Hancock County Savings Charitable

Private foundation · Grantmaker Chester, WV EIN: 55-0767253

Hancock County Savings Charitable is a private foundation based in Chester, West Virginia. It supports charitable and educational organizations and activities, with 2025 grants going to organizations in West Virginia, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

Key facts about Hancock County Savings Charitable

In short: Hancock County Savings Charitable gave $57K across 18 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in West Virginia. 39% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
55-0767253
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$57,000
Grants made (2025)
18
Average grant
$3,167
Median grant
$2,500
New grantees (estimate)
39% first-time grantees (7 of 18, 2025)
Total assets
$650,359
Primary geography
West Virginia (51% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
Application forms are available at any office of Hancock County Savings Bank. Full details ↓
Deadline
The HCSBC Foundation Grant program lists September 30 each year as the application deadline; the filing states that…

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$650K

+1.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$57K

-49.8% YoY

Grant Count

18

-41.9% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3K

-13.5% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hancock County Savings Charitable reported a distributable amount of $59K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Hancock County Savings Charitable open to new grantees?

39%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 7 of 18 grantees (39%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $2K. How we count

Medians: $5K first-time, $2K repeat.

  • 56% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 27% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 96% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s stated mission is to promote charitable and educational service organizations and their activities. Its 2025 grants included support for educational programming, community services, health care, equipment, and community projects.

Among its 2025 grantees, Ohio Valley Health Center says its mission is to provide quality primary health care to medically underserved people in the tri-state Ohio Valley. AIM Women’s Center describes its mission as supporting women through healthy pregnancy, birth, and family life. Blue Stream Farms Corporation says it works to nurture and inspire the development of mind, body, and environment among sustainability-conscious youth. Weirton Christian Center says it serves children’s spiritual, physical, and emotional needs. Brooke Hancock Family Resource says it builds community partnerships and advocates for positive change.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation awarded 18 grants totaling $57,000. Grants ranged from $1,300 to $10,000, with a median award of $2,500. The largest listed awards included $10,000 to East Liverpool Community Partnership for educational programming; $8,000 to The Montani Outreach Movement for a community mural; and $5,700 to New Manchester Volunteer Fire Department for rope-rescue equipment procurement.

Review Cycle

The HCSBC Foundation Grant program lists September 30 each year as the application deadline; the filing states that deadlines are noted on the application.

Open Grants

1 open opportunity from Hancock County Savings Charitable

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Hancock County Savings Charitable?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation states that awards are presently limited to organizations geographically located in the market area of Hancock County Savings Bank. In 2025, 51% of grant dollars went to recipients in West Virginia, 42% to Ohio, and 7% to Pennsylvania.

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of all 18 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

WeirtonEast LiverpoolNew CumberlandChesterSteubenvilleAliquippaBeaverFollansbeeNewellWellsburgBurgettstownWheelingMidlandWellsvilleMorgantownNew ManchesterTorontoColliersCumberlandEast Viverpool

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K31 grants201916 grants202026 grants202123 grants202219 grants202331 grants202418 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $35K (2020) to $114K (2024). In 2025 it made 18 grants totaling $57K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

East Liverpool Community Partnershi: $10KEast Liverpool CommunityPartnershi$10KThe Montani Outreach Movement CO: $8KThe Montani Outreach MovementCO$8KNew Manchestr Volunteer Fire Dept: $6KNew Manchestr Volunteer FireDept$6KBrooke Hancock County Verterans: $5KBrooke Hancock CountyVerterans$5KOhio Valley Health Center: $3KOhio Valley Health Center$3KRotary Club of Beaver: $3KRotary Club of Beaver$3KThe Salvation Army of Weirton: $3KThe Salvation Army of Weirton$3KAim Women's Center: $3KAim Women's Center$3KHelping Hands of Toronto Ohio: $3KHelping Hands of Toronto Ohio$3KThe Living Well: $3KThe Living Well$3K

The largest 2025 recipient was East Liverpool Community Partnershi ($10K). Together the top 10 received $44K.

Grant Size Distribution

117 grants across all recorded years

117<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 117 grants of 117 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
East Liverpool Community Partnershi East Liverpool, OHEducational Programming$10,000
The Montani Outreach Movement CO Chester, WVCommunity Mural$8,000
New Manchestr Volunteer Fire Dept New Manchester, WVProcurement of Rope Rescue Eq$5,700
Brooke Hancock County Verterans Weirton, WVMemorial Maintenance$5,000
Ohio Valley Health Center Steubenville, OHLab Supplies$3,000
Rotary Club of Beaver Beaver, PABeds & Bedding for Children$2,500
The Salvation Army of Weirton Weirton, WVSocial Service Assisstance$2,500
Aim Women's Center Steubenville, OHNew Ultrasound Table & Essentials$2,500
Helping Hands of Toronto Ohio Toronto, OHFood Pantry$2,500
The Living Well Wellsville, OHGas Furnace & 3 Ton Ac$2,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants awarded Grant count
2025 $650,359 $68,651 $60,807 $57,000 18
2024 $642,515 $41,307 $117,004 $113,500 31
2023 $719,598 $61,931 $47,982 $44,500 19
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K2019202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$650,359$642,515$719,598
Revenue$68,651$41,307$61,931
Expenses$60,807$117,004$47,982
Qualifying Distributions$57,000$113,500$44,500
Net Investment Income$68,626$41,282$61,903
Distributable Amount$59,070$58,001$53,096

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 30, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Romie Castelli, Marvin Six, Cheryl D. Schreiber, and Drew Cooper as trustees; Anthony Bernardi as secretary; George E. Ash Sr. as president; Alicia K. Davis as treasurer; and Douglas A. Comm as chairman.

