Hudson Institute Inc
Hudson Institute is a research organization promoting American leadership for a secure, free, and prosperous future.
Hudson Institute Inc at a glance
In short: Hudson Institute Inc gave $484K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $484K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $483,570
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $483,570
- Median grant
- $483,570
- Total assets
- $130,372,971
- +7.7% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- District of Columbia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Hudson Institute Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Atlantic Council of the United States Inc ($484K).
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $484K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Atlantic Council of the United States Inc Washington, DC | Bipartisan Commission on Biodefense Funding | $483,570 |
Ready to take the next step with Hudson Institute Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $130,372,971 | $67,049,361 | $24,508,480 | $483,570 | 1 | $43,024,259 |
| 2024 | $121,069,620 | $22,683,930 | $26,428,239 | — | — | $4,602,374 |
| 2023 | $117,371,037 | $24,783,916 | $24,891,108 | — | — | $4,291,606 |
| 2022 | $110,726,571 | $25,174,986 | $22,325,841 | — | — | $2,930,150 |
| 2021 | $103,422,402 | $23,200,201 | $19,100,081 | — | — | $3,643,177 |
| 2020 | $85,448,216 | $17,499,134 | $16,875,501 | — | — | $2,191,345 |
| 2019 | $78,623,529 | $48,758,703 | $18,275,524 | — | — | $2,645,404 |
About Hudson Institute Inc
Based on IRS filings
Hudson Institute Inc is a public charity, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $130.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $484K. Net investment income was $43.0M.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Hudson Institute Inc is led by John P Walters, President & CEO since 2021 (on filings since 2019); 15 of 30 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
John P Walters
President & CEO
Chief Operating Officer → President & CEO, 2021
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$425K (2019) → $631K (2025)
Patrick Cronin
Asia-Pacific Security Chair
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$218K (2020) → $278K (2025)
Sarah May Stern
Chair
Chair → Chairman, 2022
Chairman → Chair, 2024
On filings since 2019
8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael Doran
Senior Fellow & Director
Senior Fellow → Senior Fellow & Director, 2021
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$269K (2019) → $330K (2025)
Victoria Miller
Director of Pa & Corporate Secretary
Corporate Secretary → Director of Pa & Corporate Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$64K (2019) → $176K (2025)
Bryan Clark
Senior Fellow & Director
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$260K (2021) → $316K (2025)
Nicholas Mackey
Director of Operations
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$169K (2021) → $261K (2025)
Halina Helenihi
Director of Finance & Accounting
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$120K (2025)
Jack David
Senior Fellow & Trustee
Trustee → Senior Fellow & Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Laurence C Leeds Jr.
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Linden S Blue
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Margaret Whitehead
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shinya Katanozaka
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas C Barry
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Leslie D Ware
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Kassen
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael L Santini
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shyam Sankar
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lucy Billingsley
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
William H Strong
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ann Marie Hauser
Vice President & Public Affairs
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$226K (2019) → $197K (2025)
Daniel McKivergan
Vice President & Government Relations
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$221K (2019) → $253K (2025)
Joel Scanlon
Executive Vice President
Vice President & Studies → Executive Vice President, 2021
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$188K (2019) → $380K (2025)
Matthew Hunter
Senior Vice President
Vice President & Strategic Partnerships → Senior Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$137K (2019) → $335K (2025)
Walter Russell Mead
Df in Strategy & Statesmanship
Didistinguished Fellow → Distinguished Fellow, 2024
Distinguished Fellow → Df in Strategy & Statesmanship, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$313K (2019) → $427K (2025)
Thomas Duesterberg
Senior Fellow
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$210K (2020) → $256K (2025)
Emily Alcock
Corporate Secretary
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$40K (2025)
Owen Dorney
Vice President & Strategic Partnerships
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$229K (2025)
Russell Pennoyer
Vice Chair
Trustee → Vice Chair, 2021
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Richard Emmet
Vice Chair
Trustee → Vice Chair, 2025
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (15)
- Former: Steven Corder (2019–2024) — Chief Financial Officer
- Former: Thomas J Donohue (2021–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Jessie Knight Jr. (2022–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Arthur Herman (2019–2023) — Senior Fellow
- Former: Gilbert Scharf (2019–2023) — Trustee -
- Former: Lewis Libby (2019–2023) — Distinquished Fellow
- Former: Walter P. Stern (2019–2022) — Chairman Emeritus -
- Former: Asha George (2022) — Executive Director on Biodefense
- Former: Kenneth R. Weinstein (2019–2021) — Distinguished Fellow
- Former: Marie-Josee Kravis (2019–2021) — Trustee -
- Former: Rajeev Chandrasekhar (2019–2021) — Trustee -
- Former: R. Brian Blake (2019–2020) — Vice President & Development
- Former: Matt Hunter (2020) — Vice President & Strategic Partnerships
- Former: Hillel Fradkin (2019) — Senior Fellow
- Former: Richard Weitz (2019) — Director Ctr for Political-Military Analysis
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $631K, to John P Walters (President and CEO). 15 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Hudson Institute Inc
How much does Hudson Institute Inc give each year?
Hudson Institute Inc gave $484K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990.
How large is Hudson Institute Inc?
Hudson Institute Inc reported $130.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $67.0M.
Where does Hudson Institute Inc operate?
Hudson Institute Inc has awarded grants in District of Columbia.
What is Hudson Institute Inc's EIN?
Hudson Institute Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-1945157. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 22, 2026)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 12, 2020)
Other open foundation grants in District of Columbia
District of Columbia Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Hudson Institute Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
American Institute in Taiwan
Arlington, VA
The American Institute in Taiwan's primary exempt purpose is to help maintain peace, security, and stability in the western pacific and to promote the foreign policy of the united states by authorizing the continuation of commercial, cultural, and other relations between the people of the united states and the people of taiwan.
Assets
$178.4M
Grants
2
Total Given
$80K
Horizon Institute for Public Service
Washington, DC
The specific and primary purpose of the organization is to engage in charitable, educational, and scientific activities within the meaning of section 501(c)(3) of the code, including, but not limited to, helping interested individuals learn about and gain experience with U.S. government work in emerging technologies and assisting the U.S. government in its search for emerging technology expertise.
Assets
$20.0M
Grants
2
Total Given
$147K
The Tavakoli Family Foundation
Boca Raton, FL
Assets
$924K
Grants
2
Total Given
$78K
Craig Newmark Foundation
San Francisco, CA
The Craig Newmark Foundation funds work in media, democracy, technology and cybersecurity, as well as programs supporting service members, veterans and their families. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250,000 to $2 million, with a median of $500,000, and went to organizations in California, Virginia, New York and Tennessee. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$138.9M
Grants
6
Total Given
$4.8M
Electric Power Research Institute Inc
Palo Alto, CA
EPRI funds university and research-related work aligned with its priorities in electricity generation, delivery, and use, including early-stage energy technologies. In 2024, its grants ranged from $5,500 to $400,000, with a median of $25,000, and went mainly to organizations in Pennsylvania and California, as well as several other U.S. states. It invited university proposals through a 2025 research award, but the information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$401.9M
Grants
14
Total Given
$1.2M
Clearpath Inc
Washington, DC
ClearPath funds organizations advancing policy and deployment of next-generation energy and clean-manufacturing technologies, including nuclear, carbon capture, hydropower, geothermal, and energy storage. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15,000 to $750,000, with a median of $135,000, and were concentrated in Washington, DC, followed by Virginia; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$24.4M
Grants
17
Total Given
$3.8M
More similar funders
More Funders in District of Columbia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Hudson Institute Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Hudson Institute Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?