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Shepherd D. Long (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Trenton D. Turk (2020–2023) — Immediate Past Chair
  • Former: Veronica C. Morrissette (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Walton C. Bryde (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Francisco Borja Olano (2021–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Shailesh Bettadapur (2021–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Joesph J. Handy (2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Charles C. Clay (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: George W. Kalafut (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Hector A. Padilla (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: William E. Darden Jr. (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: William G. Lako Jr. (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Stephanie Clemmons (2021–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Dan L Rakestraw (2020–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Pamela S. Whitten (2020–2021) — Trustee & President Ksu
  • Former: Doug Shore (2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Carl J Frinzi Sr. (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Chester A Austin (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Clark F Hungerford (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Ellen E Langford (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Hollister A Hill (2020) — Secretary
  • Former: J Britt Fleck (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Jo Ann Chitty (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Mark L Williams (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Steven E Nicholson (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Thomas N Bagwell (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Wesley E Cantrell Sr. (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: William T Nelson (2020) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

No officer or director reported compensation in the available filings.

Frequently asked questions about Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc

How much does Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc give each year?

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc gave $15.3M across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $13.3M across 4 grants.

What is Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $3,639,517, and its average grant was $3,836,224, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc give grants?

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc gives mostly in Georgia: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Kennesaw, GA (4 grants).

Does Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

How large is Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc?

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc reported $697.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $90.6M.

What is Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc?

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Kennesaw, GA. It holds $697.6M in total assets as of 2025.

What is Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc's EIN?

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7034345. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta Inc

Atlanta, GA

The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta funds equity and shared-prosperity work across areas including education, housing, income and wealth, arts and culture, health, and neighborhood development, primarily in the Atlanta region. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,000, though amounts varied widely; specific arts programs offer $5,000–$7,500. The profile describes application opportunities through its Grants Portal but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,414

Total Given

$152.3M

Boys & Girls Clubs of America

Atlanta, GA

Boys & Girls Clubs of America funds local Clubs and youth-development work, including general support, staff training, mentoring, and programs focused on academics, health, leadership, and readiness for life and work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,047 to $2.7 million, with a median of about $81,000, supporting Clubs across the United States, Native lands, and military communities. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Youth Development

Assets

$95.2M

Grants

797

Total Given

$120.5M

Habitat for Humanity International Inc

Americus, GA

Habitat for Humanity International funds affordable housing through grants to Habitat for Humanity organizations, including local affiliates, across the United States and internationally. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,027 to $6,365,641, with a median of $48,658. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

International, Foreign Affairs & National Security

Assets

$760.0M

Grants

719

Total Given

$101.6M

American Cancer Society Inc

Atlanta, GA

The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, patient support, advocacy, and related programs, with research support available to institutions across the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,648 to $9.6 million, with a median of $15,000. It accepts applications for research grants through specific programs and ProposalCentral; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other funding.

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

509

Total Given

$23.1M

The Arthur M Blank Family Foundation

Atlanta, GA

The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation funds work in Atlanta’s Westside, democracy, the environment, mental health and well-being, youth development, and founder initiatives, with a focus on Georgia and Montana and some national impact. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $20 million, with a median of $50,000. It makes grants by invitation and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

586

Total Given

$212.1M

Georgia Power Foundation Inc

Atlanta, GA

The foundation supports health, education and workforce development, the environment, arts and culture, and community initiatives, prioritizing Georgia, where 86% of its 2024 grant dollars went. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $1 million, with a median of $10,000. The Georgia Power Grant is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$217.0M

Grants

517

Total Given

$18.6M

BVM Capacity Building Institute Inc

Atlanta, GA

BVM Capacity Building Institute funds grassroots and community-based organizations advancing social justice, especially through civic engagement, voter access, and organizational capacity building, across more than 20 states. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,153 to $412,500, with a median of $14,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$13.6M

Grants

426

Total Given

$8.6M

Boys & Girls Clubs of America (Group Return)

Atlanta, GA

Boys & Girls Clubs of America funds local Club programs for youth, including academic support, health and wellness, leadership, and life and workforce readiness, across the United States, Native lands, and military installations. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,038 to $3,925,801, with a median of $46,388. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$47.8M

Grants

357

Total Given

$45.7M

Jewish Federation of Greater Atlanta Inc

Atlanta, GA

The Federation funds Jewish education and engagement, community-building, care for people in need, safety, and work connected to Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, with a focus on Greater Atlanta. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $4.68 million, with a median of $18,489; some programs accept applications, while core, domestic, and global partner allocations are by invitation only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$431.3M

Grants

435

Total Given

$50.7M

Emory University

Atlanta, GA

Emory University funds research, health care, and medical research, including university research awards and subcontract grants to organizations. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $87,500, though awards ranged from about $5,300 to $35.5 million; recipients were concentrated in Georgia, which received 46% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Emory accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$24.9B

Grants

362

Total Given

$183.7M

Atlanta Community Food Bank Inc

Atlanta, GA

Atlanta Community Food Bank funds Georgia nonprofits addressing hunger and food insecurity, including food pantries and other community-based services, within its 29-county metro Atlanta and north Georgia service area. Its 2025 grants ranged from $620 to $74,500, with a median of $10,000. It accepts applications from prospective agency partners in its service area; applications are not described as unsolicited grant requests.

Food, Agriculture & Nutrition

Assets

$65.0M

Grants

594

Total Given

$211.6M

Inspire Brands Foundation Inc

Atlanta, GA

The foundation supports childhood hunger, youth leadership, education, and career readiness through national and local partnerships across the U.S. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,032 to nearly $2 million, with a median of $11,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; grantees are nominated by members of the Inspire Brands community, while SPARK Cohort participants may apply for a growth-focused grant.

Assets

$14.3M

Grants

306

Total Given

$11.0M

More Funders in Georgia

Kennesaw State University Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?