Hancock County Savings Charitable is led by George E. Ash Sr., President since 2020 (on filings since 2019); none of the 8 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • George E. Ash Sr.

    President

    Trustee → President, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas A. Comm

    Chairman

    Trustee → Chairman, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Cheryl D. Schreiber

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Drew Cooper

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Marvin Six

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Romie Castelli

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Alicia K. Davis

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Anthony Bernardi

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

Former officers (2)
  • Former: Catherine Ferrari (2019–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Steven Cooper (2019–2022) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Application contact: Hancock County Savings Bank
Mailing address: 351 Carolina Ave PO Box 245, Chester, WV 26034
Phone: (304) 387-1620

Frequently asked questions about Hancock County Savings Charitable

How much does Hancock County Savings Charitable give each year?

Hancock County Savings Charitable gave $57K across 18 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $114K across 31 grants.

What is Hancock County Savings Charitable's typical grant size?

Hancock County Savings Charitable's median grant in 2025 was $2,500, and its average grant was $3,167, across 18 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Hancock County Savings Charitable that year got $5K on average.

Where does Hancock County Savings Charitable give grants?

Hancock County Savings Charitable gives mostly in West Virginia: 51% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Ohio (42%) and Pennsylvania (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Weirton, WV (5 grants), East Liverpool, OH (3 grants), Chester, WV (2 grants) and Steubenville, OH (2 grants).

Does Hancock County Savings Charitable give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 18 grants with a stated purpose on Hancock County Savings Charitable's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.

Who are Hancock County Savings Charitable's largest grantees?

Hancock County Savings Charitable's largest 2025 grantees include East Liverpool Community Partnershi ($10,000), The Montani Outreach Movement CO ($8,000) and New Manchestr Volunteer Fire Dept ($5,700), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 42% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Hancock County Savings Charitable?

Hancock County Savings Charitable reported $650K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $57K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $59K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Hancock County Savings Charitable fund?

The foundation’s stated mission is to promote charitable and educational service organizations and their activities. Its 2025 grants included support for educational programming, community services, health care, equipment, and community projects. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Hancock County Savings Charitable?

Application forms are available at any office of Hancock County Savings Bank. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Hancock County Savings Charitable's EIN?

Hancock County Savings Charitable's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 55-0767253. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Hancock County Savings Charitable by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Hancock County Savings Charitable's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

John C Williams Charitable Tr 8024

Pittsburgh, PA

The trust funds year-round programs and direct services addressing community needs, especially for underserved people in Steubenville, Ohio, and Weirton, West Virginia; applicants must be public charities, and general operating costs are generally excluded. In 2025, grants ranged from $4,000 to $43,938, with a median of $15,000. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations; applicants are directed to contact the program officer or PNC Charitable Trust Grant Review C for application details.

Assets

$9.1M

Grants

25

Total Given

$430K

Robert H Reakirt Fdn Equities

Pittsburgh, PA

In 2024, the foundation supported organizations working in early childhood, arts, recovery, economic development, and human services, with most funding going to Ohio and smaller amounts to Kentucky, Pennsylvania, Indiana, and Georgia. Grants ranged from $950 to $75,000, with a median of $15,000. The profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted; it directs applicants to contact PNC Charitable Trust Grant Review C.

Assets

$46.6M

Grants

112

Total Given

$1.9M

Starvaggi Charities Inc

Weirton, WV

Assets

$8.5M

Grants

47

Total Given

$590K

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Charles M Pugliese and Thelma M

Wintersville, OH

This foundation supports schools, school districts, local governments, and community organizations, with grants for education, STEM, scholarships, and community needs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $100,000, with a median of $20,000, and went primarily to Ohio recipients, with some funding in West Virginia. It accepts requests by letter, with no stated deadline or award restrictions.

Assets

$14.1M

Grants

28

Total Given

$630K

Esther N Simmons Charitable Trust

Pittsburgh, PA

The trust funds projects addressing demonstrated community needs, especially services for underserved people, in Jefferson County and Steubenville, Ohio; it generally excludes operating costs, pilot programs, and for-profit entities. Recent grants ranged from $6,627 to $30,000, with a median of $12,500. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, but advises applicants to contact the program officer before applying; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$3.3M

Grants

11

Total Given

$152K

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

$16.6M

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley

Wheeling, WV

The Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley funds charitable projects and services, with priorities varying by fund and including health, social services, youth, food security, economic development, and support for women and girls. It focuses on eight counties in West Virginia and Ohio; in 2025, its 119 grants ranged from $5,367 to $399,062, with a median of $13,698. Application availability varies by fund: some accept requests, while the Food Security Fund is not currently accepting them.

Assets

$110.7M

Grants

119

Total Given

$3.2M

Steel Valley Charities

Bloomingdale, OH

Assets

$1.8M

Grants

49

Total Given

$256K

Mary Jane Brooks Charitable Trust

Steubenville, OH

The trust funds health care, education, food access, youth services, and community safety, primarily in Ohio and West Virginia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,204 to $79,007, with a median of $32,714. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.5M

Grants

17

Total Given

$616K

Roy Chambers Foundation

Wheeling, WV

Assets

$713K

Grants

336

Total Given

$62K

Ethel N Bowen Foundation

Bluefield, WV

The foundation funds scholarships, education, and community programs, with most grants going to West Virginia and Virginia and smaller amounts to nearby states. Its 2024 grants ranged from $350 to $25,000, with a median of $2,000. Organizations do not need a particular application, and there is no deadline for organizational requests.

Assets

$14.6M

Grants

321

Total Given

$795K

More Funders in West Virginia

Hancock County Savings Charitable down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?