Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine logo

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine

Public charity · Grantmaker Danville, CA EIN: 23-7379132 Website

A nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to advance the worldwide exchange and dissemination of education, research and patient care in arthroscopy, knee surgery and orthopaedic sports medicine.

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine at a glance

In short: Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine reported $32K in grants paid in 2024 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Grants paid (2024)
$31,990 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
-28.9% vs 2023
Total assets
$12,863,433
+3.8% vs 2023
Revenue (2024)
$2,187,602
-56.4% vs 2023
Net investment income (2024)
$618,875
+1323.9% vs 2023
Expenses (2024)
$2,754,983
-47.2% vs 2023
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

6 grants across all recorded years

4<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 6 (67%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Cities

ChicagoClevelandFort CollinsRedwood CitySan Diego

How Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine gives

  • Giving fell 55% from 2020 to 2023. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K2 grants2020 Total only2021 1 grant2022 3 grants2023 Total only2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $20K (2022) to $130K (2021). In 2024 it reported $32K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Colorado State University Fort Collins, COResearch$20,000
Vacter LLC San Diego, CAResearch$15,000
Case Western University School of Medicine Cleveland, OHResearch$10,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$12,863,433$2,187,602$2,754,983$31,990Total only$618,875
2023$12,387,698$5,013,901$5,216,752$45,0003$43,463
2022$11,608,928$1,693,200$2,606,703$20,0001$393,441
2021$14,103,015$2,386,308$3,104,736$130,000Total only$349,055
2020$14,430,050$1,418,164$1,993,885$100,0002$345,563

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine

Based on IRS filings

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine is a public charity focused on Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines, based in Danville, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $12.9M in total assets. In 2024, it reported $32K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $619K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine is led by Sue J. Reimbold, Ceo-Executive Director since 2024 (on filings since 2020); 5 of 19 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Sue J. Reimbold

    Ceo-Executive Director

    Executive Director → Ceo-Executive Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $343K (2020) → $328K (2024)

  • David Parker

    President

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah J. Corpuz

    Controller & Director of Administrative Services

    Finance Manager → Controller & Director of Administrative Services, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $102K (2020) → $123K (2024)

  • Hilary J. Merliner

    Senior Director of Operations & Strategic Advancement

    Senior Director of Operations → Senior Director of Operations & Strategic Advancement, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $130K (2021) → $142K (2024)

  • Kathleen R. Rankin

    Senior Director of Content & Strategic Growth

    Director of Marketing & Communications → Senior Director of Content & Strategic Growth, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $109K (2021) → $124K (2024)

  • Laura Ettinger

    Director of Education

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $118K (2024)

  • Elizabeth Arendt

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gian Luigi Canata

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Maria Tuca

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Myles R. J. Coolican

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Seth Sherman

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shuichi Matsuda

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Guillermo R. Arce MD

    Past President

    First Vice President → President, 2021

    President → Past President, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joao Espreguira-Mendes

    First Vice President

    Treasurer → Second Vice President, 2021

    Second Vice President → First Vice President, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Figueroa

    Secretary

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laurie Hiemstra

    Assistant Treasurer

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Clatworthy

    Treasurer

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Marx

    Second Vice President

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sebastien Lustig

    Assistant Secretary

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (15)
  • Former: David Anthony Parker Mbbs Fracs (2020–2023) — President
  • Former: David Figueroa Prof MD (2020–2023) — Secretary
  • Former: Mark Clatworthy Fracs (2020–2023) — Treasurer
  • Former: Robert G. Marx Md Msc Frcsc (2020–2023) — Second Vice President
  • Former: Alberto Gobbi MD (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Laurie A. Hiemstra Md Phd Frcsc (2021–2023) — Assistant Treasurer
  • Former: Sebastien Lustigmd (2023) — Assistant Secretary
  • Former: Jason L. Koh MD MBA (2020–2022) — Assistant Secretary
  • Former: Willem M. Van Der Merwe Mbchb Fcs Mb (2020–2022) — Past President
  • Former: Joy A. Allen-Joseph (2021–2022) — Assistant Director of Member
  • Former: Norimasa Nakamura MD PhD (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Patrick S. H. Yung Frcs Fhkcos (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Magnus Forssblad MD PhD (2020) — Director
  • Former: Marc Raymond Safran MD (2020) — Past President
  • Former: Nicolaas C. Budhiparama Md Fics (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Sue J Reimbold — CEO-Executive Director: $328KSue J ReimboldCEO-Executive Director$328KHilary Merliner — Sr. DIR. of Operations & Strategic Advancement: $142KHilary MerlinerSr. DIR. of Operations &…$142KKathleen Rankin — Sr. DIR. of Content & Strategic Growth: $124KKathleen RankinSr. DIR. of Content & Strategic…$124KSarah Corpuz — Controller/Director of Administrative Services: $123KSarah CorpuzController/Director of…$123KLaura Ettinger — Director of Education: $118KLaura EttingerDirector of Education$118K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $328K, to Sue J Reimbold (CEO-Executive Director). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine

How much does Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine give each year?

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine reported $32K in grants paid in 2024 on its 2024 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2023 it gave $45K across 3 grants.

How large is Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine?

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine reported $12.9M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.2M.

What is Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine?

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine is a public charity focused on Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines, based in Danville, CA. It holds $12.9M in total assets as of 2024.

Where does Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine operate?

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine has awarded grants in California, Colorado, Illinois, Ohio.

What is Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine's EIN?

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7379132. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 14, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

President and Fellows of Harvard College

Cambridge, MA

Harvard’s grantmaking primarily supports research and education, including research awards and sub-awards to universities, hospitals, and research institutes. In 2025, it reported 352 grants ranging from $5,002 to $27.4 million, with a median of $123,018; recipients were concentrated in Massachusetts, which received 64% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Harvard accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$79.9B

Grants

352

Total Given

$273.3M

Northwestern University

Evanston, IL

Northwestern University funds research and community organizations, along with selected programs in community health, transportation research, and investigative journalism. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $7.7 million, with a median of about $73,000; grants went largely to U.S. recipients, especially in Illinois, and its ANCHOR program focuses on Evanston and Chicago. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$20.8B

Grants

383

Total Given

$133.4M

Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Association Inc

Chicago, IL

The Alzheimer’s Association funds Alzheimer’s and dementia research, including basic, clinical, social and behavioral studies, and supports care, prevention, early detection, awareness, and advocacy. In 2025, its 79 grants ranged from $10,000 to $13.3 million, with a median of $270,750; research opportunities are open to U.S. and international researchers.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$523.7M

Grants

79

Total Given

$73.3M

Drexel University

Philadelphia, PA

Drexel University’s reported grants primarily support research at universities, research organizations, and other institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,125 to $2.21 million, with a median of about $63,000; recipients were concentrated in Pennsylvania, followed by California, Texas, Maryland, and New Jersey, with no stated geographic restriction. Its funding materials describe support for Drexel faculty and staff proposals, and do not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.9B

Grants

120

Total Given

$16.9M

Yale University

New Haven, CT

Yale University funds sponsored research, education and institutional programs, student aid, and charitable or community support, with 2025 grants ranging from $3,000 to $14.3 million and a median of about $136,000. Grants went to recipients in multiple states, with the largest shares in Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania. The information does not state whether Yale accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$58.9B

Grants

364

Total Given

$168.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in California

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Int'l Soc of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?