H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Charleston, IL EIN: 37-6308340

Administration of perpetual testamentary trust for the benefit of the following beneficiaries: univ of il foundation, il bar foundation, eastern il univ foundation, wesley united methodist church, city of charleston, comm unit school dist #1, and coles co united way.

Key facts about H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation

In short: H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation gave $127K across 7 grants in 2025 (avg $18K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
37-6308340
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$127,172
Grants made (2025)
7
Average grant
$18,167
Median grant
$21,195
Total assets
$4,560,149
Primary geography
Illinois (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$4.6M

+3.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$127K

+9.8% YoY

Grant Count

7

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$18K

+9.8% YoY

How H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 36% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation

Based on IRS filings

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation is a public charity, based in Charleston, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.6M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 7 grants totaling $127K. Net investment income was $287K.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

States

Cities

CharlestonChicagoUrbanaMattoon

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K7 grants2020 5 grants2021 7 grants2022 7 grants2023 7 grants2024 7 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $42K (2021) to $127K (2025). In 2025 it made 7 grants totaling $127K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 7 recipients in 2025

Community Unit School Dist No 1: $21KCommunity Unit School Dist No1$21KEastern Illinois University Foundation: $21KEastern Illinois UniversityFoundation$21KUniversity of Illinois Foundation: $21KUniversity of IllinoisFoundation$21KWesley United Methodist Church: $21KWesley United Methodist Church$21KIllinois Bar Foundation: $21KIllinois Bar Foundation$21KUnited Way of Coles County: $11KUnited Way of Coles County$11KCity of Charleston: $11KCity of Charleston$11K

The largest 2025 recipient was Community Unit School Dist No 1 ($21K). Together the top 7 received $127K.

Grant Size Distribution

33 grants across all recorded years

33<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 33 grants of 33 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Community Unit School Dist No 1 Charleston, ILFor Educational Purposes$21,195
Eastern Illinois University Foundation Charleston, ILFor Educational Purposes$21,195
University of Illinois Foundation Urbana, ILEducational Purposes for the College of Law$21,195
Wesley United Methodist Church Charleston, ILFor the General Purposes of the Church$21,195
Illinois Bar Foundation Chicago, ILAdvance Legal Justice$21,195
United Way of Coles County Mattoon, ILUnited Way Annual Drive$10,599
City of Charleston Charleston, ILFor Children's Recreation Programs$10,598

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K$400K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$4,560,149$4,419,523$4,273,562
Revenue$323,098$305,302$177,698
Expenses$193,831$181,855$156,882
Net Investment Income$286,842$259,354$134,134

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 11, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 14, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 28, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 6, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 6, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 5, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation is led by Randall Wright, President since 2025 (on filings since 2022); none of the 11 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Randall Wright

    President

    Treasurer → Vice President, 2024

    Vice President → President, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dawn Johnson

    Director

    Treasurer → President, 2023

    President → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kelvin Lane

    Director

    Vice President → President, 2024

    President → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mitchell Gurick

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patricia Poulter

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerry Esker

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mona Davenport

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jonathan McKenzie

    Chief Operating Officer

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Schmitt

    Treasurer

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    Secretary → Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Glover

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph Dively

    Vice President

    Director → Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (12)
  • Former: Bonita Tillman (2023–2024) — Treasurer
  • Former: Nathaniel Anderson (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Elmer Pullen (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Susan Young (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Charles Maris (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Judith James (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Dennis Grannan (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Gordon Grado (2020–2022) — Vice President
  • Former: Jill Nilsen (2020–2022) — President
  • Former: Rick Ingram (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Cindra Stiff (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: William Hill (2020–2021) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation

How much does H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation give each year?

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation gave $127K across 7 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $116K across 7 grants.

What is H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's typical grant size?

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $21,195, and its average grant was $18,167, across 7 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation give grants?

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation gives mostly in Illinois: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Charleston, IL (4 grants).

Does H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 14% of H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Who are H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's largest grantees?

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Community Unit School Dist No 1 ($21,195), Eastern Illinois University Foundation ($21,195) and University of Illinois Foundation ($21,195), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 50% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation?

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation reported $4.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $323K.

What is H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's EIN?

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-6308340. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Levi Ray & Shoup Foundation

Springfield, IL

The foundation supports education, healthcare, youth and disability services, disaster relief, and animal welfare, with most 2025 grant dollars going to Illinois and nearly a quarter to Florida. Its 82 grants ranged from $225 to $127,000, with a median of $6,750. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$20.0M

Grants

82

Total Given

$1.2M

KPMG US Foundation Inc

Montvale, NJ

KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$12.4M

Grants

387

Total Given

$33.5M

The Lumpkin Family Foundation

Mattoon, IL

The Lumpkin Family Foundation funds nonprofit work on environmental protection, healthy living, local food and agriculture, community collaboration, and mental wellness, primarily in East Central Illinois and Chicago, with some national support. Grant sizes vary widely; in 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $630,000, with a median of $6,000. Its 2024 filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, though most programs begin with an online letter of inquiry.

Assets

$39.9M

Grants

209

Total Given

$4.0M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Wheeler Foundation

Rankin, IL

The foundation supports education, scholarships, special education, family support, and community services; its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $748,000, with a median of $43,182. All reported 2024 grant dollars went to Illinois recipients, although its website also emphasizes counties in Texas. It accepts unsolicited written requests, with no stated deadline.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$22.3M

Grants

16

Total Given

$1.6M

Grant Thornton Foundation

Chicago, IL

In 2024, the Grant Thornton Foundation funded general support, educational institutions, and disaster relief, awarding 10 grants of $1,575 to $41,450 (median $19,060). It is based in Chicago, with 2024 grants concentrated in California, Arizona, and Florida. The foundation gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$224K

Grants

10

Total Given

$181K

IBM International Foundation

Armonk, NY

The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$357.7M

Grants

16

Total Given

$11.7M

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

—

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans services, disaster relief, and community projects, primarily through Elks Lodges and state associations in communities across the United States where Elks live and work. Its 2025 grants had a median of $8,500, though amounts varied widely; the listed Beacon and Freedom Grants are limited to Elks Lodges. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

John D and Catherine T Macarthur

Chicago, IL

The foundation funds a broad range of work, including journalism, arts, Chicago communities, climate and clean energy, homelessness, human rights, and criminal justice reform. Its 2024 grants had a median of $160,000, with awards ranging from $450 to $21 million; funding is nationwide, with the largest shares going to New York, Illinois, and Washington, D.C. Application rules vary by program: some accept self-nominations or Letters of Inquiry, while others generally do not fund unsolicited proposals.

Assets

$9.3B

Grants

1,086

Total Given

$356.1M

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial

Chicago, IL

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports a broad range of organizations, including education, Jewish organizations, and community foundations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000; 55% of grant dollars went to Illinois, with additional funding in New York, Washington, DC, California, and Minnesota. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

—

Grants

897

Total Given

$115.2M

More Funders in Illinois

H Ogden Brainard Residuary Trust EIU Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?