James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust

Private foundation · Grantmaker Baltimore, MD EIN: 81-6876542

James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust is a private foundation, based in Baltimore, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2022. In 2022, it awarded 1 grant totaling $669K.

Key facts about James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust

In short: James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust gave $669K across 1 grant in 2022 (avg $669K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2022 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
81-6876542
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2022
Annual giving (2022)
$669,421
Grants made (2022)
1
Average grant
$669,421
Median grant
$669,421
Primary geography
Maryland (100% of itemized 2022 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2022; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2022 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

—

-100.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$669K

+2410.7% YoY

Grant Count

1

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$669K

+2410.7% YoY

How James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust gives

  • Giving grew 2179% from 2019 to 2022. Method
  • In 2021 it paid out 78% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2022 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Baltimore

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022

From 2019 to 2022, annual grant giving ranged from $27K (2021) to $669K (2022). In 2022 it made 1 grant totaling $669K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2022

Boys' Latin School of Maryland: $669KBoys' Latin School of Maryland$669K

The largest 2022 recipient was Boys' Latin School of Maryland ($669K).

Grant Size Distribution

4 grants across all recorded years

3<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 3 grants of 4 (75%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Boys' Latin School of Maryland Baltimore, MDPursuant to the Decedent's Charitable Trust Agreement, the James E. McDonnell, II 2012 Charitable Trust (the "Charitable Trust") was funded upon the death of the Settlor, James E. McDonnell, II. The instrument requires the Trustee to pay The Boys' Latin School of Maryland, a 501 (c)(3) organization, (the "School") located in Baltimore, Maryland, for use in its boys' lacrosse program as determined by the School, a unitrust amount equal to the greater of five percent (5%) of the net fair market value of the assets of the Charitable Trust valued as of the last day of each taxable year of the Charitable Trust or "substantially all" of the Charitable Trust income as said term is defined by Internal Revenue Code Section 4942 ((i)(3)(A) and the regulations thereunder.$669,421

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$200K$400K$600K$800K2019 2020 2021 2022
Metric202220212020
Total Assets—$675,117$711,011
Revenue$119$177$893
Expenses$675,236$36,071$48,412
Qualifying Distributions$669,421$26,663—
Distributable Amount—$34,355$36,301

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 20, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 27, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 2, 2022)
  4. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2022

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust's 2022 filing lists 4 officers; 2 of 4 officers listed in 2022 are compensated.

Officers on the 2022 filing

  • Thomas M McDonnell

    Co-Trustee

    Trustee → Co-Trustee, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    $3K (2022)

  • Charles E Garris

    Co-Trustee

    New on the 2022 filing

    $2K (2022)

  • Frank S Jones

    Successor Co-Trustee

    New on the 2022 filing

    No compensation reported

  • W Kyle Gore

    Successor Co-Trustee

    New on the 2022 filing

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Charles E Garris Trustee (2019–2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2022. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2022 IRS filing

Thomas M McDonnell — co-Trustee: $3KThomas M McDonnellco-Trustee$3KCharles E Garris — co-Trustee: $2KCharles E Garrisco-Trustee$2K

The highest reported compensation on the 2022 filing was $3K, to Thomas M McDonnell (co-Trustee). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust

How much does James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust give each year?

James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust gave $669K across 1 grant in 2022, according to its 2022 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2021 it gave $27K across 1 grant.

Where does James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust operate?

James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust has awarded grants in Maryland.

What is James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust's EIN?

James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-6876542. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2022.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg

Owings Mills, MD

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

872

Total Given

$127.8M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

The Keith Campbell Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Keith Campbell Foundation funds environmental work and more equitable, livable communities, including watershed advocacy, agriculture, drinking water, and water management, with a focus on California and the Chesapeake region and select counties in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests through two grant cycles each year, though prior grantees cannot apply through that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$420.2M

Grants

688

Total Given

$27.9M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related community and patient-support programs, primarily through opportunities for academic and industry investigators. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,800 to $12.9 million, with a median grant of about $150,000; the profile does not specify a geographic limit or whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Baltimore Community Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

Baltimore Community Foundation funds stronger schools and neighborhoods, including kindergarten readiness, student mental health, school climate, neighborhood improvement, and community development, primarily in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. In 2024 it made 604 grants totaling $29.3 million, with a median grant of about $19,800. It accepts applications for certain programs through its online portal.

Assets

$314.3M

Grants

604

Total Given

$29.3M

Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore

Baltimore, MD

Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports charitable, educational, religious, health, cultural, humanitarian, and social-service needs of the Jewish community locally, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15,250,570, with a median of $18,750. The information describes grant recommendations by current fundholders but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$446.7M

Grants

515

Total Given

$53.0M

Nora Roberts Foundation

Glenn Dale, MD

The Nora Roberts Foundation prioritizes literacy and also funds the arts, children, social justice, and the environment, supporting eligible public-serving nonprofits and programs across the United States, with priority for specified nearby counties and Washington, DC. Typical grants are about $5,000 for local groups and $3,000 for non-local groups; it recommends first-time applicants request $3,000–$5,000. Its 2024 filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations, though its website describes an application process.

Assets

$118.6M

Grants

466

Total Given

$7.5M

The Abell Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Abell Foundation funds nonprofits, government agencies, and fiscally sponsored projects addressing Baltimore City needs, including education, health, workforce development, community development, criminal justice, the environment, and the arts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $188 to $300,000, with a median of $20,000. It accepts unsolicited requests: applications of $10,000 or less are reviewed on a rolling basis, while larger requests are considered at five annual Board meetings.

Assets

$296.4M

Grants

391

Total Given

$13.4M

The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington Inc

North Bethesda, MD

The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington funds Jewish organizations and programs focused on community connection, learning, inclusion, family engagement, and support for people in need, primarily in DC, Suburban Maryland, and Northern Virginia, with some national and international giving. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,001 to $3.3 million, with a median of $20,000. It invites proposals when specific funding opportunities are open; none are currently listed.

Assets

$388.5M

Grants

360

Total Given

$34.1M

Enterprise Community Partners Inc

Columbia, MD

Enterprise Community Partners funds affordable housing and community development, including housing access and resilience, partner capacity, resident services, and community infrastructure, nationwide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $45,000, though awards ranged from $5,500 to $13.6 million.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$941.1M

Grants

347

Total Given

$61.8M

Allegis Group Foundation Inc

Hanover, MD

The Allegis Group Foundation supports education, youth life skills, workforce and career development, employment access for underserved adults, veterans and people with disabilities, and employee-linked volunteerism. In 2025 it made 269 grants, with a median award of $2,500 and amounts ranging from $50 to $1,111,750; the largest shares went to organizations in Virginia, Maryland, Georgia, New York, and Washington, DC. It accepts applications by letter and has no stated deadline.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.4M

Grants

269

Total Given

$4.5M

More Funders in Maryland

James E McDonnell II 2012 Charitable Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?